Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

So my phone connected to my home network no problem. When I try to connect ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    miller710's Avatar
    miller710 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    25

    wifi

    Advertisement



    So my phone connected to my home network no problem. When I try to connect my wifes 8520 the phone gives me a code to type into the router. There is no keypad on the router. Was mine easy cuz I used the wizard and with hers I just searched for a connection?

  2. #2
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by miller710 View Post
    So my phone connected to my home network no problem. When I try to connect my wifes 8520 the phone gives me a code to type into the router. There is no keypad on the router. Was mine easy cuz I used the wizard and with hers I just searched for a connection?
    I don't think so. I've done this (at home) with 8120, 8320 and 8900 - don't know why the 8520 would be different. When you search for a wi-fi location it should display all the wi-fi spots that it locates and give you the option to select/connect with any one of them. Then if the one you select has security, you should get the option to key in the code and connect. Could you have a setting wrong on the 8520 - can't imagine what that would be either but it might have a newer feature that's getting in the way.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  3. #3
    SeRViiCiiO's Avatar
    SeRViiCiiO no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1,119
    the 8520 shouldnt be any different than the 8900 and the 8120 when it comes to connecting to wifi-
    if the router that you are trying to connect has a key, you would have to input that key
    Phone: T-Mo S4- Stock-Rooted


    [Former]
    Device: T-Mobile S3
    Device: HTC Amaze 4G
    Device: HTC Vision (T-Mobile G2)
    Device: BlackBerry (9700, 8900,8320,8120,8100)

  4. #4
    miller710's Avatar
    miller710 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    25
    The wife and I both have the 8520. Mine connected with no prob. Hers gives me a code to input into tje router. Yhis is not a tmo router. Does the tmo router require you to input a code into the routert?

  5. #5
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by miller710 View Post
    The wife and I both have the 8520. Mine connected with no prob. Hers gives me a code to input into tje router. Yhis is not a tmo router. Does the tmo router require you to input a code into the routert?
    I don't think so but not sure. Mine's an old 2wire from AT&T so it's certainly not the current technology.

    Any user out there with t-mo router using it for wi-fi able to answer the question?
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  6. #6
    miller710's Avatar
    miller710 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    25
    disrguard. I figured it out. There was an option to create a pin or not. I didnt see the option not to create it. LOL. Well both phones are now connected to my home wifi network. Thanks for the help

  7. #7
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Good, Miller. Glad you got it figured out.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  8. #8
    miller710's Avatar
    miller710 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    25
    Yeah I had to scroll down. Lol. Does n e one use hot spots @ home? We get enough minutes and free nights and weekends so it just doesn't seem cost effective.

  9. #9
    MStrawder's Avatar
    MStrawder no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    1,825
    I have the T-Mo router because I use their home phone service. Can't beat it for $10. It's a nice little device because when I connect my BB to it, I press a single button on the side of the router and it syncs itself up securely.
    "Our greatest fear is not that we are inadequate, but that we are powerful beyond measure" ~ Marianne Williamson
    Current OS list by device
    How to upgrade your OS

  10. #10
    miller710's Avatar
    miller710 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    25
    My router has that secure button too. We have enough minutes that the ten a month would not be worth it. Is it ten per line? We use vonage for our house phone right now.

  11. #11
    Optimus's Avatar
    Optimus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    203
    ok, so i'm not that pc savvy and i run the setup wizard on my pc and the device and i still can't get it to find my wireless router after i scan for it, i never had a need to share my connection up until now. if i can get this to work i won't have a need for a data plan...any pointers?

  12. #12
    Optimus's Avatar
    Optimus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    203
    anyone? bueller?...slow pinstack update.
    Last edited by Optimus; 05-29-2010 at 04:34 PM. Reason: double post.

  13. #13
    Optimus's Avatar
    Optimus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    203

    Question

    anyone? anyone? bueller?

  14. #14
    Optimus's Avatar
    Optimus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    203
    nevermind; i figured it out.

  15. #15
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Optimus - what was the answer. Please post if it could help other members.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •