Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 46 to 54 of 54

Does anyone know how to use this using a Mac operating system?... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #46
    lennyreg's Avatar
    lennyreg no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    2

    Question Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    Advertisement



    Does anyone know how to use this using a Mac operating system?

  2. #47
    magellan0547's Avatar
    magellan0547 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    242E7D27
    Posts
    770

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    as for accepting calls while you're tethered it isn't possible...you either use the pearl as a modem or for phone calls...unfortunately the processing power of the pearl isn't up to the task as you can see if you have too many apps running @ the same time...also if you're in a call you cannot alt+backspace to a browser session during your call...it will ask you if you want to continue the call or start a browser session...most i can figure it's the limitations of the pearl's hardware...don't think it's a software issue but only future OS releases will prove me right or wrong on that

    as far as i know also you can send/receive SMS/MMS/e-mail during any tethered session because it's all DATA...where as phone call is on different spectrum

  3. #48
    PapaMag's Avatar
    PapaMag no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    PIN/ID
    Nadda
    Posts
    5,722

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    Will this work with Vista Ultimate cause I'm getting nothing

  4. #49
    sheka's Avatar
    sheka no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    7
    When I try to tether my modem I get error 692. Can anyone help me . Plz

  5. #50
    MrDavv's Avatar
    MrDavv no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    55
    See if this helps.

    Quote Originally Posted by LouisC View Post
    I was getting the error 692 also, here is what you have to do to get around it....

    - Network Connections... Double click your modem
    - On the Connect screen.. Click on Properties (bottom right hand side of screen)
    - On the Properties Page... Click on Configure
    - On the Modem Configuration Page... Make sure that all three Check boxes are UNCHECKED
    - Click OK-OK-Dial

    This solved my problem right away!!

    Hope it helps,
    Louis

  6. #51
    zago66's Avatar
    zago66 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    Just Ask
    Posts
    8
    Great stuff..
    I am able to connect at 115kbps, with USB and Desktop Manager on or Bluetooth..
    Set up two modems as per the instructions...
    Question then... am i tethering via dial-up therefore the phone line ? hence moving to a 3G phone from my Edge 8100 will not increase speed ?
    Can you tether and use your data speeds ?
    Or is that what apps like "TetherBerry" are for ?
    "My mind is like a steel trap.... rusty and illegal in 37 states"

  7. #52
    MrDavv's Avatar
    MrDavv no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    55
    Tethering uses the data speeds. If you change your phone from EDGE to 3G, you will see a speed difference. If you are connected by usb cable, the Windows dialup/serial speed is not relevant. I connect my phone by USB and use Wifi and get pretty fast speeds.. Faster then 3G. If you use bluetooth your max speed may be limited by the max xfer throughput of bluetooth. Basically your connection speed is dependent upon your data speed.
    BlackBerry8900/4.6.1.231 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100

  8. #53
    zago66's Avatar
    zago66 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    Just Ask
    Posts
    8
    Thanks for that quick response MrDavv....
    makes sense..
    So when i am connected then i am drawing down on my 1G data plan rather than my minutes plan ?
    Haven't noticed a difference between USB connected or Bluetooth yet ? But not sure I was looking for it..... great info !
    "My mind is like a steel trap.... rusty and illegal in 37 states"

  9. #54
    MrDavv's Avatar
    MrDavv no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    55
    Tethering uses your data connection, not your voice channel. Speeds are dependent on your data speed (unless the carrier proxy server is limiting). Test download a smaller size file so you can over USB vs bluetooth to see generally how many KB/s you get.

    NOTE: I'm not familiar with Rogers, but please verify if you can tether without extra fees or be on a tethering plan. Otherwise you may be bitten with very high fees.
    BlackBerry8900/4.6.1.231 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •