Results 1 to 15 of 15

i just got a new 8310 and i was wondering if its possible to transfer ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    fondoo's Avatar
    fondoo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    24A26BE1
    Posts
    319

    transfer contacts from blackberry to blackberry thru BT?

    Advertisement



    i just got a new 8310 and i was wondering if its possible to transfer all my contacts on my old 8300 thru bluetooth. is it possible. i dont see any settings that would allow me to do that.
    Upgraded the BlackBerry Curve to BlackBerry Bold 12/1/08.

  2. #2
    markgallant's Avatar
    markgallant no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    430
    No, the bluetooth address book transfer is only supported for connecting with bluetooth car kits. The only way to do it is with Desktop Manager using the Backup and Restore feature or synchronization

  3. #3
    silv333's Avatar
    silv333 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    127
    So help me a little with that please. Plug in the 8300 first and "back it up"? Then, plug in the 8310 and "restore"? I'm dealing with the same issue and didn't really feel like typing all of my e-mail addresses in manually.....

  4. #4
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    You both will want to have the latest edition of Desktop Manager installed onto your computer which you can get here:

    http://na.blackberry.com/eng/services/desktop/

    Connect your device to the computer with the USB, then start up the desktop manager. You can then use the Device Switch Wizard to transfer everything to your new device.

    Good luck!

  5. #5
    silv333's Avatar
    silv333 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    127
    I guess I have to contact ATT because I went to download the software via your link. It tells me to contact ATT to verify the software is approved for my device. Besides, there are so many versions!!!

    For a newb, this crap is confusing!!!

  6. #6
    data1025's Avatar
    data1025 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    338
    Under Setup Bluetooth, You can "Address Book Transfer - All Entries". Have you tried that?

  7. #7
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by silv333 View Post
    I guess I have to contact ATT because I went to download the software via your link. It tells me to contact ATT to verify the software is approved for my device. Besides, there are so many versions!!!

    For a newb, this crap is confusing!!!

    Shouldn't matter what device you have. Not sure how or why you're getting that message. Try this link:

    https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads/browseSoftware.do

    Then select either DM v4.5 or v.4.3.

  8. #8
    markgallant's Avatar
    markgallant no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    430
    RoGro is right. Just download the newest version. All versions of Desktop Manager are Backwards compatible so they will work with any device released prior to their release.

  9. #9
    silv333's Avatar
    silv333 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    127
    trying the blue tooth route first, both handsets i've set "address book transfer" to "all entries". Now what??

  10. #10
    silv333's Avatar
    silv333 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    127
    I'm guessing I want the English version of 4.5 with "media managers"????

  11. #11
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    I'd get the version withOUT media manager.

  12. #12
    silv333's Avatar
    silv333 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    127
    ok, after the program is installed, is it fairly easy to navigate through to do what i need done?

  13. #13
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Yes, it's very intuitive. You can go as simple as backing up the contacts from one device, then restoring on the new device, or as detailed as using the Device Switch Wizard.

  14. #14
    silv333's Avatar
    silv333 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    127
    Thanks for your help, and patience!! Very helpful!!

  15. #15
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    No worries! That's why we're all here!

    One big fappy hamily.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •