Results 1 to 14 of 14

I used dm 4.6 to switch devices. Not all my apps went over. Like opera ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    ocanyc's Avatar
    ocanyc no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    628

    Switching from 8320 to 8900....

    Advertisement



    I used dm 4.6 to switch devices. Not all my apps went over. Like opera mini, jivetalk, blackberry alerts, a couple more. Or at least I dont see them on the 8900. Any way to transfer those manually without reinstalling?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    LESS
    Posts
    1,757
    Make sure they are not under your "Downloads" folder.

    Some apps are compatible with your new phone and require you to download the compatible versions.~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  3. #3
    mikedoan's Avatar
    mikedoan no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    179
    Unfortunately you cannot backup and restore third party app's that way (sucks hey)...

    Have you installed the app's on your 8320 via Desktop Manager or OTA? If via DM, and you still have the installation ALX/COD files you can reinstall again via DM.

    If however you installed via OTA, I'd suggest checking out this thread on downloading the OTA files on your PC.

    This is the method I use for most of my app's (since I'm a regular OS update freak; makes for easy installation).
    BB 7100g (R.I.P.)
    BB Pearl 8100 (R.I.P.)
    BB BOLD 9000 (on the shelf)
    BB STORM (R.I.P.)

    iPhone4

  4. #4
    ocanyc's Avatar
    ocanyc no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    628
    Quote Originally Posted by RSCStacker View Post
    Make sure they are not under your "Downloads" folder.

    Some apps are compatible with your new phone and require you to download the compatible versions.~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    I checked there and they werent. And you're probably right.

    Quote Originally Posted by mikedoan View Post
    Unfortunately you cannot backup and restore third party app's that way (sucks hey)...

    Have you installed the app's on your 8320 via Desktop Manager or OTA? If via DM, and you still have the installation ALX/COD files you can reinstall again via DM.

    If however you installed via OTA, I'd suggest checking out this thread on downloading the OTA files on your PC.

    This is the method I use for most of my app's (since I'm a regular OS update freak; makes for easy installation).
    Now thats cool, and I plan on going .133 tomorrow morning so I'll download this ota app then and try it out. Thanks.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    LESS
    Posts
    1,757
    They actually do switch over if you have ever tried it yourself you would know.

    The DM gives you the option of just data or 3rd party applications when you choose the switch device wizard.

    If you are just backing up, no it will not save any of your 3rd party applications.

    There is still another method to backup 3rd party apps if your old phone is still intact.~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #6
    ocanyc's Avatar
    ocanyc no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    628
    Quote Originally Posted by RSCStacker View Post
    They actually do switch over if you have ever tried it yourself you would know.

    The DM gives you the option of just data or 3rd party applications when you choose the switch device wizard.

    If you are just backing up, no it will not save any of your 3rd party applications.

    There is still another method to backup 3rd party apps if your old phone is still intact.~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    I just did it and I didnt see that option.

    Old phone is still right here.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    LESS
    Posts
    1,757
    You have to choose "switch device" and check the correct box afterwards.~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  8. #8
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702
    Quote Originally Posted by mikedoan View Post
    Unfortunately you cannot backup and restore third party app's that way (sucks hey)...

    Have you installed the app's on your 8320 via Desktop Manager or OTA? If via DM, and you still have the installation ALX/COD files you can reinstall again via DM.

    If however you installed via OTA, I'd suggest checking out this thread on downloading the OTA files on your PC.

    This is the method I use for most of my app's (since I'm a regular OS update freak; makes for easy installation).
    You can back up 3rd party apps. Go here to see how:

    http://forums.pinstack.com/f73/how_to_back_up_3rd_party_apps-98799/

  9. #9
    mikedoan's Avatar
    mikedoan no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    179
    Quote Originally Posted by pdxmatts View Post
    You can back up 3rd party apps. Go here to see how:

    http://forums.pinstack.com/showthread.php?t=98799
    I stand corrected, thanks for that... I'll refer to that at next upgrade...

    Does this also keep data from the third party apps? (eg locations in Google Maps)
    BB 7100g (R.I.P.)
    BB Pearl 8100 (R.I.P.)
    BB BOLD 9000 (on the shelf)
    BB STORM (R.I.P.)

    iPhone4

  10. #10
    mike mikeŠ's Avatar
    mike mikeŠ no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    48
    when i transferred usin dm 4.6 from my 8320 to my 8900 ... all my apps went over .. didnt realize it was a app folder at first so i looked over them

  11. #11
    blackninja's Avatar
    blackninja no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    spam=no
    Posts
    1,322
    you may also consider reinstalling manually the 3rd party apps. quite a few app makers have made a 4.6 version (such as beejive) to take advantage of new OS/hardware.

  12. #12
    ocanyc's Avatar
    ocanyc no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    628
    Quote Originally Posted by blackninja View Post
    you may also consider reinstalling manually the 3rd party apps. quite a few app makers have made a 4.6 version (such as beejive) to take advantage of new OS/hardware.
    Yep, And thats what I ended up doing

  13. #13
    bglawrence's Avatar
    bglawrence no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    2746CB17
    Posts
    312
    apps transfer for sure on DM switch device. I have never been able to transfer the data with it..for example if you transfer Beejive the software transfers but you must re-enter all the data. Same thing for facebook. Not really a big deal though

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806
    agreed with bglawrence, it never seems to carry on the details of 3rd party apps.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •