Results 1 to 8 of 8

Running bb maps 1.2 with a Verizon curve 8330 4.5.97 and I can't get the ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    pip611's Avatar
    pip611 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    23

    Verizon GPS Problem with bb maps

    Advertisement



    Running bb maps 1.2 with a Verizon curve 8330 4.5.97 and I can't get the GPS working. It just says searching for satellites and never finds any. I've tried this outdoors and still no good. Any thoughts?

  2. #2
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Are you using Telenav or some other plan with the GPS. Verizon may have the GPS locked if you're not. In other words, I think you have to pay the $10/mo for the GPS feature to be unlocked.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  3. #3
    pip611's Avatar
    pip611 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by jblackfish View Post
    Are you using Telenav or some other plan with the GPS. Verizon may have the GPS locked if you're not. In other words, I think you have to pay the $10/mo for the GPS feature to be unlocked.
    they just unlocked it about a week ago so it's free now.

  4. #4
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    I'm with Alltel (8330) and had some trouble getting my GPS going the 1st time. I don't remember anything I did to get it to work except I just kept trying and eventually it did. I even went into the middle of my street where I had a clear sky path (lots of trees here) trying it.

    If you try it in several locations without success I'd take it back to the Verizon store and go out in the parking lot with a rep and demonstrate that it doesn't work. (Going to all that trouble will SURELY get it working and you'll be embarrassed and they'll think you are a kook...but it'll be working. )
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  5. #5
    pshift's Avatar
    pshift no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    97
    I did a reset the 1st time (after selecting the device GPS), and from then on, it works great.

  6. #6
    mondouxd's Avatar
    mondouxd no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    19
    Did you turn "location on" in the gps advanced options? ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    hazzmatte's Avatar
    hazzmatte no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    67
    Need help here on a Verizon 8830 Curve.

    When someone sends me thier location through blackberry messanger is comes up as a link to BB web site. It does not show the senders location.

    Doing the same thng on a storm it will show on a map where the sender is.

    Anything on this would be appreciated.

  8. #8
    tdldoorman's Avatar
    tdldoorman no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~my curve gps worked great for about a week but now it just keeps searching for sattelites. I pulled the battery and no better. Help

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •