Results 1 to 7 of 7

I have seen a couple of old discussions covering this subject and talk of using ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    Simesh's Avatar
    Simesh no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    3

    8120 Restart Loop Crash

    Advertisement



    I have seen a couple of old discussions covering this subject and talk of using JL_Commander but I can not find anything recent and my handset is less than 2 months old!

    I installed IM+ this evening and when the download was complete the handset seemed to restart. However it is stuck in a restarting loop. The red lamp lights for a brief moment, then the screen goes black, then I get the rotating egg timer for about 45 seconds then the screen goes blank and then the red lamp comes back on, and this repeats.

    Any ideas on resolution of this problem?

    I am on UK O2 network.

    Thanks

    Simon (noob) :-)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    LESS
    Posts
    1,757
    wipe and reload the os using jl cmdr

  3. #3
    Amigotek's Avatar
    Amigotek no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    21D7B3C6
    Posts
    1,569
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...lackberry.html
    Even though it may be an old thread, Lavagirl's instructions are still applicable to newer units when using this software. It is an indespensible tool in my shop for repairing blackberries with software issues.

    Zo

  4. #4
    Simesh's Avatar
    Simesh no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    3

    No joy

    Thanks Amigotek,

    No joy though. The Blackberry remains in this start-up loop.

    JL Cmdr seems to operate, at least it doesn't give an error. However the handset remains the same.

    I have tried the operation both with and without the battery as I saw mention of the battery making a difference.

    Any further ideas?

    Simon

  5. #5
    Amigotek's Avatar
    Amigotek no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    21D7B3C6
    Posts
    1,569
    Does your computer recognize that the phone is plugged in? I have only had jl fail on me on phones that wouldn't boot up at all.

    Zo

  6. #6
    Simesh's Avatar
    Simesh no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    3

    Total Failure

    As far as I was concerned it wouldn't boot at all. The computer did seem to get the phones PIN number but would not wipe or reinstall.

    Took back to Carphone Warehouse for a replacement - NICE!

  7. #7
    Amigotek's Avatar
    Amigotek no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    21D7B3C6
    Posts
    1,569
    Glad you were able to get it fixed even though it did take getting a new unit.

    Zo

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •