Results 1 to 11 of 11

I upgraded from my Blackberry 8100 a few days ago to the new 8120, and ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    Firedragon64's Avatar
    Firedragon64 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    2576A7A6
    Posts
    61

    Question 8120 Memory Card Problem

    Advertisement



    I upgraded from my Blackberry 8100 a few days ago to the new 8120, and I was extremely excited! However I have run into a weird problem and was wondering if anyone else has heard of it and if what I have heard is correct.

    First of all when I got my first one, I realized that it kept resetting itself like the battery was pulled, over and over and over, it would be working for maybe 5 minutes, and even reset in middle of a phone call. I got the device replaced from T-Mobile 3 times! I eventually talked to a support tech who knew what was going on, and told me to take out my 4gb MicroSDHC card and see if it continues having the same problem. Well fact is, that did solve the problem, it never had a problem when it wasn't in the device.

    Of course this doesn't set well with me because I paid a lot of money for the memory card and it worked just fine in my 8100, so I decided to experiment and see what might be causing it. When the card is blank, I've determined that it doesn't have the problem, therefore is has to be something I'm putting on the card from my computer, as when I format the card and leave it in the device, I have to problems, occasionally saving things and so on doesn't cause the problem. I thought that it might possibly have something to do with the BBThumbs.REM files that store the generated thumbnails for the device. Seemingly I don't have a problem when they are gone, but resently after I copied all of my files back on, subtracting all the Thumb.db and BBThumbs.REM files, I ran into the problem again. I had turned down all of my "Reserved Device Memory" and "Reserved Picture Memory" to the lowest settings in order to gain free space. After the problem continued I turned it all the way up, and strangely see the same problem. I'm wondering if this is a problem with the card, the data on it such as pictures and videos, or is it possibly been a problem in all 3 and this 4th device? It crashed once when it was loading up thumbnails, which is was makes me think it might be related. However I've also been told that it's very likely just the memory card itself once it gets fuller a problem in the chip causes it to crash once the BB OS reads it.

  2. #2
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    I don't know what to say because the 2 GB and 8 GB cards I have for my 8100 and 8120 work fine. I only have music and a few pictures on both cards in both phones and no problems.

    Are the .REM files the preloaded thumbnails or thumbnails of pics you have put on the card?


  3. #3
    Firedragon64's Avatar
    Firedragon64 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    2576A7A6
    Posts
    61

    REM Files

    The REM files are the ones that the BB's generate. The Thumbs.db files are the ones that windows generates. It takes forever for a blackberry to generate thumbnails on it's own so once it's generated it creates those small cache files. Since I upgraded from a 8100 I thought maybe they weren't compatible with the 4.3 OS, so after a format the card seems to work fine, I don't know whether to replace the card or to replace the stuff I put on it. Nothing on there is like, out of the normal, and it should all work fine when put together, it's all stuff BB 8120 supports.

  4. #4
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Fire,

    Are you formating the sd card with your device? Why is windows creating files?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  5. #5
    Firedragon64's Avatar
    Firedragon64 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    2576A7A6
    Posts
    61
    I referred to the windows files because I backed it up copy and paste and while on my computer windows created the files. I am formatting the card with the device, should I do it another way?

  6. #6
    tornbloodflower's Avatar
    tornbloodflower no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1

    Media card problems...

    Fire,

    I had the same problem with my 8120. I initially exchanged the phone because I thought it was defective. It hadn't occurred to me that it might be the memory card. After having the smae problems with a second device, I was really frustrated thinking I had somehow received two defective 8120. I messed around with it a little bit and discovered that the problem does not occur with my memory card... I have yet to reformat my card or try a new one.... Blackberry dropped the ball on this one.

    Also... maybe this will help... I put my memory card in a friend's 8120. It reset. His memory card did not reset my phone... just thought i'd add that.
    Last edited by tornbloodflower; 06-11-2008 at 02:19 AM.

  7. #7
    Firedragon64's Avatar
    Firedragon64 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    2576A7A6
    Posts
    61

    Hmmm

    I think trading my memory card with my friend would be the best solution. It really angers me that they have this problem. I find it really weird that I am one of few who have encountered this problem. Maybe it's something we have on the card?

  8. #8
    Charley2397's Avatar
    Charley2397 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    12
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~I'm going through the same exact problem. I'm at a loss. I called T-Mobile tech support they said if my problem continued that they could replace the handset, but I guess replacing the handset wouldn't help. I also changed the sd card to a blank sd card, but I'm still having the same problem. I really wish I knew what to do.

  9. #9
    jcon249679's Avatar
    jcon249679 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    25
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~its not the phone its your memory cards I had the same problem and I bought a 4 gb the day I bought my 8120 but I put my 2 gb that I had in my original 8100 into the 8120 and it kept resetting every couple minutes then I transferred all my songs and pictures to my 4 gb card and the problem disappeared

  10. #10
    Firedragon64's Avatar
    Firedragon64 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    2576A7A6
    Posts
    61
    I think we solved the issue, I'm on my BB so no link, but search for post titled "major 8120 issue"

  11. #11
    Akash1NY's Avatar
    Akash1NY no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    5
    Hey all...

    I'm running into same issue. I took a look at my File Total under Status... 54MB???

    On my 8100, it was 64MB.

    Anyone else notice, or know how to resolve?

    Thanks.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •