Results 1 to 11 of 11

So, I thought I had read that BB maps was blocked on ATT, so they ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    Sprung's Avatar
    Sprung no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    304D032C
    Posts
    76

    Thought BB maps was blocked on ATT?

    Advertisement



    So, I thought I had read that BB maps was blocked on ATT, so they could coerce you into using Telenav? I was bored and went out to the BB homepage and installed it and WHOAH! It works!!

    Now, I have other stuff that also shouldn't be workgin on my BB too, like Yahoo Messenger on ATT. No idea HOW I did that. I upgraded the OS (ATT but not the latest one) and unlocked the vendor themes, but thats about it. I wonder if I changed something in that .ALX file that makes it not think it's on ATT? If so, how can I find out so I can share that? Seems easier to do it however I did it than doing the swap the SIM trick.

    Brian
    NEW STORM on VZW, OLD: 8310 ,8300, 7130E

  2. #2
    Prorock's Avatar
    Prorock no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    392

    Re: Thought BB maps was blocked on ATT?

    I got it to work for a bit on at&t too, but it did not work for too long. Wonder how that happens?

  3. #3
    iridemybike's Avatar
    iridemybike no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    495

    Re: Thought BB maps was blocked on ATT?

    Did you delete your vendor.xml file? That would be a big way to make it think it's not on AT&T. Yahoo Messenger works on mine but I did the mod. Havent' tried it with BB maps, I've been using google maps.

    Tucker

  4. #4
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: Thought BB maps was blocked on ATT?

    bb maps should have worked for you out of the box...not sure about YIM, as i haven't tried to use that. are you talking about the one that is similar to a web client? where you have to use the media net browser?

  5. #5
    iridemybike's Avatar
    iridemybike no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    495

    Re: Thought BB maps was blocked on ATT?

    I'm using the Yahoo messenger application myself, I think I tried to install BB Maps but it wouldn't work, since I use google maps anyways I never really worried about it.

    Tucker

  6. #6
    DjSmooth's Avatar
    DjSmooth no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,080

    Re: Thought BB maps was blocked on ATT?

    JiveTalk is a much better IM, that connects with all the major IM's out!

  7. #7
    Sprung's Avatar
    Sprung no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    304D032C
    Posts
    76

    Re: Thought BB maps was blocked on ATT?

    Im actually using the installed Y! IM.. not the web client. And I have BBmaps, Google Maps and the free Telenav.. just checkign out each of them with the GPS puck..

    I think i DID delete the Vendor.xml file while unlocking the themes. Maybe thats it.. but I somehow ended up with the right servicebook for Y! IM.

    I think I'll just call myself lucky and not mess with it..
    NEW STORM on VZW, OLD: 8310 ,8300, 7130E

  8. #8
    simonminshall's Avatar
    simonminshall no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    2068A03C
    Posts
    63

    Re: Thought BB maps was blocked on ATT?

    You may want to check the IBS Service. Most Carriers are writing the Internet Browser as a service entry. Most of the apps mentioned above rely quite heavily on the I.B.S. I found in testing with Telenav that I need IBS pushing from Vodafone to get it to work. Maybe something worth checking out.
    Simon Minshall
    Mobile Data Consultant
    www.mobileguy.co.uk
    0844 8845474

  9. #9
    jmcclaff's Avatar
    jmcclaff no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: Thought BB maps was blocked on ATT?

    Where can I find BB Maps?

  10. #10
    cyberspastic's Avatar
    cyberspastic no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,247

    Re: Thought BB maps was blocked on ATT?

    go to bookmarks, blackberry help, home screen, maps and GPS -- I have a link to bb maps under this.

  11. #11
    simonminshall's Avatar
    simonminshall no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    2068A03C
    Posts
    63

    Re: Thought BB maps was blocked on ATT?

    If you have a version 4, 4.1, 4.2 enabled device, then BB Maps is included, if not, as above post.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •