Results 1 to 6 of 6

I was looking at my friends 8300. I tried using the voice dialing key but ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    Americanista's Avatar
    Americanista no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    65

    voice dialing question

    Advertisement



    I was looking at my friends 8300. I tried using the voice dialing key but got a prompt saying that if i wanted to use it that there would be additional charges for it. something about a PPS. I thought that was for voice dialing or am i wrong? he has a data plan through AT&T so can someone please answer me this. thanks.

  2. #2
    Sprung's Avatar
    Sprung no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    304D032C
    Posts
    76

    Re: voice dialing question

    Sounds like Push To Talk (PTT) not voice dialing. If you hit the key on the left side of the Curve, thats PTT.
    NEW STORM on VZW, OLD: 8310 ,8300, 7130E

  3. #3
    Americanista's Avatar
    Americanista no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    65

    Re: voice dialing question

    ok, whats that do compared to voice dialing? i have a 8100 and that key is for voice dialing. ... thanks.
    why would they charge extra for a feature the phone should come with? thanks

  4. #4
    dtx's Avatar
    dtx
    dtx no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    207B3A96
    Posts
    640

    Re: voice dialing question

    --
    DTx
    PIN: 207B3A96
    Bold 9000
    Rogers BIS
    OS 4.6.0.150


  5. #5
    Sprung's Avatar
    Sprung no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    304D032C
    Posts
    76

    Re: voice dialing question

    Push to Talk is like the Nextel Chirp. It IS an extra charge feature. Voice dialing is accessed through the menu, and is free. You can re-assign that button to be voice dial, like I did on mine. It's in your Options menue to change the functions of the convienence button.
    NEW STORM on VZW, OLD: 8310 ,8300, 7130E

  6. #6
    Americanista's Avatar
    Americanista no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    65

    Re: voice dialing question

    ohhhhh, thanks for the help everyone. i'll let my friend know about this. I also gave him the address for the site so you'll have a new 8300 stacker
    well if its like nextel's system do other 8300 users need to have that plan activated in order to communicate with the PTT?

    edit* my friend just told me that he can only use PTT with other subscribed users only. :|
    Last edited by Americanista; 08-30-2007 at 03:40 AM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •