Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 54

OMG...I thought I was the "pooh"! I thought it was too good to be true, ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #16
    Mr. Belleza's Avatar
    Mr. Belleza no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    just ask
    Posts
    80

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    Advertisement



    OMG...I thought I was the "pooh"! I thought it was too good to be true, but, it WORKS! For lack of a better phrase, "AWESOME"
    However, I do have one question/concern (and PLEASE don't mock the newbie), but, will I be able to accept/answer incoming phone calls while tethered to my laptop?

  2. #17
    WestBerry's Avatar
    WestBerry no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    7

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    Does anyone know how to do this on windows xp?

  3. #18
    ryfoster's Avatar
    ryfoster no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    516

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    Quote Originally Posted by yellowone
    For work I use a Verizon Network PC Card PC5740 for Nationwide BroadbandAccess. However I've used my 7100 in the past as a tethered modem and it was a lil too slow for my liking.

    The Pearl is FASTER.
    T-Mobile Unlimited Internet for Blackberry means Unlimited when connecting from your laptop as well ( I called TMO to make sure)
    Cheaper than PC Card services. ($20 vs approx. $69)

    This is probably posted elsewhere on Pinstack but here are the directions anyway.

    How to: Tether BlackBerry Pearl to PC for use as a modem


    How to: Tether BlackBerry Pearl to PC for use as a modemMore providers are encouraging the use BlackBerry handhelds as tethered modems, but few are detailing how it's done. We have created the following article to assist in the set up of your GSM/GPRS BlackBerry for use as a tethered modem for your Windows based PC.

    The following article applies to users of the new BlackBerry Pearl (8100 series), 7130 series and 8700 series GSM/GPRS handhelds. BlackBerry Desktop Manager 4.1 or better will be required, so make sure you have that installed first.


    Install the BlackBerry Desktop Manager

    * When you install BlackBerry Desktop Software, the drivers that enable the BlackBerry device to communicate through the USB port and virtual COM port are installed. The Standard Modem, which is used by dial-up networking, is also installed.

    Note: If you are upgrading your BlackBerry Desktop Software from version 4.0 to 4.1, the required Virtual COM Port and Standard Modem might be removed during the upgrade process. If this is the case, re-install the BlackBerry Desktop Software 4.1 or later and choose the Repair option to re-install these components.

    Set up Internet APN
    From your PC:

    * Go to Start > Settings > Control Panel
    * Double-click Phone and Modem Options
    * In the Phone and Modem Options window, click the Modems tab
    * Select Standard Modem and click Properties
    * In the Standard Modem Properties window, Click the Advanced Tab
    * In the Extra initialization commands field, type the following: +cgdcont=1,"IP","your Internet APN"

    Note: If you do not know your Internet APN, or if you do not have an Internet APN, contact your service provider.
    * Click OK
    * In the Phone and Modem Options window, click OK


    Configure dial-up networking connection
    Windows XP:

    * Go to Start > Settings > Network Connections
    * Double-click New Connection Wizard. The New Connection Wizard opens
    * Click Next
    * Select the Connect to the Internet option. Click Next
    * Select Setup my connection manually. Click Next
    * Select Connect using a dial-up modem. Click Next
    * If the Select a Device screen appears, select the Modem - Standard Modem check box. Click Next
    * In the ISP Name field, type a name for your connection. Click Next
    * In the Phone number field, type *99#. Click Next
    * Indicate which users will have access to the connection. Click Next
    * Enter the user name and password provided by your service provider. Click Next
    * Click Finish
    * In the Connect window, click Properties
    * In the Properties window, verify that Modem - Standard Modem appears beneath the Connect using heading, then click Configure
    * In the Modem Configuration window, clear the Enable hardware flow control check box and make sure none of the other check boxes are selected. Click OK
    * In the Properties window, click OK

    Connect BlackBerry to Desktop Manager

    * Connect the BlackBerry device to the computer and verify that BlackBerry Desktop Manager displays Connected. The device must be identified by BlackBerry Desktop Manager in order for the modem to establish a connection.

    Important: BlackBerry Desktop Manager must be running for the tethered modem to function.

    Note: If Microsoft Outlook is not operating in cache mode, you might receive a message indicating that BlackBerry Desktop Manager cannot contact the messaging server. If this message appears, click Cancel to proceed.

    Connect to the Internet using dial-up networking

    * Connect the BlackBerry device to the computer
    * Open BlackBerry Desktop Manager
    * Click Start > Settings > Network Connections > name of your new connection
    * Enter the user name and password provided by your service provider
    * Click Dial

    Here is yellowone's original post. I have an XP laptop and I was able to get it working following these instructions. Let us know if there's any trouble. :-).
    ---
    R. Foster (2 Timothy 2:15)

  4. #19
    Team Arli$$'s Avatar
    Team Arli$$ no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    121

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    very nice! +rep
    wat it do?
    PIN me: 23DE56E4
    Do you believe in Da Lep Ra Con?


  5. #20
    ryfoster's Avatar
    ryfoster no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    516

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Belleza
    OMG...I thought I was the "pooh"! I thought it was too good to be true, but, it WORKS! For lack of a better phrase, "AWESOME"
    However, I do have one question/concern (and PLEASE don't mock the newbie), but, will I be able to accept/answer incoming phone calls while tethered to my laptop?
    Good question...When i am online surfing the net or using JiveTalk on my BB, I've found myself not able to accept/answer any calls until the actual transferring of data is concluded. Basically as long as you see those lovely arrows on the corner of your screen, then you probably won't squeak any calls out.

    It's possible i'm wrong...there's plenty of experts around :-). So, let's both kick back and wait for them to arrive, LOL.
    ---
    R. Foster (2 Timothy 2:15)

  6. #21
    n.nichols's Avatar
    n.nichols no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    23E08383
    Posts
    30

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    does anyone know how to fax this way. Scan to laptop, send file as a fax to another business?

    Ofcorse using the tethered modem to send?

    Must be a tough question. I've placed it in several locations without response.

    Thx.

  7. #22
    framerate's Avatar
    framerate no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    How about how to connect to other devices, like the linux powered nokia n800? Ive been trying to get online with n800 + 8100 all month

  8. #23
    WestBerry's Avatar
    WestBerry no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    7

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    This isnt working for me. it says that there is a error 734 the ppp link control protocol was terminated! It kicks me out of the manager menu on my phone.

  9. #24
    fome's Avatar
    fome no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    61

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    what username/pass do i use? do i use my phone # and my password for the tmobile website? do i use blanks?

  10. #25
    Albeevr6's Avatar
    Albeevr6 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    19

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Belleza
    OMG...I thought I was the "pooh"! I thought it was too good to be true, but, it WORKS! For lack of a better phrase, "AWESOME"
    However, I do have one question/concern (and PLEASE don't mock the newbie), but, will I be able to accept/answer incoming phone calls while tethered to my laptop?

    YES you can even send and receive text messages while tethered, i have done both

  11. #26
    Mr. Belleza's Avatar
    Mr. Belleza no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    just ask
    Posts
    80

    Thumbs up Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    Quote Originally Posted by Albeevr6
    YES you can even send and receive text messages while tethered, i have done both
    Thanks...I appreciate your insight!
    "Out of Small Things Proceedeth That which is Great."

  12. #27
    n.nichols's Avatar
    n.nichols no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    23E08383
    Posts
    30

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    http://www.faxdigits.com/Free-fax-services.html

    I found this service on another site. for anyone interested. Should work on the Pearl, but I have not tried it out yet.

  13. #28
    peterbabiy's Avatar
    peterbabiy no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    23DE41AA
    Posts
    1,926

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    HMM Ima have to give it a try, even thou I think its only for Windows OS.

  14. #29
    nrcapes's Avatar
    nrcapes no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    23E6997B
    Posts
    114

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    Quote Originally Posted by WestBerry
    This isnt working for me. it says that there is a error 734 the ppp link control protocol was terminated! It kicks me out of the manager menu on my phone.
    Probably due to not having the extra initialization commands set up:

    +cgdcont=1,"IP","your Internet APN

    See the earlier posts in this thread.

  15. #30
    steedtek's Avatar
    steedtek no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    23EBDA02
    Posts
    175

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    Just to make sure there isn't confusion with the above post, it should be:

    +cdgcont=1,"IP","Your APN"

    the above poster forgot to add the final "

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •