Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

computer all of the sudden does not recognize my 8300. I have had it since ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    hoosierdaddynow's Avatar
    hoosierdaddynow no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    249f8227
    Posts
    196

    USB device not recognized

    Advertisement



    computer all of the sudden does not recognize my 8300. I have had it since Oct. Does not show charging for more than a couple of seconds. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    cyberspastic's Avatar
    cyberspastic no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,247

    Re: USB device not recognized

    Try this, following the directions exactly:
    How To: ReInstall OS When Computer Won't Recognize The Device Is Connected

    you may have to try it more than once and AGAIN, follow the directions exactly. I tried a shortcut the first time I did this and it didnt work. Magically, it worked when I followed it to the letter!

  3. #3
    hoosierdaddynow's Avatar
    hoosierdaddynow no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    249f8227
    Posts
    196

    Re: USB device not recognized

    I called att and they are sending me out another bb.

  4. #4
    callpaul's Avatar
    callpaul no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2

    Re: USB device not recognized

    Quote Originally Posted by hoosierdaddynow View Post
    I called att and they are sending me out another bb.
    I've done the same thing now. They sent me a replacement and it didn't work. They then sent me a new replacement, upgrading me from the 8300 to the 8310. It worked for about two days and now I can no longer connect ("USB device has malfunctioned").

    Help! Anyone??

  5. #5
    Sci-Tek's Avatar
    Sci-Tek no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    849

    Re: USB device not recognized

    I would suggest to both of you, try at another computer

    USB device has malfunctioned.. thats new to me.. hehe

  6. #6
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: USB device not recognized

    I would just reinstall the Desktop Software and Handheld Software. Sometimes the drivers get all messed up.

    If you update the Desktop Software from 4.2 to the 4.3 version I have found that it sometimes removes all installations of the Handheld software. So just double check that you have everything installed.

  7. #7
    callpaul's Avatar
    callpaul no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2

    Re: USB device not recognized

    SciTek; good idea. However, I did that with the first replacement they sent me, but the other computer didn't recognize it either.

    reddog; I tried to reinstall the desktop software, but it tells me that it can't install the media manager. However, I haven't tried reinstalling the handheld software. What/where/how do I do that?

  8. #8
    Sci-Tek's Avatar
    Sci-Tek no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    849

    Re: USB device not recognized

    a sad demontivation theory: one of your computer kill the usb port on the phone ;p

    Even tho I doubt it.. anyway this beats me..

  9. #9
    doutry's Avatar
    doutry no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    13
    USB Device Not Recognized
    one of the USB devices attached to this computer has malfunctioned, and windows does not recognize is. for assistance in solving this problem, click this message.


    thats what my computer says. please help me

  10. #10
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Um ok, so do you know which device? Is it the BB, an iPod, or something else?

    Also did it work before? Do you have the DM and the OS installed on your PC? Are you trying to sync anything else while your BB is connected?

    We'll need more details to assist you

  11. #11
    doutry's Avatar
    doutry no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    13
    its a bb 8100. yes it has worked before. and i am sure DM is desktop manager right? and not sure what OS is i think i downloaded those to my comp with the cd u get with the package right? and no nothing else is on but this site and some stuff that is normal on.

    P.S i will be on the site for a while till i fix it

  12. #12
    Lefty44's Avatar
    Lefty44 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    12
    My laptop does the same thing with 1 of the 3 usb ports it has. No matter what i do one of them will not recognize my bb, thankfully the other 2 do!

  13. #13
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907
    Ok, so do you have the operating system(OS) for you particular BB installled on the PC?

    Then did you disconnect the rest of the devices before trying to plug in your BB?

    You may have to reinstall the DM and the OS then see if that helps at all.

    What I have come up on in the past is if I have my iPod plugged in and trying to connect my BB it will never find my BB.

    It's very fickle when it comes to connecting. Then sometimes it gets lost and confused. Try those and see if that solves your issue.

  14. #14
    doutry's Avatar
    doutry no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    13
    nothin else wuld be pluged in and it still wont recognize it. also my brothers bb works jsut fine. on mine the charge sign wont stay for more then a sec. so i conect mine and the box pops up sayin that then the charge sign goes away. does OS come with the bb when u buy it? cause i installed the disk that came with my bb and thats all i installed for it. but if i need to reinstall i cant cause i lost the disk and my brother lost his

  15. #15
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    The OS does not come with, check the stickies for an updated one and install that and let us know how you make out.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •