Results 1 to 13 of 13

I was just wondering if anyone has experience of using the 8100 in the UK ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    ripkord's Avatar
    ripkord no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    9

    8100 on o2 (uk) anyone got it?

    Advertisement



    I was just wondering if anyone has experience of using the 8100 in the UK and what firmware/software is bundled. Also can you upgrade the software? I read the review roundup on engadget and hope some of the things noted in the review have been fixed.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    mike213735's Avatar
    mike213735 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    25051005
    Posts
    39

    Re: 8100 on o2 (uk) anyone got it?

    I have an 8100 Pearl on O2 in the UK.

    It came with OS .64, but I soon updated the OS to .71 (remembering to delete vendor.xml first) and all seems OK so far.
    I went for O2 400 voice contract with 400 mins and 100 text and the Ł10 unlimited data service.
    I have since purchased Blackberry Alerts and downloaded the Beta for Jivetalk, both of which are working great.

    O2 told me that the data contract would go live on a certain day, so I went to their Blackberry specific site and opened an account in readiness. Sure enough, on that day, the emails came rolling in.

    Well Done O2.

    Thanks
    Mike

  3. #3
    ripkord's Avatar
    ripkord no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    9

    Re: 8100 on o2 (uk) anyone got it?

    Thanks for the quick reply, how did you update it (sorry for the n00b questions )

    Thanks

  4. #4
    mike213735's Avatar
    mike213735 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    25051005
    Posts
    39

    Re: 8100 on o2 (uk) anyone got it?

    It's easy to update!

    1) Download the .71 OS from https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...84431AD9D055AF
    2) Make sure your BB is NOT connected to your PC.
    3) Run the OS install file on your PC
    4) Browse to Vendor.xml on your C Drive in Common files
    5) Delete Venor.xml
    6) Connect your BB to your PC and wait for about 40mins whilst it updates
    7) Goto Options/About to confirm that the update has worked.

    All done. It'e easy, you just need tobe brave enough to take the plunge.

    Thanks
    Mike

  5. #5
    ripkord's Avatar
    ripkord no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    9

    Re: 8100 on o2 (uk) anyone got it?

    seems fine thanks for your help

  6. #6
    ripkord's Avatar
    ripkord no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    9

    Re: 8100 on o2 (uk) anyone got it?

    for some reason that link wont do anything...

    tried both firefox and ie7

    cheers

  7. #7
    gazar's Avatar
    gazar no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,203

    Re: 8100 on o2 (uk) anyone got it?

    What are the benefits of upgrading from .64 to .71 ?

  8. #8
    mike213735's Avatar
    mike213735 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    25051005
    Posts
    39

    Re: 8100 on o2 (uk) anyone got it?

    That's weird, I have just tried the link and it works. Do a search on the forum and see if you can find the OS on another page.
    I am not sure what the benefits are but most people seem to think that the battery life is improved on the .71 upgrade.
    I wouldn't know because I use a car kit which charges the phone on the way to work every morning.

    Thanks
    Mike

  9. #9
    ripkord's Avatar
    ripkord no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    9

    Re: 8100 on o2 (uk) anyone got it?

    heh that was gonna be my next question battery life

    The page you linked leads to telefonica spain software - I'm guessing thats unbranded?

  10. #10
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: 8100 on o2 (uk) anyone got it?

    https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...E4F82F9F00E7D4

    ripkord try this one. this should get you to a .71 OS

  11. #11
    tmag2005's Avatar
    tmag2005 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    250d3c8f
    Posts
    126

    Re: 8100 on o2 (uk) anyone got it?

    Within my household there is an 8100 and an 8700 on O2. Its taken them a while to get sorted with BB but over the last 9 mths O2 has become a lot better.

    I would say they are the leaders in the UK Network Providers List and hopefully will continue.

    Just so you know I have official information that the BB Data Tariff will also be available for O2 Online Customers as of the 1st April 2007. This will be a massive leap forward and sure to bring in new customers especially with the current Online Deals available....

  12. #12
    gazar's Avatar
    gazar no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,203

    Re: 8100 on o2 (uk) anyone got it?

    Do you guys have "best contact" address or Tel # for o2Uk help ?

    Do you have bb browser and if you are using 3rd party apps, what APN settings are you using, I got these from Sp@dr but have not tried them out yet.

    Sorry about all the questions, but o2 help should be re-named o2 nohelp !!
    Gaz.

  13. #13
    ripkord's Avatar
    ripkord no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    9

    Re: 8100 on o2 (uk) anyone got it?

    cheers reddog

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •