Hello, First off, yes I'm new to the BB patch. All I can say is ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

thetraveler no está en línea Stack level 1

8100 won't recognize SIM

Advertisement

Hello,

First off, yes I'm new to the BB patch. All I can say is where have I been, these things are way cool. I appear to have a bit of a challenge before me. A few days ago I bought a used 8100 (Tmo branded), the gentleman I bought it from inserted my Tmo SIM (prepaid) into the unit, powered it up, gave a brief demonstration and I bought it. He informed me that he had installed upgraded software (v4.5.0.102) which at the time I knew nothing about. Upon getting home I installed a 2 gig micro sd and loaded up some tunes, everything is still fine so far. I had intentionally bought this for a gift for someone. When I attempted to load her SIM all I got was the white screen with the little hand spinning on the little clock thing, an occaisional blinking red light (upper right) and it would continue in that loop. Yes I've tried the battery pull to no avail and when I called Tmo customer service they suggested a new SIM. I went to their store, they provided a new SIM which works fine in her old phone (on a Tmo family plan) but not in the 8100. I tried two other SIM cards from other phones on the same Tmo family plan and they work fine. As I'm sitting here now, the 8100 works fine with the prepaid SIM. I have downloaded the DM, hooked up the BB and they communicate fine. I'm finding the threads on wiping the 8100 and do a reload, but it would be a downgrade if I use the software from Tmo. I guess it just doesn't seem to be a clearcut issue to me. HELP ! Is it possible that it could still be a problem with that one SIM or what other possibilities should I consider.

Thanks for any suggestions.

rb

reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    PIN/ID
    ask me