Results 1 to 10 of 10

Hi, I just had a quick question about unlocked phones. If I had a Tmobile ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    Kyo0tdemon's Avatar
    Kyo0tdemon no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    995

    Unlocked Phones

    Advertisement



    Hi, I just had a quick question about unlocked phones. If I had a Tmobile phone that was unlocked, the 8320, would I be able to buy a SIM card with AT&T and still be able to use my bb account and wifi on the Tmo phone?

  2. #2
    StaceyRVC's Avatar
    StaceyRVC no está en línea Community pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    9,321

    Re: Unlocked Phones

    Yes you can

  3. #3
    squeakr's Avatar
    squeakr no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    541

    Re: Unlocked Phones

    But you can't use the wifi for UMA as that is a service that AT$T doesn't offer, and there are a few other quirks such as MMS problem and such due to the fact that the service books don't exist on AT$T. Others have done this and found out about these few quirks, but all else works as normal.

    Just a heads up, so that you know it isn't going to be exactly like it would be on the native carrier. T-Mo customers had this same problem in the beginning when they unlocked Curves (first generation 8300's) for use on T-Mo before the service books existed for Curves on T-Mo.

  4. #4
    StaceyRVC's Avatar
    StaceyRVC no está en línea Community pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    9,321

    Re: Unlocked Phones

    Are you sure about that? I have a friend that is on at&t and has an unlocked 8320 and the wifi works just fine.

  5. #5
    squeakr's Avatar
    squeakr no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    541

    Re: Unlocked Phones

    Dead sure. AT$T doesn't offer UMA, so you can't use the wifi for UMA as they have no serivce books for that nor do they offer that service. As for the MMS, there was a quirk in the beginning and not sure if it ever got resolved. SOme had a really weird work around, but it was a cluster. Yes, no UMA over wifi. Ask your friend and see if they have it, they won't as the connections aren't there as AT$T doesn't offer that option.

  6. #6
    StaceyRVC's Avatar
    StaceyRVC no está en línea Community pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    9,321

    Re: Unlocked Phones

    ok thank you

  7. #7
    squeakr's Avatar
    squeakr no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    541

    Re: Unlocked Phones

    The wifi will work just fine, just no UMA. May have been a little cryptic or misleading. It is just some that have these devices and then switch to AT$T and want to take the device are thinking wow I can connect and call over the internet just like the T-Mo peeps and it won't work, just giving a heads up so someone isn't disappointed or feels mislead.

  8. #8
    Kyo0tdemon's Avatar
    Kyo0tdemon no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    995

    Re: Unlocked Phones

    Thanks for that everyone. By the way, what is UMA?

  9. #9
    StaceyRVC's Avatar
    StaceyRVC no está en línea Community pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    9,321

  10. #10
    Kyo0tdemon's Avatar
    Kyo0tdemon no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    995

    Re: Unlocked Phones

    Thanks.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •