Results 1 to 12 of 12

Hey there, just bought a phone from a store and its unlocked/unbranded. I was installing ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    darryl71's Avatar
    darryl71 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    retired
    Posts
    716

    Question Vendor Code 1

    Advertisement




    Hey there, just bought a phone from a store and its unlocked/unbranded. I was installing a new software version and was putting in what i thought my vendor code was and didn't get all the themes.

    So.. I did the ALT Caps H and found out my code is 1.

    Does anyone know if there are limitations or anything that is better about this phone ??

    Next question.. now that I have fixed the code to all the themes, how do I get App Loader to reload the blackberry.alx file ?

    thx !!!

    EDIT... obviously not a vendor provider store
    Last edited by darryl71; 04-28-2008 at 05:06 PM. Reason: nobody ??

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    darryl

    In order to re-load the blackberry.alx file edited to unlock themes, you either need to be upgrading or downgrading your device software. I do not believe it is possible to reload the alx file for a operating system that is currently installed.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    DCookSta's Avatar
    DCookSta no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    312C4157
    Posts
    2,331
    You should be able to change your .alx files at any time. Just make your changes, save the file, and load the desktop manager. It should pick up your changes. I'm not sure about your vendor code though.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #4
    darryl71's Avatar
    darryl71 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    retired
    Posts
    716
    I have made changes to the file, and resaved it to the folder, and check the App loader through DM but it didn't pick up the changes. Is there anyway to FORCE it to reload the file?

    thx

  5. #5
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Sorry, but I believe my initial post was correct. Once the OS is installed I do not believe you can load the edited file. What operating system are you currently running?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  6. #6
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    I just curious if you you changed the vendor codes to just reflect you code if that would help initialize it. Also did you delete the vendor file?

    If you changed anything in the blackberry file it should know there has been a modification.

    Although since your vendor code is quite different from normal I'm not sure how it will react.

  7. #7
    darryl71's Avatar
    darryl71 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    retired
    Posts
    716
    version 8310 4.2.2.170 which I think is the newest... less 4.5 beta.

    I have deleted the vendor file before upgrading to this version. I added the wrong vendor code the first time, so trying to get it to recognize the changes to the file...which its not for some reason... damn....

  8. #8
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907
    Actually the latest is .184 for the 8310 maybe update and then change the files as needed and then maybe it will recognize the .alx file.

    As stated by previously though, if you at all altered the .alx file your desktop manager should recognize that and initialize the alterations.

    Not sure what to tell you.

  9. #9
    lexo's Avatar
    lexo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    259
    O.K. here it goes
    First, copy the blackberry.alx file anywhere u wish.
    Then, open it and modify it(to unlock themes) in the notepad application on windows-this is where you put your vendor # in the themes you want!
    Next, move the original blackberry.alx file to a safe location just in case!
    Now, insert the modified blackberry.alx file in the original location(programfiles/commonfiles/researchinmotion/shared/loaderfiles/device os)
    close everything, open desktop manager and plug in your device.It should ask if you want to upgrade click yes and thats it, well hope this helps it shure helped me because the original file can't be modified(don't know why)you have to copy it. All this was learned here on Pinstack!

  10. #10
    darryl71's Avatar
    darryl71 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    retired
    Posts
    716
    Good Info. I just found another way to enabled all the themes without going through the DM.

    By using Javaloader.exe you can send the .cod files of the theses to the device
    "javaloader -usb load [theme file name].cod"

    search for the thread using "(including preloaded themes) and you get the thread "-- easiest method for adding/deleting themes (including preloaded themes).

    Takes more time, but it does work quite well.

    darryl

  11. #11
    DCookSta's Avatar
    DCookSta no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    312C4157
    Posts
    2,331
    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    Sorry, but I believe my initial post was correct. Once the OS is installed I do not believe you can load the edited file. What operating system are you currently running?
    Maybe you're thinking of a different file, I've been running my os 4.2 for a while now. As long as the os is installed on my pc, I can go back into my blackberry or platform .alx files and change my vendor codes around to add or delete vendor themes, or install and delete programs. I can do this at any time. After I make my changes, I start the dm and load the app loader, I step through that and at the end it will say new modules to install, or modules to delete. My BB reboots and the new things are there.

  12. #12
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    It seems you are correct, the only time I have unlocked themes I always did it before an upgrade and I would have sworn this was in a thread a few months ago but - you, Red and C2 all agree.......interestingly I edited my blackberry.alx file for the 8320 yesterday to test it and App Loader found nothing it wanted to load for me either.

    Oh well....
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •