Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 54

I agree this is really useful information. One question. My office provide my Pearl but ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #31
    isaune's Avatar
    isaune no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    24

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    Advertisement



    I agree this is really useful information.

    One question. My office provide my Pearl but I can see a use for this in connecting using my personal laptop whilst on the move.

    But I don't want to trouble my IT people with the set-up so, can you tell me please:-

    1) where can I download the desktop manager software as I don't have the disks

    2) where can I find the network passcode etc - presumably it is somewhere in the Pearl itself?

    Thanks Guys

  2. #32
    nrcapes's Avatar
    nrcapes no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    23E6997B
    Posts
    114

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    Quote Originally Posted by WestBerry
    This isnt working for me. it says that there is a error 734 the ppp link control protocol was terminated! It kicks me out of the manager menu on my phone.
    I've gotten that error too (or 736). TMO rep told me to put the APN wap.voicestream.com in the APN field under Options>Advanced>TCP. I haven't had any problem since. I don't know what the APN is for other carriers.

  3. #33
    ryfoster's Avatar
    ryfoster no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    516

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    Quote Originally Posted by fome
    what username/pass do i use? do i use my phone # and my password for the tmobile website? do i use blanks?
    For Tmo...i leave the username and password blank as they are not necessary for the APN (wap.voicestream.com). I get on fine virtually all the time.
    ---
    R. Foster (2 Timothy 2:15)

  4. #34
    vern23's Avatar
    vern23 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    5

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    in the APN field under Options>Advanced>TCP. I haven't had any problem since. I don't know what the APN is for other carriers.
    where do i find the options-advanced-tcp???

  5. #35
    thirdleft152's Avatar
    thirdleft152 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    23eeac38
    Posts
    19

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    Does anyone know if the 8100 will work tether using bluetooth? i've heard mixed answers. Can anyone comfirm?

  6. #36
    Lollie's Avatar
    Lollie no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    245ff0d2
    Posts
    55

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    ok any1 know how 2 wrk this w/ Vista? Yes i know Vista sucks and all that but thats my only option at this time!!! Pls help!!!

  7. #37
    Maximus's Avatar
    Maximus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    132

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    Got this to work...thanks to all for the help. This is great. I'm getting 115kbps

  8. #38
    TaraG's Avatar
    TaraG no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    112

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    I've tried doing this several times and every time i get the error 734!! I typed everything exactly how cingular's website said to and it's still not working. Is there anything else I can try???????????

  9. #39
    steedtek's Avatar
    steedtek no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    23EBDA02
    Posts
    175

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    Basically since you are using Cingular, you have to purchase the plan that includes the tethering option, otherwise its a hit or miss, you get the error or you dont.

    I dont have the tether either but i'll go through 10 tries of the error before it works.

  10. #40
    TaraG's Avatar
    TaraG no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    112

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    Thanks steedtek! That's what I needed to know ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  11. #41
    Maximus's Avatar
    Maximus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    132

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    Quote Originally Posted by framerate
    How about how to connect to other devices, like the linux powered nokia n800? Ive been trying to get online with n800 + 8100 all month
    I just got the N800...any luck connecting the Pearl to this thing?

  12. #42
    TaraG's Avatar
    TaraG no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    112

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    Well Steedtek was right about getting the tethering package with Cingular. Thing is it's $74.99!! I called Directv (that's who I thought was the only one I could get internet with, since I live way out in the country) and when they told me I could get Earthlink DSL for $19.99/mo I signed up! So there Cingular!!

  13. #43
    investore's Avatar
    investore no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    17

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    Great info

  14. #44
    Rawjek's Avatar
    Rawjek no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    257a0eea
    Posts
    30

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    Quote Originally Posted by ~BLACK ICE~
    AWSOME write up!

    Here is a link to one that I found to be really easy. I used this to connect...



    Thanks to zaitsev!
    I am using windows vista... HELP!!!!

  15. #45
    steva11's Avatar
    steva11 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    91

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    download att communication manager from this page. www.cingular.com/communicationmanager

    it's compatible with vista. just make sure you have DM running and connected.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •