I'm a bit new to this so I will try and detail the problem as ... BlackBerry Curve forum

cnordb01 no está en línea Stack level 1

Vodafone 8300 and TCP/IP problem

Advertisement

I'm a bit new to this so I will try and detail the problem as much as I can.

3rd party applications are receiving network failed errors.
    GMail can't get connectivity
    GMaps can't get connectivity
    MovaMail and iMobileMail fail on connectivity
    OperaMini connects

Blackberry 8300 OS version 4.2.2.78 Platform 2.4.0.31
    Carrier: Og Vodafone (Vodafone Iceland)
    Device purchased from Vodafone UK and unlocked
    BES is 4.x with MDS disabled
    TCP APN set to gprs.is (OG Vodafone's GPRS APN for WM and Symbian devices)
    Vodafone's technical support has been no help
    Service books have been pushed twice

What does work. Blackberry WAP browser, BIS and BES email, OperaMini (after a service book push) and Shapeservices IM+

Any ideas why the TCP/IP via the GPRS APN is failing? Would upgrading to the new Rogers firmware help or am I dealing with a carrier issue?

Thanks for the help.

sinkers no está en línea Stack level 3

Re: Vodafone 8300 and TCP/IP problem

Quote Originally Posted by cnordb01
    Any ideas why the TCP/IP via the GPRS APN is failing? Would upgrading to the new Rogers firmware help or am I dealing with a carrier issue?

Thanks for the help.
    I am on Vodafone (UK) and my TCP/IP settings are:

APN: Internet
    Username: web
    Password: web

See if that does the trick
    -----------------------------------------------------------
    OS upgrades are phone dependent NOT carrier dependent

I have the TCP APN settings correct and applications that I can tell to use TCP (like JiveTalk) work fine. It is applications like Gmail, Gmaps, MovaMail etc that do their own data connectivity in the background that are failing.