Results 1 to 9 of 9

Does tethering on a Curve 8310 on att charges apart,or it uses ur unlimited plan ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    noktamvulo's Avatar
    noktamvulo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    17

    Does tethering on a Curve 8310 on att charges apart,or it uses ur unlimited plan data?

    Advertisement



    Does tethering on a Curve 8310 on att charges apart,or it uses ur unlimited plan data?

  2. #2
    Amigotek's Avatar
    Amigotek no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    21D7B3C6
    Posts
    1,569

    Re: Does tethering on a Curve 8310 on att charges apart,or it uses ur unlimited plan data?

    Tethering officially requires a tethering plan on at&t in order not to incur additional charges. Their unlimited BB plan is for data from the BB only. Unofficially, people have tethered and gotten away with it but I personally wouldn't chance it.

    Zo

  3. #3
    Murfunit's Avatar
    Murfunit no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    40

    Re: Does tethering on a Curve 8310 on att charges apart,or it uses ur unlimited plan data?

    You need a special data plan on AT&T to tether a BB

    So if I'm reading your question right, the answer is no it isnot covered in your unltd plan unless you have the tethering option
    Je t'aime encore, Roguette

  4. #4
    noktamvulo's Avatar
    noktamvulo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    17

    Re: Does tethering on a Curve 8310 on att charges apart,or it uses ur unlimited plan data?

    so if i tether they would charge me?

  5. #5
    XLiMBS's Avatar
    XLiMBS no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    20F3D846
    Posts
    767

    Re: Does tethering on a Curve 8310 on att charges apart,or it uses ur unlimited plan data?

    If they want to, they will charge you since you are using your data plan for using services that aren't included in your plan.
    You can try it if you want to, just remember, ATT has the right to charge you per kb for tethering if they choose to.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #6
    noktamvulo's Avatar
    noktamvulo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    17

    Re: Does tethering on a Curve 8310 on att charges apart,or it uses ur unlimited plan data?

    how they will find out? did u know someone that has been charged?

  7. #7
    75stripes's Avatar
    75stripes no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    9

    Re: Does tethering on a Curve 8310 on att charges apart,or it uses ur unlimited plan data?

    Well, you shouldn't be able to tether w/o a tethering plan b/c you wouldn't have the right access point on your account in the network. Tethering plans provision the correct access point on the network. It's not so much that AT&T can charge you for overuse, but the fact that they can terminate you as a customer for violating the terms of your contract. Yes, they can do it, but I've never heard of it happening, personally. They, can look at your average data use and if it exceeds average use for a 'berry owner, then they can investigate your account. Unlimited data on your blackberry is just that, "on your blackberry." It does not include using your 'berry as a modem for data access on other devices.

  8. #8
    VZDubtk's Avatar
    VZDubtk no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,436

    Re: Does tethering on a Curve 8310 on att charges apart,or it uses ur unlimited plan data?

    You will eventually get caught I'm sorry..do so at your own risk~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  9. #9
    Amigotek's Avatar
    Amigotek no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    21D7B3C6
    Posts
    1,569

    Re: Does tethering on a Curve 8310 on att charges apart,or it uses ur unlimited plan data?

    Quote Originally Posted by noktamvulo View Post
    how they will find out? did u know someone that has been charged?
    They can tell through information the server stores when you connect to the internet. I don't know the exact details of how or what information they use but have heard reports of people being caught and having huge overage charges.

    Zo

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •