Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

Old pro needs help here. My 8120 trackball died overnight while I was asleep. Last ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420

    8120 Trackball Won't Select

    Advertisement



    Old pro needs help here. My 8120 trackball died overnight while I was asleep. Last night when using it, I heard it making a clicking noise that is NOT the Audible Roll in the Keypad Options menu (it sounded like the click you hear when using a mouse, or mouse button on a notebook). It will still roll left, right, up and down but I have to use Enter to select.

    This is not a new problem to me. I had a 7105t trackwheel do the same thing about 2 years ago (that's how I ended up with the 8100). The thing is, I have the new Handset Protection that T-Mobile introduced earlier this year. Will this cost me the $100 I got slapped with when the 7105t died (I was told at the store that it was not covered)?

    I don't have an upgrade coming for 8 months and I don't feel comfortable enough tinkering with electronics at this level. Is there anything I can do to save my 8120 that I have had for 14 months? I love this phone although it has been somewhat of a headache. I have a backup 8100 ready to go but it does not support the new BBM 5.0 I have been testing (EDIT: BBM 5.0 works fine on it. I used the Switch Device Wizard in the DM and it actually transferred).
    Last edited by EricaJ1073; 07-27-2009 at 11:59 PM.


  2. #2
    webstarr's Avatar
    webstarr no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    4
    Hi, EricaJ,
    Have you taken your trackball out and looked around underneath it? It sounds like the contact pad beneath the trackball has come loose and is floating around inside your BB. The pad is a very small square with a copper bubble on it. if you do not see it underneath your trackball, it had come loose. As i understand, they can be reattached with a bit of clear double stick tape around the edges. If you have to replace it, they are running about $29.95 from a place called CellularDr. (Part #: PearlTrackBallContact).

    I hope this helps!

  3. #3
    steve2039's Avatar
    steve2039 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    PIN/ID
    30760CA8
    Posts
    73
    It does seem like the contact pad is off...its actually an easy fix, its just finding the part and as webstarr said, you can get them for right at $30
    BlackBerry8330/4.5.0.77 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105

  4. #4
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    I'm not that good with taking electronics apart. What I meant was is there anything I can do WITHOUT taking the phone apart???


  5. #5
    steve2039's Avatar
    steve2039 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    PIN/ID
    30760CA8
    Posts
    73
    Take a small screwdriver to your trim ring and pry out easily....trackball should come right out and the piece should be right there...takes 2 minutes TOPS
    BlackBerry8330/4.5.0.77 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105

  6. #6
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    Just got back from T-Mobile and they told me I have to reload their 4.5 OS with the battery and SIM card out to fix a hardware issue, and if that doesn't work, call their RIM CS rep and have them walk me through more troubleshooting before I can replace my phone??
    Last edited by EricaJ1073; 07-28-2009 at 11:17 AM.


  7. #7
    steve2039's Avatar
    steve2039 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    PIN/ID
    30760CA8
    Posts
    73
    Tmobile is the one replacing the phone, not RIM CS. it sounds like they just didn't want to deal with it...


    Have you tried calling tmo customer support? I think that depending on what you have left on contract( if anything) that if you explain the situation to them, they will actually probably help you...

    Coming from corporate att, I knew/still know people that don't do any type of work they aren't paid for (I.e. any type of non new contract work). So maybe you got a bad consultant?
    BlackBerry8330/4.5.0.77 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105

  8. #8
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    I will call them if it still doesn't work after reloading the software. I have 8 months left on my current contract. This was at a corporate store.


  9. #9
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    After 2 OS reloads (one with the battery in and the second with the battery out) I still have limited usage of the trackball.


  10. #10
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    Quote Originally Posted by steve2039 View Post
    Tmobile is the one replacing the phone, not RIM CS. it sounds like they just didn't want to deal with it...


    Have you tried calling tmo customer support? I think that depending on what you have left on contract( if anything) that if you explain the situation to them, they will actually probably help you...

    Coming from corporate att, I knew/still know people that don't do any type of work they aren't paid for (I.e. any type of non new contract work). So maybe you got a bad consultant?
    BlackBerry8330/4.5.0.77 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105
    I went through that with a SideKick 2 a few years ago that didn't wanna charge properly. I ended up forking out $330 for a new SideKick 3 at a different corporate store. The in-store rep at the first store I went to said the phone was out of warranty (it was) but was zero assistance in helping extend my contract and getting a new phone.


  11. #11
    steve2039's Avatar
    steve2039 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    PIN/ID
    30760CA8
    Posts
    73
    Quote Originally Posted by EricaJ1073 View Post
    I went through that with a SideKick 2 a few years ago that didn't wanna charge properly. I ended up forking out $330 for a new SideKick 3 at a different corporate store. The in-store rep at the first store I went to said the phone was out of warranty (it was) but was zero assistance in helping extend my contract and getting a new phone.
    )
    thats weird....What state do you live in? Most cell phone carriers allow their reps (I've personally worked for sprint and AT&T) to make a "judgment" (sp) call on doing an early upgrade. Normally if i had a customer with a data plan or they wanted to up their services by getting a data plan or more text, as long as it was under 1 year left on contract i did it.

    I would be willing to put money on it though that Tmobiles CS will help you out....

  12. #12
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    I'm in Texas LOL I will be calling them soon.


  13. #13
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    Just got off the phone with T-Mo CS. Had a very understanding rep, Tanya, who had another customer call her with the same problem and their phone was only a month old.

    I will be receiving a replacement 8120 at no charge and I still get to keep my upgrade option for next March.


  14. #14
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Wow, that's great news, Erica!

  15. #15
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    Yup. The only thing is that I'm gonna my 8120, which has been an almost constant companion for 14 months. I loved that phone even with its flaws. I kinda got attached to it LOL


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •