Results 1 to 11 of 11

I am not sure if this has been mentioned, but my new Curve(5 hours old) ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    nabitheking's Avatar
    nabitheking no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3047E391
    Posts
    141

    Total memory is 53 meg? TMO Curve

    Advertisement



    I am not sure if this has been mentioned,
    but my new Curve(5 hours old) has only 53 meg of memory.
    My 8700g and Pearls had 64 meg.
    Am I the only one noticing this? What's up with that?

  2. #2
    BenMarvin's Avatar
    BenMarvin no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    1,970

    Re: Total memory is 53 meg? TMO Curve

    I'm pretty sure that doesn't count the Core Operating System. That's what uses the first 11MB.

  3. #3
    nabitheking's Avatar
    nabitheking no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3047E391
    Posts
    141

    Re: Total memory is 53 meg? TMO Curve

    I mean 53 meg is the total memory.
    I have less than 15 meg of available memory...
    Hope I am not the only one.

  4. #4
    DCookSta's Avatar
    DCookSta no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    312C4157
    Posts
    2,331

    Re: Total memory is 53 meg? TMO Curve

    My curve has 55 total, 22 available. I think they block out some for the OS right off the top.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #5
    harryheat2's Avatar
    harryheat2 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    24232720
    Posts
    46

    Thumbs down Re: Total memory is 53 meg? TMO Curve

    Same here ,Whatsv up with that ?My pearl had 64 ,cant even install the same amount of 3rd party software that I had on the pearl,Maybe we need to bring this to tmo or Rims attention.

  6. #6
    consorzio's Avatar
    consorzio no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    14

    Re: Total memory is 53 meg? TMO Curve

    Can you selectively remove apps that you wouldn't use? Still waiting for mine, so I do not have experience....

  7. #7
    harryheat2's Avatar
    harryheat2 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    24232720
    Posts
    46

    Re: Total memory is 53 meg? TMO Curve

    Yes you can ,but you will have to use the desktop to do so and be careful what you choose because if you remove the wrong modules you can damage your os ,However you can delete thing like games if you dont need them ,Auto text and any applications you will not be using.PLEASE PROCEED WITH CAUTION.

  8. #8
    tdawg's Avatar
    tdawg no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    241F06A2
    Posts
    544

    Re: Total memory is 53 meg? TMO Curve

    This is OS 4.2.2. with wifi support no telling what that had to sacrifice to get it to work.. Eg wifi drivers are part the original rom.

    Not including spell check, wifi controls, uma software and drivers, security keys to for the BIS over wifi etc etc
    Last edited by tdawg; 09-26-2007 at 04:43 AM.
    BB8900 is mine!

  9. #9
    nmadd's Avatar
    nmadd no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    413

    Re: Total memory is 53 meg? TMO Curve

    I have read a couple of posts like this. Take a look.
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com/440379-post14.html

  10. #10
    nabitheking's Avatar
    nabitheking no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3047E391
    Posts
    141

    Re: Total memory is 53 meg? TMO Curve

    Sure it's only about 10 megs.
    But having only 64 megs of total memory, that 10 megs really count.
    Like Harryheat2 mentioned, I had go give up on a couple of apps that I used to have on my previous BBs.

    I wonder if AT&T ones without WIFI are like this too...

  11. #11
    blackninja's Avatar
    blackninja no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    spam=no
    Posts
    1,322

    Re: Total memory is 53 meg? TMO Curve

    once you remove the messengers, extra languages, help, games, etc. you are left with a fair amount of space. also keep the MMS count to near 0 and attachment emails with large file attachments to a minimum and it'll help you cope with the smaller amount of free memory. as tdawg mentioned, the 8320 is holding a lot more due to the additional features and notice how smooth the OS is still running, so I have a feeling more memory has been situated to be kept for core operations. even with my free memory being so much lower than my 8100 or 8700, it is still running far smoother and faster so I don't think anyone has to worry.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •