Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

I am about to receive my 8120 in the mail. I am currently using the ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    tws777's Avatar
    tws777 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    259

    8100-8120 Question

    Advertisement



    I am about to receive my 8120 in the mail. I am currently using the 8100. Can I transfer all of my data from the 8100 to the 8120? Can I restore an 8100 backup to my 8120? Any details if so? TIA

  2. #2
    pearl-8100's Avatar
    pearl-8100 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    245ac9c6
    Posts
    305
    ~via BB 8120(wap.pinstack.com)~yea I'm pretty sure you can. Some apps don't work on the 8120 as it does on the 8100

  3. #3
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702
    I used the switch device wizard on the dm and all of my 3rd party apps and themes transfored over. First I hooked up my 8100 and then the 8120 and viola, I had everything on my 8120. Very Cool!

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #4
    DrSuha's Avatar
    DrSuha no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    162
    Quote Originally Posted by pdxmatts View Post
    I used the switch device wizard on the dm and all of my 3rd party apps and themes transfored over. First I hooked up my 8100 and then the 8120 and viola, I had everything on my 8120. Very Cool!

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    How did you do that? I backed up my 8100 before installing the new 8120 and while it did load my adddress book, files, and other things I still didn't get all of the OTA products that I had on my old phone. Now I'm reinstalling Google Maps, Infospace, etc.

  5. #5
    boomboom's Avatar
    boomboom no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    retired
    Posts
    486
    I did the same thing, everything loaded up even some OTA Themes, thou Some Themes will crash your phone and not all apps work, (example Pocketday)

  6. #6
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    Good thread. I should be getting an 8120 tomorrow so I am happy I came across this.


  7. #7
    boomboom's Avatar
    boomboom no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    retired
    Posts
    486
    Quote Originally Posted by EricaJ1073 View Post
    Good thread. I should be getting an 8120 tomorrow so I am happy I came across this.
    If you phone does ever get an error message, just reload the OS.

  8. #8
    tws777's Avatar
    tws777 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    259
    Thanks for the replys. I will give it a try as soon as I get my 8120.

  9. #9
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    I can confirm that when I used the switch device wizard to move from my pearl to my curve the 3rd party apps did transfer (not that I had that many). I was actually quite surprised by how well this all worked, even my BBM contacts had my new PIN without me doing anything at all.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  10. #10
    tws777's Avatar
    tws777 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    259
    I wonder if it will transfer my saved messages and my Memo Pad documents.

  11. #11
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Actually I believe it will. I was surprised to find that my old emails in the in box for the past 30 days appeared on my new device.

    Just don't wipe your old device until you are sure you have everything, as the wizrd does not seem to erase anything from the first device in the process.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  12. #12
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702
    Quote Originally Posted by DrSuha View Post
    How did you do that? I backed up my 8100 before installing the new 8120 and while it did load my adddress book, files, and other things I still didn't get all of the OTA products that I had on my old phone. Now I'm reinstalling Google Maps, Infospace, etc.
    You do not do the backup, you do the switch device wizard, you hook up your 8100 and it copies the data from your phone to the dm and then it will ask you to disconnect your 8100 and hook up your new device to continue, hook it up and then click next. It will transfer the data to the new phone and then thats it. It should all go over plus 3rd party apps.

  13. #13
    DrSuha's Avatar
    DrSuha no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    162
    Quote Originally Posted by pdxmatts View Post
    You do not do the backup, you do the switch device wizard, you hook up your 8100 and it copies the data from your phone to the dm and then it will ask you to disconnect your 8100 and hook up your new device to continue, hook it up and then click next. It will transfer the data to the new phone and then thats it. It should all go over plus 3rd party apps.
    Thanks for the reply. It's too late now but I definitely will remember this next time.

  14. #14
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    Quote Originally Posted by boomboom View Post
    If you phone does ever get an error message, just reload the OS.
    Switch Device worked like a charm. I have all my BB Messenger, Jive Talk, and Yahoo contacts, my saved emails, undeleted old messages, email accounts, settings, apps, etc on my 8120.


  15. #15
    stuart B's Avatar
    stuart B no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    256c5822
    Posts
    407
    One thing to watch out for us the transfer of the memory card. tou may need to copy all on the card to your pc then format the card whilst in your 8120 before reloading the info back onto the card. I know of loads of people that have complained about their new BB keep switching on and off. That's what causes it!

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •