Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Trying to get Opera Mini going on my unlocked 8120. Has anyone gotten this to ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    astroboy's Avatar
    astroboy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    252FE5C0
    Posts
    122

    8120 and Opera Mini

    Advertisement



    Trying to get Opera Mini going on my unlocked 8120. Has anyone gotten this to work? I get the old, "Failed to connect to the Internet" message. My TCP connection string is APN: wap.voicestream.com, UN and PW are blank. Any other ideas?

  2. #2
    astroboy's Avatar
    astroboy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    252FE5C0
    Posts
    122
    I'm starting to worry that this has something to do with my phone being an unlocked phone. I can't seem to get either Opera Mini or Simulscribe to work. It's like other apps can't access data. Is anyone with an 8120 able to use Opera mini? Which version are you using? I tried 3 and 4 with no luck.

  3. #3
    ikonz's Avatar
    ikonz no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    41
    it doesnt work on mine either i jsut picked it up from trmobile like the day they got it, bummer. Theres a lot of other apps that dont work for it like yahoo go! 3, google maps, and gmail, and markfilter for stock.

  4. #4
    CtrlAltDel's Avatar
    CtrlAltDel no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    7
    My Google maps is working fine. Version 2.0.3

  5. #5
    summerhowell's Avatar
    summerhowell no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    189
    Try Opera Mini 4.1.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #6
    gritsinct's Avatar
    gritsinct no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    491
    Yahoo Go, Google Maps and Gmail all work for me.

  7. #7
    razend's Avatar
    razend no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1

    Question data plan?

    Quote Originally Posted by gritsinct View Post
    Yahoo Go, Google Maps and Gmail all work for me.
    do you have the data plan with tmo or are you using the wifi cause i can't get it to work with wifi and don't know if i want the data plan

  8. #8
    ikonz's Avatar
    ikonz no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by razend View Post
    do you have the data plan with tmo or are you using the wifi cause i can't get it to work with wifi and don't know if i want the data plan
    All those apps are made to work with the data plan so if you want them to work you need the data plan. I just think its kind of selfish for the companies to make you pay for stuff that can be used over wifi aka for free (counting that you do pay for internet service)

  9. #9
    boomboom's Avatar
    boomboom no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    retired
    Posts
    486
    Correct you need data to get wifi. Thou there are reports of people having the email only plan and still having data and wifi~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  10. #10
    johu65's Avatar
    johu65 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    24470e33
    Posts
    160
    What is opera mini and what are the perks of it?
    PIN: 24470E33

  11. #11
    boomboom's Avatar
    boomboom no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    retired
    Posts
    486
    it is a good browser that you can use instead of the Blackberry browser.

  12. #12
    jalti99's Avatar
    jalti99 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by astroboy View Post
    Trying to get Opera Mini going on my unlocked 8120. Has anyone gotten this to work? I get the old, "Failed to connect to the Internet" message. My TCP connection string is APN: wap.voicestream.com, UN and PW are blank. Any other ideas?
    i got the same problem my phone isnt unlocked, so you can rule that out

  13. #13
    astroboy's Avatar
    astroboy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    252FE5C0
    Posts
    122
    Thanks Jalti, let us know if you figure it out!

  14. #14
    aloneshadow207's Avatar
    aloneshadow207 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4
    Guys I did it. I made it work. How....i have no clue. I tried installing it when I h first got the phone (yesterday) and I could not get it 2 work and this morning vuala! The only downside its that is really slow and starting 2 miss my 8100. What I can tell u is that I don't have nothing on my TCP and didn't mess with the permissions. I will let u guys know more as I keep figuring this out.

  15. #15
    Incognito Blair's Avatar
    Incognito Blair no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    9
    Well I've tried to get it to work and it does not work for my 8120. If you have just a regular pearl 8100 it should work perfectly. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •