Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

i have xm radio already- will they just change my account so that i am ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    ItsNowOrNever's Avatar
    ItsNowOrNever no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30485184
    Posts
    2,994

    xm radio question

    Advertisement



    i have xm radio already- will they just change my account so that i am only paying for the account on my phone?

  2. #2
    cliffr39's Avatar
    cliffr39 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    317ASKME
    Posts
    3,064

    Re: xm radio question

    I assume you are talking about you have XM radio service and would like to use the XM radio app for the Curve. I believe you will have to pay for both. The XM radio service for the receivers, and the app has it's own fee for using their "service". Does that application have you log into your XM account to listen?
    ~A BlackBerry without a data plan is just a berry without the crack.~
    Links to common questions.

  3. #3
    userlan667's Avatar
    userlan667 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    57

    Re: xm radio question

    Actually the XM radio on your BB 8300 is trough AT&T and not XM. You will have to pay the $10 a month to AT&T on top of what ever you are paying to XM.

  4. #4
    ItsNowOrNever's Avatar
    ItsNowOrNever no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30485184
    Posts
    2,994

    Re: xm radio question

    GOTCHA! Thank you!

  5. #5
    twillingham's Avatar
    twillingham no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    240C83A8
    Posts
    126

    Re: xm radio question

    I have tried to get XM to stream sometimes it wont connect when it does the music is not streaming. It is choppy. I am assuming you have 8300 and your music cant be playing constantly or is it. My stream constantly breaks. It broke so long one time the next song was playing when it returned. If your listening what's your trick

    I was told by someone who is pretty savvy and he said its a crock Edge will never run fast enough to support that. Truth or fiction

  6. #6
    userlan667's Avatar
    userlan667 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    57

    Re: xm radio question

    This does not work with the BB but I thought I would just though this in while we are talking about XM. If you have a phone that supports streaming WMA music though the web browser (like a Windows Mobile phone) you can go to http://xstreamxm.com/mobile/ and get it on your mobile phone by using your data connection.

  7. #7
    ItsNowOrNever's Avatar
    ItsNowOrNever no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30485184
    Posts
    2,994

    Re: xm radio question

    its choppy sometimes. usually if i dont move the phone it works! LOL!

  8. #8
    mrnrandazzo's Avatar
    mrnrandazzo no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    75
    Best when staying still. I'm hoping this kink will be worked out sometime soon. After all we are payin 10 bucks a month for the damn thing LOL!!!

  9. #9
    PacketRat's Avatar
    PacketRat no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    26267461
    Posts
    374

    Re: xm radio question

    I cant get it to work. Everytime it prompts me for access it locks up.
    -------
    PacketRat
    8330,8900,9630
    258CDFE8




  10. #10
    userlan667's Avatar
    userlan667 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    57

    Re: xm radio question

    Ya, its not to good. It cuts out and catches a lot. Defiantly not worth the $10

  11. #11
    ibanyan's Avatar
    ibanyan no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    PIN/ID
    24222F96
    Posts
    51

    Re: xm radio question

    The trick is to first change the app permissions to allow it to change the device settings. Then it won't need to prompt you. If it prompts it does hang on my 8300 too. Changing the app permissions first before you run it is the key.

    I think the changes its making is to increase the buffer size. EDGE is slow-sh, but remember there are always buffers. Even the XM in my car buffers. You can tell when you drive slowly or quickly through an obstruction.
    Craig Johnston
    --------------
    My book "Professional BlackBerry":
    http://tinyurl.com/gyqvz
    Mobile Computing Authority Podcast:
    http://mca.libsyn.com

  12. #12
    johnnywhojr's Avatar
    johnnywhojr no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    206B9510
    Posts
    72

    Re: xm radio question

    where can one find this XM app?
    JohhnyWhoJr

    "Proud owner of the 8110"

  13. #13
    ItsNowOrNever's Avatar
    ItsNowOrNever no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30485184
    Posts
    2,994

    Re: xm radio question

    If you are a cingular customer, it came with the phone.

  14. #14
    johnnywhojr's Avatar
    johnnywhojr no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    206B9510
    Posts
    72

    Re: xm radio question

    Quote Originally Posted by sashadelgado
    If you are a cingular customer, it came with the phone.
    is there no other way to get this app?
    JohhnyWhoJr

    "Proud owner of the 8110"

  15. #15
    Flashman's Avatar
    Flashman no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    168

    Re: xm radio question

    Quote Originally Posted by johnnywhojr
    is there no other way to get this app?
    I'm pretty sure it is not just an app, but also a service. It has to stream through a web server, and it probably uses a special Cingular server to do that.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •