Results 1 to 13 of 13

Hey guys.. so I have a problem. I'm so excited with the new javelin, found ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    Macinshak's Avatar
    Macinshak no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    56

    Troubles Installing New Apps for 8900??

    Advertisement



    Hey guys.. so I have a problem. I'm so excited with the new javelin, found some good apps to DL, and some require it to be downloaded onto PC and unzipped etc.

    So I've done so, and I use the Desktop manager to try to upload them the sameway I did my last 8310, and it keeps saying this message


    " there was no application found for this device" or something along the lines of that. I am able to download OTA no problems.. any ideas?

    I have a desktop manager 4.7, and my OS is from Rogers, original at v4.4.6.1.94


    I got to have NES for Mario on my phone!!

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Meh!'s Avatar
    Meh! no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    PM me...
    Posts
    226
    Only apps I've ran into problems with thus far is 3jam and BBSmart alarms pro. its take a minute but soon well have plethora of apps and themes. :-)
    Only a~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  3. #3
    ssnxp's Avatar
    ssnxp no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,679
    I don't load many apps via DM, so I can't give you a surefire answer, but..

    1. Have you made sure the apps are for your 8900? (OS 4.6)
    2. If all else fails, try downgrading to DM 4.6 and see if that helps.

  4. #4
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848
    The indication No Additional Apps Found for Your Device means you haven't downloaded and installed the Device Software for your 8900 on your PC. See the thread linked.

    Rcbjr
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  5. #5
    schumacher's Avatar
    schumacher no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    256F471E
    Posts
    125
    Macinshak, there hv also been issues with dm4.7. I suggest you download dm 4.6.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #6
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164
    ^^ i second shumacher's post. haven't heard one good thing about 4.7

    as for the error you are getting, the link in rcbjr's post explains the error, why you get it and what you do to make it go away its a VERY common error.

  7. #7
    Macinshak's Avatar
    Macinshak no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    56
    OK i will re-install everything basically.. and see if that works.. anyone know a NES mario game that works on their bb's? I've never had an issue with my last 8310, dunno why im having issues with this 8900.. I'll let u all know in a few mins!

  8. #8
    Macinshak's Avatar
    Macinshak no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    56
    Ok still having the same issue. Right now I'm trying a .ali file. Would it support it the same way a .xli would?

    Does it also matter what games I try to download compared to the 8310 games? should be all the same v4.5 or better...

  9. #9
    ssnxp's Avatar
    ssnxp no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,679
    If I'm not mistaken, DM loads alx files..

  10. #10
    Macinshak's Avatar
    Macinshak no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    56
    My apologies, yes i didn't remember what it was called, ya alx files. I'm tryin do upload th?em same way as my 8310 would, and nothing i try to upload works! Only OTA's do... any ideas?? Im pretty positive that the apps are compatible with my BB.

  11. #11
    Macinshak's Avatar
    Macinshak no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    56
    Still waiting! Maybe I should restart everything installed such as DM and new software for my 8900?

  12. #12
    Macinshak's Avatar
    Macinshak no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    56
    Ok re-did everything! new DM v4.6, and Latest Rogers software for the 8900. I did step by step with the link provided above, and the phone still does not recognize the new software. in the OPtions ---About - I have v4.6.1.94

    Rogers now offers v.4.6.1.158

    So it def. is in need of the upgrade! It doesn't recognize the new software, and I have already deleted the last OS's

  13. #13
    Macinshak's Avatar
    Macinshak no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    56
    FIXED!! Thanks all!!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •