Results 1 to 12 of 12

Hi all- Just got the Curve a week ago on Verizon. Anyone know if there ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    stumpf2000@yaho's Avatar
    stumpf2000@yaho no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    3

    Verizon Curve 8330 GPS

    Advertisement



    Hi all-

    Just got the Curve a week ago on Verizon. Anyone know if there is work being done out there to enable the GPS? It would be a really great thing if Verizon actually let us use all the features of the phones we bought.

    Any and all ideas or links would be appreicated.

    Thanks all!

  2. #2
    Jbee's Avatar
    Jbee no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    3047D925
    Posts
    1,859

  3. #3
    stumpf2000@yaho's Avatar
    stumpf2000@yaho no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    3
    Thanks for the info!!!

  4. #4
    rollout369's Avatar
    rollout369 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    31931629
    Posts
    1
    Based on past history Verizon will keep this locked in the hopes of separating us from some more money each month. I've found that it's a trade-off with Verizon--they have the best network (where I live and where I travel) but they're forever disabling features on their phones.

  5. #5
    stumpf2000@yaho's Avatar
    stumpf2000@yaho no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    3
    Yeah, that is kinda where my gut is going as well. Hopefully even if they do not, someone will discover a way to hack into the device and enable it. Since GPS recievers should not go through the network, but actually pick up a signal from satellites, I am hopeful!

  6. #6
    tafaghodi's Avatar
    tafaghodi no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    108
    Quote Originally Posted by stumpf2000@yaho View Post
    Yeah, that is kinda where my gut is going as well. Hopefully even if they do not, someone will discover a way to hack into the device and enable it. Since GPS recievers should not go through the network, but actually pick up a signal from satellites, I am hopeful!
    Blackberries do not have gps receivers they have aGPs receivers. They do go through the network for confermations. The gps will not work without the network

  7. #7
    BryanSE79's Avatar
    BryanSE79 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    PIN/ID
    304CDF5D
    Posts
    922
    I know its not a great workaround, but, if you put vz nav on your account, load up the program, go to "follow me", you can then load up any gps program. I have gotten google maps as well as live search to work.

  8. #8
    ItsNowOrNever's Avatar
    ItsNowOrNever no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30485184
    Posts
    2,994
    I have found that the best programs for GPS are the ones you pay for---the others are severly lacking in organization of the UI....might as well pay for it.
    Color---it's nothing but a hue of the rainbow...why do people place such importance in it?

  9. #9
    BryanSE79's Avatar
    BryanSE79 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    PIN/ID
    304CDF5D
    Posts
    922
    Quote Originally Posted by ItsNowOrNever View Post
    I have found that the best programs for GPS are the ones you pay for---the others are severly lacking in organization of the UI....might as well pay for it.
    I cant agree more. Even if verizon didnt disable aGPS for third-party software, i'd still pay for vz navigator. Its an amazing program that works 100 percent of the time.

  10. #10
    aalqadaffi's Avatar
    aalqadaffi no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    31B21B7B
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by stumpf2000@yaho View Post
    Hi all-

    Just got the Curve a week ago on Verizon. Anyone know if there is work being done out there to enable the GPS? It would be a really great thing if Verizon actually let us use all the features of the phones we bought.

    Any and all ideas or links would be appreicated.

    Thanks all!
    GPS is enabled on mine. I pay $10 a month for it. It's called VZ Navigator and it works amazingly well.
    BlackBerry 8830, BlackBerry 8130, BlackBerry 8330
    Nokia N71
    getatthekid.com
    myspace.com/ohsocute

  11. #11
    Medic's Avatar
    Medic no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    Stack
    Posts
    466
    i spoke with a respectable rep who works for the coding dept of verizons blackberry dept and he told me they are working diligently on the new vz navigator 4.0 for the blackberry. it will have 3d mapping as well as detour routes for construction and accidents as well as searching the area for the cheapest gas prices
    Sorrow is tranquility remembered in emotion.

  12. #12
    Jbee's Avatar
    Jbee no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    3047D925
    Posts
    1,859
    I don't mind paying for a service that works, but why does VZW have to disable it to all 3rd party prgms? Maybe greed? It's not because of safety and security, our BB's already offer that without VZW. I told that to a At&T rep today and he could not believe that VZW disables GPS on a GPS-Enabled phone. (Yes, I told him the whole story...I think he will have a little sales edge from now and until VZW gets their act together.)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •