Results 1 to 7 of 7

just got a BB8330 and would like to use it as a modem, i have ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    mikeydread's Avatar
    mikeydread no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2

    Sprint ASN

    Advertisement



    just got a BB8330 and would like to use it as a modem, i have sprint and looks like i need to know the ASN, can someone help me with this? thanks in advance.

    great site here!

  2. #2
    rxmaker1's Avatar
    rxmaker1 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    PIN/ID
    Request
    Posts
    71
    I believe that all you need to set up PAM is either in the options>network menu or the shortcut.menu by pressing (ALT)+(^shift)+(H) at the same time. Hope this helps. I found that it is was not very difficult. The Sprint help page gives fairly intricate directions if you need more detailed instruction. I have Sprint and I did not have to set up anything extra on the plan some carriers do charge though. Good luck.. . .
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  3. #3
    pegb856's Avatar
    pegb856 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    A Colata
    Posts
    264
    Quote Originally Posted by mikeydread View Post
    just got a BB8330 and would like to use it as a modem, i have sprint and looks like i need to know the ASN, can someone help me with this? thanks in advance.

    great site here!
    I think your question is best answered here: http://www.sprintusers.com/forum/sho...blackberry+pam
    As Always...

    Happy Berrying!!

  4. #4
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    mikey,

    Take a look at the step by step instructions in this thread on How To set up a CDMA device as a tethered modem.

    http://forums.pinstack.com/f23/how_t...nection-79155/
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  5. #5
    FreekinSweet's Avatar
    FreekinSweet no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    7
    Gud stuff I can use this thanks
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  6. #6
    rxmaker1's Avatar
    rxmaker1 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    PIN/ID
    Request
    Posts
    71
    The link that GaryF posted above is exactly how I got mytethered PAM runnin on an XP machine. If anyone needs a hand in getting it working on an opensource LinuxOS I would be happy to give you the run down on how I got mine workin on 2 different distros. One required using emulation an xplat settings. Not very difficult and with Sprint I haveseen No fees for the Pam service.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  7. #7
    mikeydread's Avatar
    mikeydread no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2
    wow, thanks for all the replies. great community here. so i followed the instructions that GaryF posted and also used the bluetooth connection that PegB856 talked about using in another post. i was able to succesfully do it both ways.

    Now i got a problem, when i try to connect i get an error:

    Error 692- there was a hardware failure in the modem.

    i get this message on both the wired and bluetooth connection. has anyone seen this error and know how to resolve it?

    thanks in advance for your help.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •