Results 1 to 11 of 11

I am connected to the Internet via the data option of the service provider i.e. ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    rahularora's Avatar
    rahularora no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    2573BE5E
    Posts
    20

    Question Using Wi-Fi, How do you detect wi-fi?

    Advertisement



    I am connected to the Internet via the data option of the service provider i.e. EDGE. Also when I switch on wi-fi in my Curve 8900 how do I make sure that whatever browsing I am doing, and emails are downloaded via the wi-fi and not the data transfer option of the service provider????

  2. #2
    blackninja's Avatar
    blackninja no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    spam=no
    Posts
    1,322
    when you choose "manage connections" you'll see "mobile network options". you'll see "connection preference." you can set it accordingly.

  3. #3
    obione's Avatar
    obione no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    24aa759c
    Posts
    236
    but how can you have you phone detect a wifi network, like my laptop. when i am near a wifi, in the bottom right hand corner lets me know i am near some wifi hotspot and i am able to choose. But with my phone i have to always scan, is there a way to auto detect from your phone.

  4. #4
    blackninja's Avatar
    blackninja no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    spam=no
    Posts
    1,322
    not exactly. there is no alert that shows if you are within a wifi area, unless you run the manual scan. your bb is always scanning for a network connection on its own, but only for those that are already included on your list, such as the HotSpot and any other networks you have already added.

    one option is to google a list of the most common router default settings and input them onto your list ("wifi options") and create individual profiles. then if you are within connecting range of any of these default's that do not have a key, you will be automatically connected.

    note: connecting to open networks that you do not have permission to access may be illegal in your state.

  5. #5
    piccopower's Avatar
    piccopower no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    160
    If you have a data plan will it make a diferance if you put it on wifi? Or what exactly does it do?

  6. #6
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907
    Quote Originally Posted by piccopower View Post
    If you have a data plan will it make a diferance if you put it on wifi? Or what exactly does it do?
    It's just a different type of connection. Quite a bit faster than the EDGE setting you get from the carrier. If you have a data plan it doesn't matter which connection you use.

  7. #7
    obione's Avatar
    obione no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    24aa759c
    Posts
    236
    The difference is speed in browsing the internet, talking under a wi-fi connection is clearer and while on a call just like 3G you can receive your emails you don't have to wait until you end the call just to let the emails come in. I prefer wifi I live in NYC so a lot of resturauants and public parks have wifi so I am on it a lot.

  8. #8
    piccopower's Avatar
    piccopower no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    160
    Thank you for clearing that up for me.

  9. #9
    Jaricanese's Avatar
    Jaricanese no está en línea Software Pro
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    902
    Also if you don't have an unlimited data plan, it will help to use WiFi whenever you can so you keep your data plan usage down.

  10. #10
    flyatiger's Avatar
    flyatiger no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    6
    I am just getting used to the 8900 myself..

    Try this.

    Click Manage connections, then Service Status this screen shows you what connection each service is using and it is detailed.

    Hope it helps.



    Quote Originally Posted by rahularora View Post
    I am connected to the Internet via the data option of the service provider i.e. EDGE. Also when I switch on wi-fi in my Curve 8900 how do I make sure that whatever browsing I am doing, and emails are downloaded via the wi-fi and not the data transfer option of the service provider????

  11. #11
    rahularora's Avatar
    rahularora no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    2573BE5E
    Posts
    20
    Thanks so much for the details... Gives me a few ideas. But the probelm is that if I switch off the data network and use only wi-fi the internet does not work. Any clue on this?
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •