Results 1 to 12 of 12

Let me first confirm, I have the following -BB 8100 -OS 4.2.1.101 -4GB media card ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    Theblackpearler's Avatar
    Theblackpearler no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    6

    4GB media card, revisited

    Advertisement



    Let me first confirm, I have the following

    -BB 8100
    -OS 4.2.1.101
    -4GB media card (inserted properly)

    However, the "Format Card" option does not appear in the menu screen and it says "A media card is not presently inserted in the device".

    Searched for 2 days, and re-installed software. Please help...

    Thanks

  2. #2
    melissaox's Avatar
    melissaox no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,344

    Re: 4GB media card, revisited

    could it be a bad media card - can something else read it?
    Success is not final, Failure is not fatal, it is the courage to continue that matters.
    My Blog , My Flickr

  3. #3
    Theblackpearler's Avatar
    Theblackpearler no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    6

    Re: 4GB media card, revisited

    I'll give it a shot, but wouldn't it at least be recognized?

  4. #4
    evilcaptain's Avatar
    evilcaptain no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    299

    Re: 4GB media card, revisited

    Do you have a card reader that you can check to make sure the card is good on your pc?

  5. #5
    Theblackpearler's Avatar
    Theblackpearler no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    6

    Re: 4GB media card, revisited

    Tried the card with the adaptor into my palm pilot and it also says "no card inserted". Seems like I have a card issue. Not quite sure how that happened though, as this is a brand new card.

  6. #6
    Theblackpearler's Avatar
    Theblackpearler no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    6

    Re: 4GB media card, revisited

    I just had a thought... anybody know if the fact that it is a micro SDHC card would change anything? My guess is probably not, but you never know.

  7. #7
    Theblackpearler's Avatar
    Theblackpearler no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    6

    Re: 4GB media card, revisited

    Follow-up: Exchenged the card at best buy for a new one. SDHC does work!

  8. #8
    ljbyar's Avatar
    ljbyar no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    7,818

    Re: 4GB media card, revisited

    Thanks for the follow up BP. Good to know. I may get a 4GB too!

  9. #9
    qemarbaz's Avatar
    qemarbaz no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: 4GB media card, revisited

    Hello.
    I got a 4Gb MicroSD and my 8100 does not read it. I get the "A media card is not presently inserted in the device" message.

    Did it work for you Blackpearler?

  10. #10
    BillyBuff's Avatar
    BillyBuff no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    12

    Re: 4GB media card, revisited

    I've got a 4GB MicroSD card on my 8100 and it worked fine.

    I formatted the card on my PC first to "clean" it.
    Then I turned off the phone, removed the battery and inserted it into my Pearl.
    I turned it back on and made sure the Media Card Support in set to "On" as well as the Mass Storage Mode Support is "On" too.

    Now I can take Large sized photos without clogging up my memory!

  11. #11
    delias_007's Avatar
    delias_007 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    24

    Question Re: 4GB media card, revisited

    Quote Originally Posted by qemarbaz
    Hello.
    I got a 4Gb MicroSD and my 8100 does not read it. I get the "A media card is not presently inserted in the device" message.

    Did it work for you Blackpearler?
    Try to adjust the memory gate correctly, it happened to me before.

    Now, what OS has your BB?

  12. #12
    Jenn82's Avatar
    Jenn82 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    10

    Re: 4GB media card, revisited

    I have a micro SDHC 4 gig.... and i love it. Never had no problems.... just might have to go to your options... and then advance options. select media card, and hit menu button and hit format.

    Because you can format it on your phone ^^
    Last edited by Jenn82; 10-10-2007 at 11:59 PM. Reason: Automerged.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •