Results 1 to 12 of 12

I've had a pantronics headset for a while now but just received a jawbone as ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    jaymzb0nd's Avatar
    jaymzb0nd no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    160

    UMA doesn't work with my new Jawbone headset

    Advertisement



    I've had a pantronics headset for a while now but just received a jawbone as a gift. It's weird but when I try to make a call while connected to UMA I don't hear anything. It says "calling" instead of "connected." when i finally hang up the phone goes to speaker mode for a second before ending.

    when i turn UMA off it works fine. when i turn the jawbone off it works fine. i even deleted the jawbone as a device and re-paired it. any ideas what's going on?



    on a side note, it seems like everytime i do a batterpull, a handango preload comes on. i delete it from the service books but it always comes back when i do the batterpull. is this something i need to get used to?

    thanks

  2. #2
    Dansnov1086's Avatar
    Dansnov1086 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    245FEDBE
    Posts
    73
    The same thing did happen to me. I have a Moto Bluetooth headset and when I use it over UMA the signal switches over to either EDGE or GPRS. I don't really know why.
    PIN 245FEDBE
    AIM Dansnov1086

    Dan

  3. #3
    Hack173's Avatar
    Hack173 no está en línea banned
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    249E4D70
    Posts
    2,694
    It has something to do with both frequencies not being able to run at the same time.

  4. #4
    gmichelson's Avatar
    gmichelson no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    4
    The only thing that helped me to use UMA and Bluetooth at the same time was upgrade to 4.5 - both Motorola and Jawbone headsets I had pushed phone from UMA to EDGE or rebooted phone in the middle of conversation all together on 4.2.

    Just my 2 cents ...

  5. #5
    joninatl's Avatar
    joninatl no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    247cdc4a
    Posts
    18
    I have no problems with my JB and UMA.. however my wifi network is set to use channel 11 while the default is 6. All other wireless routers in my neighborhood are also set to 6.
    No idea if it has any bearing or not but I thought I'd throw it out there.

  6. #6
    Dansnov1086's Avatar
    Dansnov1086 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    245FEDBE
    Posts
    73
    I figured it had something to do with the receiver in the phone not being capable of using both bluetooth and WiFi frequencies. Good input all around.
    PIN 245FEDBE
    AIM Dansnov1086

    Dan

  7. #7
    Mobile Empire's Avatar
    Mobile Empire no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    142
    With my Blueant I experience the same problems on UMA. However its not always like that. Funny how I just never thought of changing the channel the router runs on. Great insight on the Stacks ha ha ha. I'll do that and see if that fixes the issue.

  8. #8
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Bluetooth and WiFi are the same frequency.

    You may be able to set the router to another channel like joninatl said. That may or may not help you.

  9. #9
    B08's Avatar
    B08
    B08 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    242e5a17
    Posts
    2
    I have the same issue. I have no service at my apartment so I am 100% dependent on the wifi. When using the 8320 with the jawbone 2 it disconnects completely from the wifi network. But when I pair the jawbone 2 with my Nokia 6301 it works fine. I have a DLink Dir655 router which I tried changing the channel and still the same disconnecting problem. Any advice?

  10. #10
    swalker2001's Avatar
    swalker2001 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    2461c562
    Posts
    55
    Do a web search on Bluetooth Compatibility Mode and you will find your answer. Sorry I don't have time to post details right now...

  11. #11
    jaymzb0nd's Avatar
    jaymzb0nd no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    160
    thanks guys. bluetooth worked fine with my plantronics headset before i got the jawbone. i think all this might not matter because i haven't been able to find the jawbone since friday

  12. #12
    B08's Avatar
    B08
    B08 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    242e5a17
    Posts
    2
    So I fixed the bluetooth+UMA problem by installing v4.5 on my curve

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •