Results 1 to 6 of 6

So it is my understanding that TMO is actively testing 3G in New York and ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    speddiek's Avatar
    speddiek no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    23F2AO68
    Posts
    102

    Question Will 8330 work on TMo's 3G

    Advertisement



    So it is my understanding that TMO is actively testing 3G in New York and other metropolitan areas... Being from around Chicago... the possibility of 3G blackberries on TMO is thrilling... tethering and all... does anyone know if an unlocked 8330 would be compatible with TMO?... contract is up in a few months and am researching options... the Bold probably won't be out in time for me get a device upgrade... so my next best bet is a curve... i have the 8800 and have realized how much i missed my camera on my pearl... and since i bought a stand alone gps... am looking for faster browsers speeds... 8320 wifi or 8330 3G would be ideal...

  2. #2
    BenMarvin's Avatar
    BenMarvin no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    1,970
    No, the 8330 is a CDMA only phone, it is not compatible with TMobile which is GSM-based. The Bold will be the first Blackberry from TMobile to support 3G.

  3. #3
    jkai2188's Avatar
    jkai2188 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    752
    the 9000 wont even work on tmos network because it uses 2100mHz and tmos 3g is 1700mHz i believe... someone correct me if im wrong, but i believe thats the deal
    Bold - 5.0.0.93 / 8310 - 4.5.0.81 ---- AT&T
    8330 - 4.5.0.77 ---- Sprint


    Blackberry's are a lifestyle

    jeff.kaiser88@yahoo.com

  4. #4
    BenMarvin's Avatar
    BenMarvin no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    1,970
    Rumors suggest it will either have a radio that will handle both att and tmo frequencies, or tmo will get a special handset just for the 1700 band.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #5
    jkai2188's Avatar
    jkai2188 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    752
    well from what i heard ATT has an exclusive with the bold, kind of like how TMO has one with the kickstart. i'd imagine they wont be interchangeable between the two carriers, unless something happens with TMO's kickstart and they sell it off to another carrier because they cant handle it. lol. just my opinion
    Bold - 5.0.0.93 / 8310 - 4.5.0.81 ---- AT&T
    8330 - 4.5.0.77 ---- Sprint


    Blackberry's are a lifestyle

    jeff.kaiser88@yahoo.com

  6. #6
    HeavyComponent's Avatar
    HeavyComponent no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    TP2 :D
    Posts
    2,557
    They know what they are doing, everything will work out fine. They're going to change things up to make things work. They better, T-Mobile that is.

    ---
    Any questions/problems with your Curve 8320 feel free to contact me via E-mail. heavycomponent@tmo.blackberry.net

    --HeavyC.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •