Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Hi...new to the forums and I need some help with my BB Curve and T-mobile ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    Ladibelle's Avatar
    Ladibelle no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4

    T-Mobile Data Plan Problems w/ BB Curve 8320

    Advertisement



    Hi...new to the forums and I need some help with my BB Curve and T-mobile Data plan service.

    I tried setting my BB Curve to internet browser but still can not get on internet. I am using Operamini4 browser

    Keep getting

    "The application Opera Mini has attempted to access a low level Network connection."
    Would you like to allow?
    YES or NO

    If you try either one (Yes or No) it all comes back as

    "Failed to connect to the internet...100...Java.lang.SecurityException: Javax.microedition.i0.Connector.Socket"

    I am using APN: wap.voicestream.com

    There is nothing showing for Wap Gateway IP or Wap Gateway Port. In fact, even the words are not typed in there.

    The phone has been looked at by T-mobile tech and all I got was... "I am sorry Mrs P..evidently there is a security issue with your website and T-mobile does not always accept 3rd party apps. This Is...BS. My members can access the site from their CP and they can post messages to it...Why can't I? I got so mad after that crap A - - answer, that I went through your FAQs and I found the information I needed to get to the Internet...to my website and even post messages too it. But here I am 3 days later and I can't even get on to the internet...no matter what I do.

    Now if I try and use the browser icon on my desktop it just brings me to the ""My Bookmarks" and like I mentioned above...Operamini4 just gives me a 100 error message.

    I am so over this...I need some good expert help and here I am asking for it from you all.

    HELP ME PLEEZE

    Thank You all for at least looking at my problem..I hope you can get me online or me and
    T-mobile are going to go head to head VERY SOON.


    Ladibelle

    PS: I even tried using internet2.voicestream.com APN and I get to my website but can not login.

  2. #2
    melissaox's Avatar
    melissaox no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,344

    Re: T-Mobile Data Plan Problems w/ BB Curve 8320

    Do you have a BlackBerry data plan?
    Success is not final, Failure is not fatal, it is the courage to continue that matters.
    My Blog , My Flickr

  3. #3
    wassona's Avatar
    wassona no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    2439fbe3
    Posts
    270

    Re: T-Mobile Data Plan Problems w/ BB Curve 8320

    It seems like Opera is throwing up on you. Remove Opera and reinstall it. Ive got a data plan, Opera 4, and wap.voicestream.com for my apn.

  4. #4
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: T-Mobile Data Plan Problems w/ BB Curve 8320

    Hi Ladibelle and welcome to Pinstack!

    From your post I am going to assume you have a BB Data plan and that you have had past success with Opera in accessing the web site you wish to view, is that correct? Now, your comments about the built in browser, are you unable to access the internet from the BB Browser, and is this a new issue, and what happens when you try?

    A few more questions -

    Top Right Corner of your home screen, does it say EDGE (all caps) under the antenna?
    Do you have email service (and no issues there?)
    Under OPTIONS> Mobile Network is Data Services set to ON?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  5. #5
    Ladibelle's Avatar
    Ladibelle no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: T-Mobile Data Plan Problems w/ BB Curve 8320

    Thank You for the WELCOME and your replys

    Yes I have a Data Plan (BIZ) with T-Mobile nad Data Service is ON.

    I thought I might try off loading Opera mini4 and then reloading her but not sure how to delete Opera. Yes I have been able to Login an d post a testing message in one of my forum topics but I can not do that now. I Keep getting

    "The application Opera Mini has attempted to access a low level Network connection."
    Would you like to allow?
    YES or NO

    If you try either one (Yes or No) it all comes back as

    "Failed to connect to the internet...100...Java.lang.SecurityException: Javax.microedition.i0.Connector.Socket"
    EDGE is all caps. I can use my E-mail, In fact I just used a link back, inside the e-mail to my website and logged in and was able to add a post. So the E-mail app is working correctly but when trying to us Opera icon, I am still getting the above error and details.
    The Browser icon brings me to MY BOOKMARKS and I can now get into my website and post a reply by selecting T-Zone links and then "Go To"...That never happen before. Sorta seems like "I have to go around the corner to use the phone across the street from where I am standing"...makes no sense.

    This cuve is throwing me a curve...big time

    Hope I made sense of what is going on with my BB. Right now I am like way confused myself.

  6. #6
    Amigotek's Avatar
    Amigotek no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    21D7B3C6
    Posts
    1,569

    Re: T-Mobile Data Plan Problems w/ BB Curve 8320

    As for the BB starting at the bookmarks page when you load the built in browser do the following. Launch the browser, pull up the menu and scroll down to options. Go to Browser Configuration and scroll down to "Start Page:". Now click menu and change option. You should be able to change it from starting on the bookmarks to starting on the home page or the last page you loaded.

    As for your Opera issue, I would uninstall Opera and reinstall it. It can be removed one of two ways (depending on how it was installed). You can go through Apploader on DM and see if it shows up there on the list and remove it. You can go to Settings - Advanced Options - Applications - scroll down to Opera and click on menu - Delete.

    Zo

  7. #7
    Ladibelle's Avatar
    Ladibelle no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: T-Mobile Data Plan Problems w/ BB Curve 8320

    I deleted Opera Mini and I tried the other work around you gave for the BB browser. When I changed the option to last "Home Page" It came up in the RingTone home page. I then backed out of there. Opened the browser again used the bookmarks to "go to" and then loaded my Index page. I saved the option and closed the browser. When I re-opened it, it went right back to the RingTone home page. Strange thing...I never was in the RingTone home page before. What did I do wrong?

  8. #8
    Ladibelle's Avatar
    Ladibelle no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: T-Mobile Data Plan Problems w/ BB Curve 8320

    Amigotek...Thanks for your work a rounds. They did help me.

    When I couldn't get the BB browser to go to my index page instead of going to the Ring Tones index page. I decided to go back into the browser and try a different approach. Not sure what I did but I do have my website index page as my browsers "Home Page" Thanks so much for showing me how to use the menu regarding the browser. Like I said I have no idea what I did to get it to go directly to my websites index page but I am glad I finally got it to go there. That's all that counts.

    Now...when I re-install Opera mini4. What will I have to do then to use the Opera mini browser instead of Microsoft IE. Will I have to go back into options and change the Emulation Mode to Opera Mini4?

  9. #9
    Amigotek's Avatar
    Amigotek no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    21D7B3C6
    Posts
    1,569

    Re: T-Mobile Data Plan Problems w/ BB Curve 8320

    No. On a BB device you cannot change the default browser, but you should be able to reassign the soft key to Opera as your shortcut key (never tried this but theoretically it should work) instead of whatever application it launches now. Then you can press it or go into the menu and launch Opera directly from the home screen. Whenever you go someplace to download anything it will automatically launch the BB browser to perform the download. As for getting Opera to work, all you should have to do is reset your APN and make sure to allow access when the firewall warning messages come up during the setup phase of Opera when you first launch it.

    Zo

  10. #10
    angelzrage's Avatar
    angelzrage no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    84

    Re: T-Mobile Data Plan Problems w/ BB Curve 8320

    Wouldn't be surprised if tmobile was messing with it.they DO,restrict,block,access to enable/disable any 3rd party apps,OR games from their phones(hansets)non smartphones.

  11. #11
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420

    Re: T-Mobile Data Plan Problems w/ BB Curve 8320

    I had this problem the day I reactivated my device nearly 2 weeks ago. I deleted and reinstalled Opera Mini, turned wireless off and back on, resent my service books, re-registered on the wireless network, yanked the battery, and have been good to go since.


  12. #12
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420

    Re: T-Mobile Data Plan Problems w/ BB Curve 8320

    Quote Originally Posted by angelzrage View Post
    Wouldn't be surprised if tmobile was messing with it.they DO,restrict,block,access to enable/disable any 3rd party apps,OR games from their phones(hansets)non smartphones.

    They don't. I used a Samsung E635 for a month and with the proper voice and basic WAP service, I was able to download and install anything I wanted. Getting the apps to actually WORK without the phone rebooting itself was a different story. Worst phone I ever owned (with the exception of the voice part. It was good as a phone but for everything else, it sucked).
    Last edited by EricaJ1073; 02-14-2008 at 12:48 AM.


  13. #13
    wassona's Avatar
    wassona no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    2439fbe3
    Posts
    270

    Re: T-Mobile Data Plan Problems w/ BB Curve 8320

    Quote Originally Posted by EricaJ1073 View Post
    They don't. I used a Samsung E635 for a month and with the proper voice and basic WAP service, I was able to download and install anything I wanted. Getting the apps to actually WORK without the phone rebooting itself was a different story. Worst phone I ever owned (with the exception of the voice part. It was good as a phone but for everything else, it sucked).
    Yeah as far as I know they dont block anything.

  14. #14
    angelzrage's Avatar
    angelzrage no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    84
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~tmobile does restrict you from (enabling) apps.that u download.its grayed out in the options menu under App.access,which allows you to enable or disable it to run.

  15. #15
    untjoker's Avatar
    untjoker no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    405
    Quote Originally Posted by angelzrage View Post
    Wouldn't be surprised if tmobile was messing with it.they DO,restrict,block,access to enable/disable any 3rd party apps,OR games from their phones(hansets)non smartphones.
    regular phones: yes. Smartphones/BB: no. I've been to some less than Politically correct sites on my Tmobile pda/BB's and they've never been blocked
    Yes, I've been diagnosed with Phantom Vibration Disorder.....

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •