Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

I'm on T-Mobile, and I got a 4.5 beta from Blackberry's website. What are the ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    red_5's Avatar
    red_5 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    93

    4.5 Questions?

    Advertisement



    I'm on T-Mobile, and I got a 4.5 beta from Blackberry's website. What are the risks of installing the 4.5 os to my phone? Are there bugs I should know about? Will it screw up my connectivity with my network (text/picture messaging)?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Hey red! Welcome to PinStack!

    If you got it from a BlackBerry web site, the OS is NOT a beta. Are you talking about the Desktop Manager software by chance?

    Upgrading your OS should not screw up anything, but if you can provide a little more information about yourself (and set that up in your profile), it would help us in answering your questions and resolving any issues you might have.

    Thanks,
    Roger

  3. #3
    beeshabo's Avatar
    beeshabo no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,397
    Agreed!! and welcome...

    We need a little more info to assist you better!

  4. #4
    red_5's Avatar
    red_5 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    93
    Profile updated!

    And I downloaded the Desktop Manager from the blackberry software page and chose Blackberry Desktop Software 4.5 from the drop down list. It won't let me post a link.

  5. #5
    PapaMag's Avatar
    PapaMag no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    PIN/ID
    Nadda
    Posts
    5,722
    I'm on tmo had a few issues with my faves that's working now all is well and my curve is in the mail yeah

    Samsung Galaxy S4
    Asus Nexus 7
    Nook Color







  6. #6
    TorturedNacho's Avatar
    TorturedNacho no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    PIN/ID
    208EB87C
    Posts
    684
    I've got 4.5.0.55 and I love it. Only complain I've got is loading pictures sometimes clocks my phone.battery pull atleast once a week. And when I reboot it turns suretype on. Other then that its a beautiful thing!~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by red_5 View Post
    Profile updated!

    And I downloaded the Desktop Manager from the blackberry software page and chose Blackberry Desktop Software 4.5 from the drop down list. It won't let me post a link.
    No link necessary, red. 4.5 is widely available and most people already have it.

    You are at Stack Level 1. You need to be a 2 in order to post links to the forum.

    Please read the following thread to learn the ropes of PinStack:

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com/firstvisit.php

  8. #8
    red_5's Avatar
    red_5 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    93
    K, so from what I've gathered, I should be fine. I'm just worried about my apps and address book. I've backed up my device and am updating now. I'll let you know how it goes.

  9. #9
    red_5's Avatar
    red_5 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    93
    Hisssssss.... I installed the 4.5 thingy, ran the apploader, and it quit in the middle of reloading my apps to my phone and now my phone gives me an error 507. And I can't recover it.

  10. #10
    Lavagirl's Avatar
    Lavagirl no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    AoleLava
    Posts
    10,877
    ^^Error 507 means you have no OS installed. Try the process again and leave it connected and be patient, it takes a long time and sometimes more than one attempt.

  11. #11
    red_5's Avatar
    red_5 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    93
    I did it four times. It failed every time at the part where it loads back onto the device.

  12. #12
    Lavagirl's Avatar
    Lavagirl no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    AoleLava
    Posts
    10,877
    You're running DM 4.5? Try uninstalling that and do your OS install with DM 4.3 instead. I've heard some have issues with DM 4.5 installing OS 4.5.
    I'm on DM 4.3 and had no issues during my recent OS 4.5 install.
    Also make sure you have the correct OS for your device Here.

  13. #13
    red_5's Avatar
    red_5 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    93
    Now that you mention, I was using the DM that came with the CD from T-Mobile. Is that a problem?

  14. #14
    Lavagirl's Avatar
    Lavagirl no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    AoleLava
    Posts
    10,877
    Try This link. Select v4.3 from the dropdown menu.
    Be sure to uninstall the 4.5 version from your PC first using Add/Remove programs.

  15. #15
    red_5's Avatar
    red_5 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    93
    Will it let me install 4.5 os to my phone? Other than the correct DM version, I have followed the exact steps used by other people on this forum to get 4.5 on their T-Mobile 8100.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •