Results 1 to 12 of 12

Am trying to install 4.5 onto my 8320 have done all of the steps required ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    rarere's Avatar
    rarere no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    30

    Trouble installing 4.5 OS

    Advertisement



    Am trying to install 4.5 onto my 8320
    have done all of the steps required like it says in the guide posted here
    Partway through the install it stops
    The usb connection noise keeps going until a screen pops up with "Unable to reconnect to the device during a multi stage loading operation".
    I then need to reinstall the 4.2 OS for the phone to be functional
    Have tried it twice so far
    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    When I had this issue I ended up using Desktop Manager 4.3 to install. For some reason DM 4.5 and 4.6 seem a bit finicky....or you might try using the loader app found here:
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    rarere's Avatar
    rarere no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    30
    Have tried using both versions of DM as well as running the app loader by itself.
    Still get the "unable to reconnect..."
    I don't understand why the 4.2OS will install no problem but every time the 4.5 will not

  4. #4
    blazen2000's Avatar
    blazen2000 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    2426EC63
    Posts
    272
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~maybe its a corrupt file. Where did you get the 4.5 os from

  5. #5
    rarere's Avatar
    rarere no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    30
    from the tmo website as well as trying the vodafone one and the one from blackberry...seems i am not meant to experience 4.5OS

  6. #6
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    The only other suggestion I would make is to try another machine...I have also resorted to that when faced with a similar issue
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  7. #7
    rarere's Avatar
    rarere no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    30
    Tried on a different PC. Is getting frustrating.
    I am pretty new to BB's but i cant understand why it isn't installing properly
    Has anyone had this issue and overcome it?

  8. #8
    sugardad's Avatar
    sugardad no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    241ef283
    Posts
    100

    Thumbs up

    Make sure your BB is 100% charged
    Get 4.6 DM without the media addon
    Download BlackBerry Master Control Program (MCP) 0.9.0.7 Beta 3
    Install DM, connect your 8320 make a contacts-pim etc Backup
    Disconnet It and Close DM
    Download the latest 8320 rom .81 or .93 rel 123
    Install the ROM but DO NOT proceed to device update at the end
    Connect your BB to your PC (ALWAYS NOT Through a HUB but directly to a USB port)
    Download Javaloader
    Decompress to an easy directory (e.g. c:\JL)
    goto Command Promt get Into JL directory
    and type: javaloader -u wipe while you have connected the 8320
    this will completely erase everything out of your BB and will display a message on the screen (DO NOT Reboot your phone after this just disconnect It)
    run BlackBerry Master Control Program
    head on to settings page and ENTER BrickBerry to enable all features
    Goto then to customize the ROM
    and select the ROM you downloaded from within the program and customize It to your needs
    e.g. Install more themes, remove MDS if you are not on BES, TMo's faves If you are not on such service
    It's critical to remove TMO's faves If you are on a foreign country OR you don't have this service
    now after customization whilst not connected the 8320 press the button which directs you to to disabled .cod's directory, If the directory Is filled with .cod's
    then quit BlackBerry Master Control Program
    connect your 8320 and try again to Upgrade through DM
    make your final selections (language, BB maps, messengers ec) and Upgrade
    Last edited by sugardad; 11-18-2008 at 12:18 PM.

  9. #9
    rarere's Avatar
    rarere no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    30
    I am stuck at the "Goto then to customize the ROM"
    i cannot find this on the Blackberry master control program
    is it within the program?
    Cheers

  10. #10
    sugardad's Avatar
    sugardad no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    241ef283
    Posts
    100
    That's an easy one!
    I'm sure you did It already!
    but here It goes
    Make sure you have FIRSTLY Installed the ROM and THEN ran the MCP
    see the below picture

  11. #11
    sgt-d's Avatar
    sgt-d no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    79
    @sugardad - thanks for the post. informational only... if you use mcp to install an os, you don't have to manually do the wipe as you had mentioned. mcp sends a wipe, then runs application loader with /nojvm:

    execwait(cmd,'/c '+jx+prm+'wipe',0);
    execwait(al,'/nojvm',1);

  12. #12
    sgt-d's Avatar
    sgt-d no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    79
    BlackBerry Master Control Program 0.9.2.0 Beta 10 Released!!!

    http://forums.pinstack.com/f10/black...leased-115207/

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •