Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 38

Hey everyone... I'm about to upgrade some of my BB users from the 8310 to ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    Gman1108's Avatar
    Gman1108 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just ask
    Posts
    244

    What do you use your Wi-Fi for...?

    Advertisement



    Hey everyone...

    I'm about to upgrade some of my BB users from the 8310 to the 8900 and Bold, I'll be getting the 8900 myself.

    I'm happy with the features, but just wanted your ideas as to what more I could use the Wi-Fi for.

    I know I can connect to wireless access points/routers and browse the Internet instead of using my carriers connection, but i'm interested in how you guys make use of the Wi-Fi...maybe you use a clever app like skype to get free/cheap calls? Maybe you roam onto the office network phone system, that's something I'm looking into quite a lot.

    Whatever you do, I'd be interested in hearing how you get the most out of wi-fi.

    Thanks..

  2. #2
    PacketRat's Avatar
    PacketRat no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    26267461
    Posts
    374
    My company recommends and supports Verizon due to cheaper plans, but I went with the T-Mobile 8900 due to wifi. My location in the building has very poor cell service for any provider so being on wifi here at work is a huge plus. I never have problems getting calls or data.
    -------
    PacketRat
    8330,8900,9630
    258CDFE8




  3. #3
    melissaox's Avatar
    melissaox no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,344
    the best part about wifi is just like PacketRat said. It doesn't matter the signal strength of the wireless signal as long as you have Wifi
    Success is not final, Failure is not fatal, it is the courage to continue that matters.
    My Blog , My Flickr

  4. #4
    Gman1108's Avatar
    Gman1108 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just ask
    Posts
    244
    So how do you guys make and receive calls over the wifi connection?

    This is the kinda stuff I'm interested in.

    Do you need to use a specific applicaion, how do you get it to work?

    Thanks.
    ~via smartphone wap.pinstack.com~

  5. #5
    Dabbill's Avatar
    Dabbill no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ADC49A
    Posts
    90
    Don't need any special app. The 8900 can do it with any wifi connection. Only thing you have to add extra to your plan is t-mobile hotspot access if you want to use their hotspots in like Starbucks, but other then that its free.

  6. #6
    uberspeed's Avatar
    uberspeed no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    24aa4e29
    Posts
    154
    I use it for UMA and it works like a charm. One of the main things I was looking forward to on TMo.
    Facebook
    MySpace
    Personal: 8900 4.6.1.250
    Work: 8330 4.5.0.160

  7. #7
    JCG3's Avatar
    JCG3 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    306
    if you want skype... i would research IM+Skype....

  8. #8
    tfrankson's Avatar
    tfrankson no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    2845FBAD
    Posts
    968
    I'm currently just using mines for web browsing.

  9. #9
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702
    I use it for free minutes while on UMA. I pay for TMO's hotspot and while I'm on UMA (wifi) my calls are free unlimited. Also loads my web pages faster than on edge and gives me good reception. Love Wifi...

  10. #10
    drew4flt72's Avatar
    drew4flt72 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    520
    Quote Originally Posted by uberspeed View Post
    I use it for UMA and it works like a charm. One of the main things I was looking forward to on TMo.
    I can't agree more. AWESOME feature. I no longer have to worry about those stupid "Searching for network" messages that would pop up just as I'm sending a Facebook message or something. It was just annoying.

  11. #11
    furtive's Avatar
    furtive no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    7a47e9f3
    Posts
    400
    I use it for augmenting signal when I'm at home and when I'm overseas and can take advantage of a wifi hotspot to call home versus pay for roaming (I'm going to Russia and Mongolia soon, and it's $5/min to roam natively - sucks)

  12. #12
    Gman1108's Avatar
    Gman1108 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just ask
    Posts
    244
    Thanks all for the tips.

    Can anyone tell exactly how you use the wifi to make and receive calls?
    ~via smartphone wap.pinstack.com~

  13. #13
    Sirthinks's Avatar
    Sirthinks no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    2831A313
    Posts
    1,569
    On the 8900 it is automatic. When you are connected to wifi it switches to UMA mode. You just make calls as you would normally.

    The Bold doesn't have this capability.
    If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe. - Carl Sagan

  14. #14
    JeffNNJ's Avatar
    JeffNNJ no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    193
    You learn something new everyday. I used my 8320's wifi at a friend's house and could only get data. Guess I will have to try again with calls. Thanks!

  15. #15
    jekko1's Avatar
    jekko1 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    101
    If you dont pay for tmobiles hot spots every month but have access to wifi are the calls still free or is it only free when you pay for tmobiles hot spot services
    ?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •