Results 1 to 8 of 8

I have read that you can connect to the internet on the computer using the ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    angelarodriguez's Avatar
    angelarodriguez no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    32

    using curve as modem for computer

    Advertisement



    I have read that you can connect to the internet on the computer using the blackberry as a dial up modem. I have the bb unlimited data plan with att, will that cover the usage if I use the curve as a dial up modem? I'm a little confused bc I have also seen some posts saying something about "tethering", and that you need a "tethering" plan. Is "tethering" the same thing as using the curve as a dial up modem? can someone please explain this to me? I don't want to just try it and then get a big bill from att!

  2. #2
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Angel,

    Check out this thread for instructions on how to do it...and yes, tethering is using the BB as a modem to accomplish this.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  3. #3
    angelarodriguez's Avatar
    angelarodriguez no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    32
    Thanks for the link, but it shows 2 different ways and the one I want to use is through the EDGE GPRS dial up connection. Is that still considered "tethering" and will I need an additional plan besides my unlimited bb data plan?

  4. #4
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by angelarodriguez View Post
    Thanks for the link, but it shows 2 different ways and the one I want to use is through the EDGE GPRS dial up connection. Is that still considered "tethering" and will I need an additional plan besides my unlimited bb data plan?
    Post #3 of that thread addresses EDGE type phones. No, your unlimited data plan covers it and yes, that is considered tethering.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  5. #5
    angelarodriguez's Avatar
    angelarodriguez no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    32
    So, I want to make sure I got this right: if I use the intstructions on post #3 for EDGE, my unlimited bb data plan covers it and I won't be charged for tethering? I have seen that there are some posts that say att has a "tethering" plan or something.

  6. #6
    Gman1108's Avatar
    Gman1108 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just ask
    Posts
    244
    Not sure if this will help at all as I'm UK based....

    I managed to get my 8310 working as a modem for my laptop. I did struggle for absolutely weeks until I called my carrier who had to add a couple extras to my data plan.

    Once they did this it came up straight away.

    So, if you find you're struggling, might be worth a call into AT&T.

    Also, my carrier didn't need charge for the extra additions to my account.

    Hope this might help you out.

    Good Luck...

  7. #7
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Angel, You'd check with AT&T to be sure or at least get the 'od" from one of our AT&T users. I'm T-Mobile - I know they don't charge. It doesn't seem like they would - this is all data but you might check to be sure. Let me see if I can find a reference for you.

    Here's a thread that says it's ok on AT&T and no charge...and here's a thread that says they DO charge. Call AT&T to get the straight poop.
    Last edited by jblackfish; 09-01-2008 at 06:20 PM.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  8. #8
    angelarodriguez's Avatar
    angelarodriguez no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    32
    Thanks for all of your information. I finally just called att and they do charge for using the blackberry as a modem, seperate from the unlimited blackberry data plan. They have 2 plans: the $30 blackberry personal plan and the $60 blackberry personal w/tethering plan. So, no, my plan wouldn't cover the data I would be using to connect to the internet from the computer. I'm better off using the blackberry internet on my phone!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •