Results 1 to 10 of 10

I have removed the software from the add/remove folder. I used the fix for performing ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    blfsgd's Avatar
    blfsgd no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    15

    Question Trying to reinstall BB desktop software

    Advertisement



    I have removed the software from the add/remove folder. I used the fix for performing a clean uninstall of Desktop manager. In the process of reinstalling the program< I get an error message saying "Error 1720. There is a problem with this Windows Installer package. A script required for this install to complete could not be run. Contact support personnel or packkage vendor. Custom action RIM_InstallOptionalITAdminFiles script error -2146827859, Microsoft VBScript runtime error: ActiveX component can't create object: 'Scripting.FileSystemObject'L...
    I am frustrated now because the only thing that I was trying to do was to use my BB as the modem and get on the internet. My ISP is T-Mobile. I am wondering if this is a common occurence? Now I do not have either desktop software on my laptop. Please advise.

  2. #2
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Have you tried rebooting your laptop?

  3. #3
    blfsgd's Avatar
    blfsgd no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    15
    Rebooted the laptop and received the same error message.

  4. #4
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Are you running XP or Vista?

  5. #5
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Found this and this that might help you.

  6. #6
    blfsgd's Avatar
    blfsgd no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    15
    My friend, the last post you sent me did it! I was able to install the software and it is working as before. Whoever you are, your advice was priceless!!! Thank you very much and I hope that I can return the favor someday.

  7. #7
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Glad to be of help!

  8. #8
    blfsgd's Avatar
    blfsgd no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    15

    Question Errors 692, 628 ... !!!!

    Now that I have DEsktop mgr and Device mgr setup. I am getting an error message 628. It says "The connection was terminated by the remote computer before it could be completed". How do I correct this and tether my BB to my laptop?

  9. #9
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Do you get that message when you're trying to tether?

    Here are complete instructions for setting up tethering.

  10. #10
    blfsgd's Avatar
    blfsgd no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    15

    Tethering BB 8320

    Yes, I get the message when attempting to tether. After completing the last step in the instructions you directed me to I get that error. Could it be that something on my BB is not configured correctly? I followed the instructions to a "T". I even had another person follow them and the same result.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •