Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 54

For work I use a Verizon Network PC Card PC5740 for Nationwide BroadbandAccess. However I've ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    yellowone's Avatar
    yellowone no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    23E6E30E
    Posts
    25

    8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    Advertisement



    For work I use a Verizon Network PC Card PC5740 for Nationwide BroadbandAccess. However I've used my 7100 in the past as a tethered modem and it was a lil too slow for my liking.

    The Pearl is FASTER.
    T-Mobile Unlimited Internet for Blackberry means Unlimited when connecting from your laptop as well ( I called TMO to make sure)
    Cheaper than PC Card services. ($20 vs approx. $69)

    This is probably posted elsewhere on Pinstack but here are the directions anyway.

    How to: Tether BlackBerry Pearl to PC for use as a modem


    How to: Tether BlackBerry Pearl to PC for use as a modemMore providers are encouraging the use BlackBerry handhelds as tethered modems, but few are detailing how it's done. We have created the following article to assist in the set up of your GSM/GPRS BlackBerry for use as a tethered modem for your Windows based PC.

    The following article applies to users of the new BlackBerry Pearl (8100 series), 7130 series and 8700 series GSM/GPRS handhelds. BlackBerry Desktop Manager 4.1 or better will be required, so make sure you have that installed first.


    Install the BlackBerry Desktop Manager

    * When you install BlackBerry Desktop Software, the drivers that enable the BlackBerry device to communicate through the USB port and virtual COM port are installed. The Standard Modem, which is used by dial-up networking, is also installed.

    Note: If you are upgrading your BlackBerry Desktop Software from version 4.0 to 4.1, the required Virtual COM Port and Standard Modem might be removed during the upgrade process. If this is the case, re-install the BlackBerry Desktop Software 4.1 or later and choose the Repair option to re-install these components.

    Set up Internet APN
    From your PC:

    * Go to Start > Settings > Control Panel
    * Double-click Phone and Modem Options
    * In the Phone and Modem Options window, click the Modems tab
    * Select Standard Modem and click Properties
    * In the Standard Modem Properties window, Click the Advanced Tab
    * In the Extra initialization commands field, type the following: +cgdcont=1,"IP","your Internet APN"

    Note: If you do not know your Internet APN, or if you do not have an Internet APN, contact your service provider.
    * Click OK
    * In the Phone and Modem Options window, click OK


    Configure dial-up networking connection
    Windows XP:

    * Go to Start > Settings > Network Connections
    * Double-click New Connection Wizard. The New Connection Wizard opens
    * Click Next
    * Select the Connect to the Internet option. Click Next
    * Select Setup my connection manually. Click Next
    * Select Connect using a dial-up modem. Click Next
    * If the Select a Device screen appears, select the Modem - Standard Modem check box. Click Next
    * In the ISP Name field, type a name for your connection. Click Next
    * In the Phone number field, type *99#. Click Next
    * Indicate which users will have access to the connection. Click Next
    * Enter the user name and password provided by your service provider. Click Next
    * Click Finish
    * In the Connect window, click Properties
    * In the Properties window, verify that Modem - Standard Modem appears beneath the Connect using heading, then click Configure
    * In the Modem Configuration window, clear the Enable hardware flow control check box and make sure none of the other check boxes are selected. Click OK
    * In the Properties window, click OK

    Connect BlackBerry to Desktop Manager

    * Connect the BlackBerry device to the computer and verify that BlackBerry Desktop Manager displays Connected. The device must be identified by BlackBerry Desktop Manager in order for the modem to establish a connection.

    Important: BlackBerry Desktop Manager must be running for the tethered modem to function.

    Note: If Microsoft Outlook is not operating in cache mode, you might receive a message indicating that BlackBerry Desktop Manager cannot contact the messaging server. If this message appears, click Cancel to proceed.

    Connect to the Internet using dial-up networking

    * Connect the BlackBerry device to the computer
    * Open BlackBerry Desktop Manager
    * Click Start > Settings > Network Connections > name of your new connection
    * Enter the user name and password provided by your service provider
    * Click Dial

  2. #2
    ~BLACK ICE~'s Avatar
    ~BLACK ICE~ no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    23e224ba
    Posts
    230
    AWSOME write up!

    Here is a link to one that I found to be really easy. I used this to connect...

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com/124773-post5.html

    Thanks to zaitsev!

  3. #3
    iiialphaiii's Avatar
    iiialphaiii no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    23ea89ec
    Posts
    3

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Dialup modem , is that different then edge for laptop? I have BB plan with t mobile, how do I get it to work with my laptop , do I need a dualup access account? Or I could just set up so that my BB share its internet with my laptop?

  4. #4
    GotPearl?'s Avatar
    GotPearl? no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,168

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    Here is a link for Mac users (It must be easy if I can get it working)

    http://www.fibble.org/archives/000508.html

    GP

  5. #5
    B@Zz's Avatar
    B@Zz no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    9

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~Would this configuration use the BIS or i will be charge extra im new on the BB and i loving it

  6. #6
    peterbabiy's Avatar
    peterbabiy no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    23DE41AA
    Posts
    1,926

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    Quote Originally Posted by B@Zz
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~Would this configuration use the BIS or i will be charge extra im new on the BB and i loving it
    As far as I know, u wont be charged anything

  7. #7
    B@Zz's Avatar
    B@Zz no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    9

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~peterbabiy im from mexico and im using telcel and had connected my laptop but i receive an extra charge for internet service how would i know if im been charge

  8. #8
    peterbabiy's Avatar
    peterbabiy no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    23DE41AA
    Posts
    1,926

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    Quote Originally Posted by B@Zz
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~peterbabiy im from mexico and im using telcel and had connected my laptop but i receive an extra charge for internet service how would i know if im been charge
    I think its free as far as US, I aint sure about the Mexico. Best thing would be to give em a call (your internet service provider) and find out what was the extra charge for.

  9. #9
    blockhype's Avatar
    blockhype no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    13

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    question i used one of the methods posted above but all it did was dial #99 from my phone and it says number cannot be completed as dialed someone please assist

  10. #10
    blockhype's Avatar
    blockhype no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    13

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    anyone?

  11. #11
    cnelson81's Avatar
    cnelson81 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    22

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    i use my BB as a modem for my macbook, it comes in quite handy while im out and i need to be connected.

  12. #12
    dwagman's Avatar
    dwagman no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    30517286
    Posts
    294

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    With T-Mobile, you will not be charged, and heck, they encourage it. T-Mobile offers the same information on their website (and I'd provide the link but I have since lost it). If you are having any problems setting it up, the techs on the phone will help you make it work (they helped it, and it took over an hour on the phone to figure out the right +cgont APN to make it work.

    Blockhype - CALL T-Mo, they'll help you out.

  13. #13
    mrcsbrooks's Avatar
    mrcsbrooks no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    204b1dba
    Posts
    400

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    I swear you guys are awesome!!! Thanks again!!

  14. #14
    ryfoster's Avatar
    ryfoster no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    516

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    This is one HOT bit of information...now i can definitely get my 20 bucks a month worth, LOL. Thanks for sharing this info :-).
    ---
    R. Foster (2 Timothy 2:15)

  15. #15
    ryfoster's Avatar
    ryfoster no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    516

    Re: 8100 Pearl as Laptop Modem

    I was able to successfully set it up as a tethered modem and I am using it right now as we speak...YYYYEEEESSSS!!!! I love this site and all the forums...you're all the best.
    ---
    R. Foster (2 Timothy 2:15)

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •