Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 76

nope RD, haven't even thought about that one...yet i did notice that the platform jumped ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #61
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: Useful: T-Mobile Curve 8320 software 4.2.2.171

    Advertisement



    nope RD, haven't even thought about that one...yet

    i did notice that the platform jumped up from 2.4 to 2.5 in the 4.2.2.171 OS...

  2. #62
    flash24's Avatar
    flash24 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3319688f
    Posts
    4,063

    Re: Useful: T-Mobile Curve 8320 software 4.2.2.171

    Downloading the 81mb now

  3. #63
    melissaox's Avatar
    melissaox no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,344

    Re: Useful: T-Mobile Curve 8320 software 4.2.2.171

    i had no problem downloading the full package here
    Success is not final, Failure is not fatal, it is the courage to continue that matters.
    My Blog , My Flickr

  4. #64
    Blukrystlz's Avatar
    Blukrystlz no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Askme4it
    Posts
    5,250

    Re: Useful: T-Mobile Curve 8320 software 4.2.2.171

    yea when i get home all was ok.
    ~Blu~




    Blukrystlz@pinstack.com


  5. #65
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: Useful: T-Mobile Curve 8320 software 4.2.2.171

    melissa - have you tried to install it yet?

    i had no issues, this afternoon, downloading the OS. but my DM isn't recognizing it as compatible with anything on my PC, or else it would be showing as installed on my PC thru DM, and it doesn't show there, just in CP (hope that makes sense)

    has anyone checked to see if maybe the DM version that is on the CD the 8320 came with is a newer version?

  6. #66
    bobloblaw's Avatar
    bobloblaw no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by cherrichiodo
    did you have any other 8300 OS installed to your PC? if so, you would need to delete that first...
    I deleted it.

  7. #67
    dif2175509's Avatar
    dif2175509 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    24

    Re: Useful: T-Mobile Curve 8320 software 4.2.2.171

    Are you rinning one of the v 4.2.2.14 versions of DM?

  8. #68
    melissaox's Avatar
    melissaox no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,344

    Re: Useful: T-Mobile Curve 8320 software 4.2.2.171

    The DM on the CD is the same as on the T-Mo site. I checked to be sure.

    I installed the OS on the PC, deleted vendor (habit) and modified my alx to unlock the vendor themes.

    I let it run, it insisted on loading spanish support.

    Once it was done i went back in to remove spanish support, when I did I could also load apps via DM again!!!! YEA!!!!

    Of course I am wiating again... for it to finish
    Success is not final, Failure is not fatal, it is the courage to continue that matters.
    My Blog , My Flickr

  9. #69
    vinmontRD's Avatar
    vinmontRD no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    415

    Re: Useful: T-Mobile Curve 8320 software 4.2.2.171

    Quote Originally Posted by cherrichiodo
    nope RD, haven't even thought about that one...yet

    i did notice that the platform jumped up from 2.4 to 2.5 in the 4.2.2.171 OS...
    Cherri - I'm looking at my PC-installed copy of the 8300 OS, down under:
    \program files\common files\research in motion\shared\loader files\[OS name/number]...

    Right at the top of Platform.alx, I see: GPRS/rim8300g.sfi

    Then BlackBerry.alx has references to device numbers, determining which files are eligible for load into the device, including 8300 of course...

    PkgDBCache.xml also has references to 8300

    specification.pkg is actually an xml file with the field "model" defined as "8300"

    net_rim_bb_medialoader_video.alx mentions "fileset Java="1.0" series="8300".....

    Then:

    drop down a subdirectory to GPRS, and you'll find rim8300g.sfi, the file referenced in the top of Platform.alx. This seems to be intimately related to the GPRS radio.

    It's conceivable the COD files in the Java subdir are also unique to the device.

    I would be curious to know if somebody who owns an 8310 or 8320 could look at the files I mention above, and see if their files also refer to "8300", or if they explicitly refer to 8310 or 8320.

  10. #70
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: Useful: T-Mobile Curve 8320 software 4.2.2.171

    ^^ good idea...also i noticed, while perusing the java folder, a PTT cod file which prolly means that this OS will possibly work on the 8310...

    testers? anyone?

    especially since they were having the same issues with downloading alx thru app loader...

  11. #71
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    ********
    Posts
    394

    Re: Useful: T-Mobile Curve 8320 software 4.2.2.171

    here is the modified blackberry.alx file with unlocked vendor themes
    http://www.4shared.com/dir/3890306/2...lackBerry.html

  12. #72
    ItsNowOrNever's Avatar
    ItsNowOrNever no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30485184
    Posts
    2,994

    Re: Useful: T-Mobile Curve 8320 software 4.2.2.171

    SO----is there a chance that with removing all mention of the 83XX that this will work on the 8300??? Or should we all just be patient and wait for something for the 8300???
    Color---it's nothing but a hue of the rainbow...why do people place such importance in it?

  13. #73
    vinmontRD's Avatar
    vinmontRD no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    415

    Re: Useful: T-Mobile Curve 8320 software 4.2.2.171

    Quote Originally Posted by sashadelgado
    SO----is there a chance that with removing all mention of the 83XX that this will work on the 8300??? Or should we all just be patient and wait for something for the 8300???
    There's a chance...but we're flying blind doing this since we really don't know (at least nobody here is talking if they DO know) exactly how the device's boot loader works, how the device ID is verified, etc. My biggest concern is the possibility of "bricking" the phone. I don't know if it applies to Blackberry's, but with some other phones, a bad firmware load can potentially leave it about as functional as a brick, requiring that you connect the phone to hardware device specifically designed to reset the hardware and reload the proper firmware. The various unlocking services for mobile phones usually use a few devices like these (for some of the other non-RIM phones, they use things like the "Griffin Box" for this). I really don't know if there's anything like this for the Blackberry...and I really don't know what the possibility is of "bricking the Curve". Not sure I want to risk finding out the hard way...

    Maybe somebody else out there knows about about the risks and the ability to reset the device after a bad firmware load, or is just willing to take a chance. I'd love the new OS, but I might just wait to see if 1) somebody else makes it work, or 2) a proper version comes out for the 8300.

  14. #74
    evalasting38's Avatar
    evalasting38 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    241c05ed
    Posts
    7

    Re: Useful: T-Mobile Curve 8320 software 4.2.2.171

    I Just bought my T-mobile 8320, came with latest os but I still get the error.

  15. #75
    kamaunu's Avatar
    kamaunu no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    241c3f07
    Posts
    6

    Re: Useful: T-Mobile Curve 8320 software 4.2.2.171

    i installed the new desktop manager and it's still not letting me add themes. and what's the difference between the media manager and without?? i don't like the roxio media it takes so long to load music!!!

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •