Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Hi. I have a 8100 pearl and just got the unlocking code for my sim ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    gadgetdad's Avatar
    gadgetdad no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    12

    8100 unlocking issue

    Advertisement



    Hi. I have a 8100 pearl and just got the unlocking code for my sim through Tmobile. I get up to the SIM Card screen, and type MEPPD. I get the full personalizations then. Next I am suppose to type MEPP2 (with the alt key for the 2). I have typed MEPP2 20 times, nothing is working. Went back and double checked I was still in english text input, reboot the phone, CAPS on , CAPS off, counted to 10 instead of just tossing it against a wall, nothing is working.

    Any ideas on what I am doing wrong?

  2. #2
    SDEEDY's Avatar
    SDEEDY no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    117

    Re: 8100 unlocking issue

    Quote Originally Posted by gadgetdad
    Hi. I have a 8100 pearl and just got the unlocking code for my sim through Tmobile. I get up to the SIM Card screen, and type MEPPD. I get the full personalizations then. Next I am suppose to type MEPP2 (with the alt key for the 2). I have typed MEPP2 20 times, nothing is working. Went back and double checked I was still in english text input, reboot the phone, CAPS on , CAPS off, counted to 10 instead of just tossing it against a wall, nothing is working.

    Any ideas on what I am doing wrong?
    I have an AT&T Pearl. I did it by:

    Quote Originally Posted by AC INKA
    1 Insert Cingular SIM into device

    2 Power phone on and Turn off the radio (Turn Wireless Off option) VERY IMPORTANT.

    3 Select "Options" and then "Advanced Options"

    4 Scroll down and select "SIM Card"

    5 Type "MEPD" (multitap means this will be typed in [M] [ER] [OP] [OP] [DF])

    6 Type "MEP2" (multitap means this will be typed in [M] [ER] [OP] [OP] alt [TY])

    7 Enter the Unlock Code

    8 Press enter

    9 Reboot device. Device is now unlocked.

  3. #3
    gadgetdad's Avatar
    gadgetdad no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    12

    Re: 8100 unlocking issue

    Thanks, but that did not work.

  4. #4
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: 8100 unlocking issue

    dad...

    Is the radio set to OFF?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  5. #5
    gadgetdad's Avatar
    gadgetdad no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    12

    Re: 8100 unlocking issue

    it wasnst. I turned it off and tried again. Still didnt take the MEPP2.

  6. #6
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: 8100 unlocking issue

    This is from my email from TMO - note step 6 - "press the alt key and type MEPP2".

    [FONT=Tahoma]Thank you for taking the time to contact T-Mobile. Below you will see the Instructions for unlocking your Blackberry 8100 Pearl device.

    1. Press the Menu key.
    2. Scroll to Options and press the trackball.
    3. Scroll to Advanced Options and press the trackball.
    4. Scroll to SIM Card and press the trackball.
    5. Type MEPPD
    6. Press the Alt key and type MEPP2.
    7. Enter unlock code.
    8. Press the Enter Key
    [/FONT]
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  7. #7
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907
    Quote Originally Posted by gadgetdad
    it wasnst. I turned it off and tried again. Still didnt take the MEPP2.
    Are you typing in the correct code? I think after so many tries it locks. Don't quote me on this. I had no problems with unlocking mine with TMOs instructions.

  8. #8
    SDEEDY's Avatar
    SDEEDY no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    117

    Re: 8100 unlocking issue

    Quote Originally Posted by reddog187
    Are you typing in the correct code? I think after so many tries it locks. Don't quote me on this. I had no problems with unlocking mine with TMOs instructions.
    From what I'm understanding he is stuck at step 6 as shown the post above. He hasn't been able to type in the code yet.

  9. #9
    gadgetdad's Avatar
    gadgetdad no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    12

    Re: 8100 unlocking issue

    GaryF - That is what I started with. I even went into email to test if I was typing the MEPP2 correct.

    Reddog197- I actually have not got the box yet to enter my code. For some stupid reason, nothing happens at this step...6. Press the Alt key and type MEPP2.

  10. #10
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: 8100 unlocking issue

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Oh my bad. I'm stuck work now so I'm without a desktop. That super strange that its not doing anything at that step. Is that the exact step that it tells you in the directions? I unlocked mine so long ago I don't remember.

  11. #11
    nik0's Avatar
    nik0 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    184

    Re: 8100 unlocking issue

    Are you holding the Alt key the WHOLE TIME you're typing MEPP2 or just for the 2? Hold it down the whole time.

  12. #12
    gadgetdad's Avatar
    gadgetdad no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    12

    Re: 8100 unlocking issue

    Quote Originally Posted by reddog187
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Is that the exact step that it tells you in the directions? .
    Yes, exactly. Tried holding the ALT key down while typing MEPP2 and that didnt work either.

    I am going to send some new service books to see if that will help at all.

    You know in one of my serches for this issue I came across people talking about the Network line on the personalization did not say Disabled. Mine does? It still registers Tmobile though. Not sure if that means anything or not.

  13. #13
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: 8100 unlocking issue

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    So yours does say disabled? Or does it say active?

  14. #14
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: 8100 unlocking issue

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    So yours does say disabled? Or does it say active?

  15. #15
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: 8100 unlocking issue

    If all of your lines say "disabled" you are unlocked...

    I beleive that an unlocked phone will behave just as you described (no action from step 6)

    When you say "it still resgisters tmobile" what do you mean?
    Last edited by GaryF; 08-06-2007 at 05:50 PM.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •