Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

dl'ed 4.5 from bb/orange romania, deleted vendor file, loading with dm now..but it has been ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    halo_one's Avatar
    halo_one no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    24

    8100 new 4.5 os loading serious problem

    Advertisement



    dl'ed 4.5 from bb/orange romania, deleted vendor file, loading with dm now..but it has been hung up at "load jvm and system software" now for over half an hour. please please tell me what i can do at this point. i know i'm not supposed to unplug it but i dont know what else to do!

  2. #2
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    Just leave it, it could still take another good 20 minutes or more, sometimes they take a while. Don't unplug it yet.
    Twitter? My Apps List

    Current SmartPhone: Motorola DROID Rooted, Running Project Elite v4

  3. #3
    halo_one's Avatar
    halo_one no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by azstar View Post
    Just leave it, it could still take another good 20 minutes or more, sometimes they take a while. Don't unplug it yet.
    i will wait a while longer, but if it never moves past that point what do i do?

  4. #4
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    Let's cross that bridge if we need to. Don't panic yet.
    Twitter? My Apps List

    Current SmartPhone: Motorola DROID Rooted, Running Project Elite v4

  5. #5
    halo_one's Avatar
    halo_one no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by azstar View Post
    Let's cross that bridge if we need to. Don't panic yet.
    cool, i can wait a little longer. i dont think it took this long the last time i upgraded my os. previous one i'm trying to replace now is the 4.5 with the jacked up camera.

  6. #6
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    Any change yet halo?
    Twitter? My Apps List

    Current SmartPhone: Motorola DROID Rooted, Running Project Elite v4

  7. #7
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481
    It seems like an eternity for the device to initialize, just be patient. It took almost 25-30 minutes on my 8310.

  8. #8
    halo_one's Avatar
    halo_one no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    24
    about 12 hours went by with nothing...i unplugged my 8100 then the dm unlocked. i am now attempting to reload the backup from the pc of everything the dm took off yesterday. its not going well, either.

  9. #9
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    Was you BB responsive when you disconnected it? What do you mean you are reloading a back-up? Are you reloading the OS again? Just want to know where you're at. And when you say it's not going well, what's happening?
    Twitter? My Apps List

    Current SmartPhone: Motorola DROID Rooted, Running Project Elite v4

  10. #10
    halo_one's Avatar
    halo_one no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    24
    when i unplugged it, i got a a red light that flashes twice and nothing else. dm says no device connected. cant reload the backup of what was current yesterday before i tried to load the new os. my 8100 looks like it may now be a paperwieght.

  11. #11
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    You would be amazed how they can come back from the dead. Check out this thread, it talks about how to reload the os when DM won't recognize the device.

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...ead.php?t=5178

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  12. #12
    halo_one's Avatar
    halo_one no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    24
    cant get past step 6 because device is not found.

  13. #13
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    Keep trying, follow the instructions precisely. Sometimes it takes several tries to get it. Read through the whole thread, you may see a few tips that may help.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  14. #14
    halo_one's Avatar
    halo_one no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    24
    thanks for your help, i'm going to call at&t and see if they can tell me if this is covered by the rim man. warranty. because i have nothing here with the pc and 8100.

  15. #15
    halo_one's Avatar
    halo_one no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    24
    New 8100 in my hand

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •