Results 1 to 12 of 12

Ok so I've been looking threw all of these topics and either I'm blind or ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    ll boosted ll's Avatar
    ll boosted ll no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4

    unlocked curve

    Advertisement



    Ok so I've been looking threw all of these topics and either I'm blind or did not see one...

    Any who I have a 8310 that is unlocked and I am using it on the t-mobile network

    There are two things I want to know..
    any help is appriciated


    First.were and would I be able to update to 4.5
    And
    Two. How would I set up the phone to be used as a modem
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  2. #2
    jfcooley's Avatar
    jfcooley no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    7,479
    I can answer the first question.

    As long as you delete the vendor.xml you can use any version od 4.5 you see fit.
    You can find links in the 8310/8300 forum at thr topp of the page (sorry on WAP, posting links sucks).

    We still have at&t .110 on our 8310.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  3. #3
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481
    As JF stated, when you DL any other OS other than one specifically for your phone (carrier), you must go in and delete the vendor xml file on your PC after you have saved and run the new OS. The AT&T 4.5.0.110 he referred to is a very stable OS for the Curve.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  4. #4
    BestWitted's Avatar
    BestWitted no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    4,410
    Just to add to the previous points.....I upgraded my 8310 to ATT's 110 and have had no problems with it although I am with ATT. I too would recommend this version and add the following:
    Back up your device with Desktop Manager
    Use DM 4.6
    Remove your SD card before installing the 4.5 OS on your Curve.
    The only negative I experienced with 4.5 was the loss of some volume on my mp3 songs but that was resolved with mp3 gain.
    My brother tethers daily with his curve on Tmobile......I'll try to find the link or directions and post back. Good Luck.
    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give."
    Enjoying life in Lehi, UT with my BB 9780 on ATT

  5. #5
    jfcooley's Avatar
    jfcooley no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    7,479
    The at&t .110 works very well with t-mo. Once you get the service books for t-mo you'll have the my-favs.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  6. #6
    BestWitted's Avatar
    BestWitted no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    4,410
    This thread has a wealth of information about threading.....I would start here.....
    http://forums.pinstack.com/f339/tethering_on_the_blackberry_bold-92043/
    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give."
    Enjoying life in Lehi, UT with my BB 9780 on ATT

  7. #7
    BestWitted's Avatar
    BestWitted no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    4,410
    Should have said info about tethering.
    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give."
    Enjoying life in Lehi, UT with my BB 9780 on ATT

  8. #8
    rajafarhan's Avatar
    rajafarhan no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    PIN/ID
    20F44149
    Posts
    484
    For tethering you need the device manager and the dial up settings. And the standard modem should be installed.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  9. #9
    ll boosted ll's Avatar
    ll boosted ll no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4
    Great u guys are aswome. Very helpful, but I got one final question when/if I do update the os am I goint to need to unlock the phone again, or will I have no problem just booting back up the phone and being on my way?
    Last edited by ll boosted ll; 04-24-2009 at 06:29 AM.

  10. #10
    Schirripal's Avatar
    Schirripal no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    2096c6ec
    Posts
    585
    I believe that once its unlocked its unlocked for good
    I'm 99.9 % sure on this one
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  11. #11
    jfcooley's Avatar
    jfcooley no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    7,479
    Quote Originally Posted by ll boosted ll View Post
    Great u guys are aswome. Very helpful, but I got one final question when/if I do update the os am I goint to need to unlock the phone again, or will I have no problem just booting back up the phone and being on my way?
    Once unlocked you're good to go. No need to unlock again.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  12. #12
    ealvnv's Avatar
    ealvnv no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,242
    And when upgrading the os make sure to remove the mem card after that!!
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •