Results 1 to 13 of 13

I just can't win. Tonight I was upgrading to the latest 8310 OS when my ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    mbranscum's Avatar
    mbranscum no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    2161A8BC
    Posts
    255

    Upgraing 8310 to latest OS: problem

    Advertisement



    I just can't win. Tonight I was upgrading to the latest 8310 OS when my device started flashing the status light red, and the desktop software said it was unable to to a reinstall.

    Can someone point me to the thread that addresses what to do when your device stops during an upgrade and you can't boot the phone?
    Follow me on Twitter

    Cool Smartphone User Guy

  2. #2
    StaceyRVC's Avatar
    StaceyRVC no está en línea Community pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    9,321

    Re: Upgraing 8310 to latest OS: problem


  3. #3
    mbranscum's Avatar
    mbranscum no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    2161A8BC
    Posts
    255

    Re: Upgraing 8310 to latest OS: problem

    I am repeadedly getting this error...

    Unable to complete loading operation. Unable to re-connect to the device during a multi-stage load operation...

    This happens during the reinstallation of the OS>

    HELP!

    This happens when device software is reconnecting to JVM.

    This is a new 8310. Am i SOL?
    Last edited by mbranscum; 11-03-2007 at 11:17 PM.
    Follow me on Twitter

    Cool Smartphone User Guy

  4. #4
    jscottbarnes's Avatar
    jscottbarnes no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    No-More
    Posts
    1,273

    Re: Upgraing 8310 to latest OS: problem

    Which OS are you attempting to load...?

    Not to be condescending in any way, but are you sure it's not an 8320 or 8300 OS you are trying to load.. be certain.

    Then, try to load the original OS back onto the device... not the latest


    ------------
    ~ jscott
    iPhone 3G & BOLD



  5. #5
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: Upgraing 8310 to latest OS: problem

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    If you have the 8310 use the vodafone OS.

  6. #6
    mbranscum's Avatar
    mbranscum no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    2161A8BC
    Posts
    255

    Re: Upgraing 8310 to latest OS: problem

    This is a Crimson ATT 8310. I am trying to load the Vodafone OS. I have now deleted and reinstalled Desktop manager and I am trying to reinstall the ATT OS.

    I have done this several times with other devices and never had this problem.
    Follow me on Twitter

    Cool Smartphone User Guy

  7. #7
    VZDubtk's Avatar
    VZDubtk no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,436

    Re: Upgraing 8310 to latest OS: problem

    did u delete the vendor file?
    I Unlock All Mobile Devices, questions just ask

  8. #8
    mbranscum's Avatar
    mbranscum no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    2161A8BC
    Posts
    255

    Re: Upgraing 8310 to latest OS: problem

    Quote Originally Posted by harry3334 View Post
    did u delete the vendor file?
    Yes, each time I tried to install.
    Follow me on Twitter

    Cool Smartphone User Guy

  9. #9
    VZDubtk's Avatar
    VZDubtk no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,436

    Re: Upgraing 8310 to latest OS: problem

    hmm which dm are u using?
    I Unlock All Mobile Devices, questions just ask

  10. #10
    mbranscum's Avatar
    mbranscum no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    2161A8BC
    Posts
    255

    Re: Upgraing 8310 to latest OS: problem

    I am now getting the same error after trying to reinstall desktop manager and trying to install the ATT version 2 times. I guess I'm heading back to the corp store tomorrow for a device exchange.

    Very aggravating.
    Follow me on Twitter

    Cool Smartphone User Guy

  11. #11
    VZDubtk's Avatar
    VZDubtk no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,436

    Re: Upgraing 8310 to latest OS: problem

    did you try a device wipe with jl cmdr?
    I Unlock All Mobile Devices, questions just ask

  12. #12
    mbranscum's Avatar
    mbranscum no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    2161A8BC
    Posts
    255

    Re: Upgraing 8310 to latest OS: problem

    OK...I just put the battery back in the device and got the 509 error. I was successful doing a reinstall with the battery in the unit....go figure!!!!

    Thanks for all the suggestions. I still don't know what happened, but I'm scared to death to try an OS upgrade now!
    Follow me on Twitter

    Cool Smartphone User Guy

  13. #13
    VZDubtk's Avatar
    VZDubtk no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,436

    Re: Upgraing 8310 to latest OS: problem

    might just be a freak accident
    I Unlock All Mobile Devices, questions just ask

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •