Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 31

The only way to save MONEY on minutes with wifi is to use the UMA ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #16
    bofeity's Avatar
    bofeity no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    101

    Advertisement



    The only way to save MONEY on minutes with wifi is to use the UMA which requires h@h correct?

  2. #17
    chatster18's Avatar
    chatster18 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    1,121
    Yes, but sprint is planning a release like h@h... ..hopefully soon!
    it's always greener with the other carrier...

  3. #18
    flash24's Avatar
    flash24 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3319688f
    Posts
    4,063
    Quote Originally Posted by bofeity View Post
    The only way to save MONEY on minutes with wifi is to use the UMA which requires h@h correct?
    Yup and tmobile has it for $9.99

  4. #19
    swe_tawk's Avatar
    swe_tawk no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    210d17b3
    Posts
    54
    Quote Originally Posted by flash24 View Post
    No pearl as of yet has wifi capabilities.
    actually pearl 8120 has built in wifi and is available now

  5. #20
    DocGo's Avatar
    DocGo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM me
    Posts
    173
    Wifi is a money saver for me. I am with Rogers and use an unlocked 8320 to cut down on my data bills. Rogers (Canada) has expensive data plans and the only way I was able to say within my limit was to use wifi.
    8900-user
    DocGo

  6. #21
    MartyS's Avatar
    MartyS no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    23
    I downgraded my 2000 minute package by over $70 by using UMA at work and home for my calls and adding myFaves to our package for the most commonly used non T-Mobile to T-Mobile calls.

    I was using about 1700 minutes before and once I switched to the WiFi we're using about 300 minutes on our package and the rest on non minute charged calls.

    So, it does do some good depending on how you use your phone.

  7. #22
    TechieGirl's Avatar
    TechieGirl no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    694
    I am very happy with the wifi service. I work in a government building in the basement. Absolutely NO Tmo signal but I get our free wi-fi service. Sweet!
    Nikki
    iPhone 4S - work
    Samsung Galaxy SII - personal
    Supporting BB, android and iOs devices at work.

  8. #23
    rand0m's Avatar
    rand0m no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    171
    Quote Originally Posted by fleshka View Post
    ya but if you really want to be able to use programs for the blackberry, they almost all use data and not wifi (gmail, google maps, jivetalk, etc).

    i just dont see the hype about wifi. you can still lay in bed browsing using the data service.
    jivetalk now works w/ wifi.. grab the new 1.05 version and you're good to go!

  9. #24
    azn_skillet's Avatar
    azn_skillet no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    153
    wifi is so sick for me im a college student.. my laptop broke and i use my 8320 to go on msn and chat while my boring prof is yapping away.. and it saves me money on the text msg's when i can just hop on msn

  10. #25
    Encrypt's Avatar
    Encrypt no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    241BC6F6
    Posts
    158
    Quote Originally Posted by azn_skillet View Post
    wifi is so sick for me im a college student.. my laptop broke and i use my 8320 to go on msn and chat while my boring prof is yapping away.. and it saves me money on the text msg's when i can just hop on msn
    I hear that! I'm in concrete buildings everyday so I lose service in most of my classes, just hop on the wifi and have flawless service. Definitely makes the class fly by!

  11. #26
    shadrack2002's Avatar
    shadrack2002 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    248906D0
    Posts
    431
    Quote Originally Posted by flash24 View Post
    No pearl as of yet has wifi capabilities.
    AT&T have the new 8120(Pearl) with wifi

  12. #27
    untjoker's Avatar
    untjoker no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    405
    Quote Originally Posted by flash24 View Post
    Yup and tmobile has it for $9.99

    Tmo is on a RAMPAGE. Freaking going to be in Canada and undercut Rogers, and rolling out $10 unlimited home telephone only for Tmo customers....When the Xperia1 drops their stock will skyrocket....they're just good businessmen. They hold their own without even having a 3G US Network, once they roll out 3G it's over.
    Yes, I've been diagnosed with Phantom Vibration Disorder.....

  13. #28
    TKING00's Avatar
    TKING00 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    9
    HERE IS THE POINT OF WIFI:

    Recent trip to Cozumel, can't use the roaming on the celly because it will cost me a fortune. Solution? WIFI.
    How? Turn off your mobile network while overseas (manage connections). Connect to any WIFI network (most cafes/hotels/etc), and make your calls to the US/Get your emails/chat over google/aim, browse internet, and do it all as though you were in the US.
    It only affects your account as though you are calling from your home location. In other words, you can be half a world away, call from wifi, and not be charged anything other than standard rates AND IT SHOWS YOU CALLING FROM YOUR NORMAL CELL NUMBER. And for anyone living in the country, or anywhere they don't get a decent cell signal in their house, WIFI is invaluable.

    WIFI > GPS*99

    If the connection is bad, you may experience a little bit of "chop" during your calls. But it's soooo much better than paying $1.99/min while traveling...

  14. #29
    kaihawki's Avatar
    kaihawki no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    2

    WiFi Call for Canada BB 8320 User

    Hey Guys,

    I am in Canada and I have a TMO 8320. I do not fully understand how to use UMA, or if I can being a Rogers customer. However, I do get WiFi no problem. Is there a way I can use Skype, Vonage or some other WiFi connection to make phone calls.

    Any help would be great.

    Thanks,

    kaihawki

  15. #30
    stuart B's Avatar
    stuart B no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    256c5822
    Posts
    407
    Latest jivetalk uses wifi, surfing the net wifi, pinstack viewing, replying wifi, sending and receiving mail wifi, downloading most software wifi.
    The speed compared to edge is massive. So in reply, yes the benifits are great!
    Now if you were talking about GPS? Other the direction which now can be obtained without GPS what's the benifit?
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •