Results 1 to 14 of 14

Anyone know if the Sprint Curve will tether as a modem with Mac OS X?... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    gtcaz's Avatar
    gtcaz no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    5

    Question Tether with Mac OS X?

    Advertisement



    Anyone know if the Sprint Curve will tether as a modem with Mac OS X?

  2. #2
    adam.sn's Avatar
    adam.sn no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    4c7dab38
    Posts
    87
    Not yet... Can't even sync with it yet without missing sync.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  3. #3
    gtcaz's Avatar
    gtcaz no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    5
    You can't see the Curve as a bluetooth modem?

    E.g., http://perishablepress.com/press/200...modem-for-mac/ (GSM version)

  4. #4
    Brooose's Avatar
    Brooose no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    3032A20A
    Posts
    59
    I just purchased Missing Sync to get my 8330 to sync with my MBP. Now I am downloading gmaps version 1.6.4 to see if the GPS will work. I will let you know what happens.

  5. #5
    vangorder's Avatar
    vangorder no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    Just Ask
    Posts
    198
    VMWare Fusion is your friend. You should still be able to use it as a bluetooth modem in OS X though.
    You have two ears, two eyes, and one mouth;
    therefore, listen and observe twice as often as you speak.

  6. #6
    gtcaz's Avatar
    gtcaz no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    5
    Please do report back. Using Fusion is a kludgy hack, and I can't even use that with my PowerBook (I'm waiting for the fabled next-generation, possibly metal-skinned, PowerBooks).

  7. #7
    Brooose's Avatar
    Brooose no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    3032A20A
    Posts
    59
    For what its worth, I am typing this on my Macbook Pro using my Sprint Curve as a modem with NO phone as modem plan. I turned on the bluetooth on the Curve, put it in the mode where other devices could find it. I then used the Bluetooth menu to pair my Curve with my MBP. It found that I could use it as a modem. The settings I used were #777 for the number and Sprint PCS Vision for the modemscript. Keep the user name and password blank. I then went into the network preferences and chose "Configure" and, under PPP options, turned off the "Send PPP Echo Packets". I then hit CONNECT and here I am. It is blowing me away that I can do this without a plan. Am I just lucky or has the 8330 been configured like the Mogul or the Touch where you can get around the separate DUN user name?

  8. #8
    gtcaz's Avatar
    gtcaz no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    5
    Awesome! Thanks, Broose. From what I hear, the iPhone 3G will not tether. Score one for BB. (Also, I'm kinda stuck because I need to connect to Lotus Notes for work via the BES.) Will probably order soon.

  9. #9
    rweckhoff's Avatar
    rweckhoff no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    115
    Quote Originally Posted by Brooose View Post
    For what its worth, I am typing this on my Macbook Pro using my Sprint Curve as a modem with NO phone as modem plan.
    Phone as Modem is included as part of Sprint's BlackBerry plans.

  10. #10
    dhyde79's Avatar
    dhyde79 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    319FB186
    Posts
    148
    unless sprint has blocked it in software, the 8330 WILL tether with OSX, I've got a G3 iBook with 10.4.11 running on it, a bluetooth dongle, and can bluetooth tether just fine, also, can sync address book without pocketmac or missing sync.
    ----------------------------
    Blackberry Fanatic
    Amateur Photographer/StormShooter
    (PM me for Website/Photo Gallery)

  11. #11
    eyespii's Avatar
    eyespii no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by Brooose View Post
    For what its worth, I am typing this on my Macbook Pro using my Sprint Curve as a modem with NO phone as modem plan. I turned on the bluetooth on the Curve, put it in the mode where other devices could find it. I then used the Bluetooth menu to pair my Curve with my MBP. It found that I could use it as a modem. The settings I used were #777 for the number and Sprint PCS Vision for the modemscript. Keep the user name and password blank. I then went into the network preferences and chose "Configure" and, under PPP options, turned off the "Send PPP Echo Packets". I then hit CONNECT and here I am. It is blowing me away that I can do this without a plan. Am I just lucky or has the 8330 been configured like the Mogul or the Touch where you can get around the separate DUN user name?
    So any updates on whether or not you've been charged for tethering? I'm on the $30 BIS plan, and I tether too infrequently for it to be worth the extra $15/mo for the PAM charge. However, I used the "workaround" with my last few phones (treo 700p and sprint touch), and I'd love to be able to do it on my BB as well.

  12. #12
    skateboarddad's Avatar
    skateboarddad no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2
    dude, I am technologically challenged and have no idea how to do this...can you help?

  13. #13
    skateboarddad's Avatar
    skateboarddad no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Brooose View Post
    For what its worth, I am typing this on my Macbook Pro using my Sprint Curve as a modem with NO phone as modem plan. I turned on the bluetooth on the Curve, put it in the mode where other devices could find it. I then used the Bluetooth menu to pair my Curve with my MBP. It found that I could use it as a modem. The settings I used were #777 for the number and Sprint PCS Vision for the modemscript. Keep the user name and password blank. I then went into the network preferences and chose "Configure" and, under PPP options, turned off the "Send PPP Echo Packets". I then hit CONNECT and here I am. It is blowing me away that I can do this without a plan. Am I just lucky or has the 8330 been configured like the Mogul or the Touch where you can get around the separate DUN user name?
    This sounds awesome dude...but I tried it word for word and it won't work for me...any suggestions?

    For what its worth, I am typing this on my Macbook Pro using my Sprint Curve as a modem with NO phone as modem plan. I turned on the bluetooth on the Curve, put it in the mode where other devices could find it. I then used the Bluetooth menu to pair my Curve with my MBP. It found that I could use it as a modem. The settings I used were #777 for the number and Sprint PCS Vision for the modemscript. Keep the user name and password blank. I then went into the network preferences and chose "Configure" and, under PPP options, turned off the "Send PPP Echo Packets". I then hit CONNECT and here I am. It is blowing me away that I can do this without a plan. Am I just lucky or has the 8330 been configured like the Mogul or the Touch where you can get around the separate DUN user name?

  14. #14
    clannynog's Avatar
    clannynog no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1

    Ńďŕńčáęč

    Őîđîřŕ˙ ńňŕňü˙ Âîň ňîëüęî íĺ íŕřĺë ńńűëęó íŕ ĐŃŃ áëîăŕ?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •