Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

The sprint site (sprint dot com/downloads) does not have a handheld OS for 8130. The ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    vod332's Avatar
    vod332 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    24AA5605
    Posts
    81

    Question 8130 OS for Sprint???

    Advertisement



    The sprint site (sprint dot com/downloads) does not have a handheld OS for 8130. The blackberry site does not have it either.

    Verizon released a copy of their OS, but what about Sprint?

    You are unable to use App loader without the OS.

    Any help from anyone? Sprint Business Blackberry support checked the site, realized it wasn't there, then put me on hold for about 35 minutes, then hung up on me! What service.

    Thanks....

  2. #2
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: 8130 OS for Sprint???

    i would guess that Sprint will be releasing the Pearl OS soon... the carriers normally run about 1-2 weeks after the device is launched

  3. #3
    bluemoon1964's Avatar
    bluemoon1964 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    171

    Re: 8130 OS for Sprint???

    oh so that is why i cannot put apps on my new gorgeous pearl? lol here i thought i was doing something wrong lol

  4. #4
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: 8130 OS for Sprint???

    Have you tried to load the verizon os to your computer and load apps that way? I havent tried that but by deleting the vendor.xml file that could work?

  5. #5
    tomdkat's Avatar
    tomdkat no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    142

    Re: 8130 OS for Sprint???

    Quote Originally Posted by cp6169 View Post
    Have you tried to load the verizon os to your computer and load apps that way? I havent tried that but by deleting the vendor.xml file that could work?

    It would probably ask you to downgrade your OS. If you use a mac you can install programs just fine

  6. #6
    bluemoon1964's Avatar
    bluemoon1964 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    171

    Re: 8130 OS for Sprint???

    i guess i will wait until the os comes out just was trying to get the bb weather ota but cant figure it out lol

  7. #7
    Striker911's Avatar
    Striker911 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    3180F95E
    Posts
    104

    Re: 8130 OS for Sprint???

    if you use verizon os on your sprint 8130 would that allow you to get mms?

  8. #8
    cliffr39's Avatar
    cliffr39 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    317ASKME
    Posts
    3,064

    Re: 8130 OS for Sprint???

    do you have a data plan?

  9. #9
    Striker911's Avatar
    Striker911 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    3180F95E
    Posts
    104

    Re: 8130 OS for Sprint???

    who?

  10. #10
    cliffr39's Avatar
    cliffr39 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    317ASKME
    Posts
    3,064

    Re: 8130 OS for Sprint???

    Quote Originally Posted by Striker911 View Post
    who?
    lol you, sorry. Do you have a data plan? If so you shouldn't have MMS issues... but I'm not familiar with how Sprint does it these days. When I had them (and Nextel) you had to sent SMS via web lol and this was just in 2004-2005

  11. #11
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: 8130 OS for Sprint???

    you *shouldn't* have any issues with mms or sms after the download/install...

    if you do have difficulties, start by resending service books

  12. #12
    Striker911's Avatar
    Striker911 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    3180F95E
    Posts
    104

    Re: 8130 OS for Sprint???

    lol sorry guys i was just asking in general about sprints 8130. alot of people complain they don't like it cause it lacks mms. What im asking if what if you put verizon o.s on it will it enable your pearl to do that. i have an 8703e from sprint.

  13. #13
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: 8130 OS for Sprint???

    oh...sprints bb lacks mms? didn't know that

    i have a free one coming soon, was going to give it a try. they told me that their data plan covered all data, some sprint tv and ALL sms/mms messaging at the launch...let's hope that is true...

    sprint/nextel peeps?

  14. #14
    cliffr39's Avatar
    cliffr39 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    317ASKME
    Posts
    3,064

    Re: 8130 OS for Sprint???

    wow I didn't know Sprint disables the MMS on their smartphones... just read about it on a few sites. Crazy. I guess you could test it for us and let us know

  15. #15
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: 8130 OS for Sprint???

    that's just crazy...but i now remember i have one friend on sprint and she never can send or receive MMS

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •