Results 1 to 7 of 7

But expensive. I spent hours last night here and elsewhere trying to figure out why ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    galavanter's Avatar
    galavanter no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    113

    SD Card Won't Format? Easy Fix...

    Advertisement



    But expensive.
    I spent hours last night here and elsewhere trying to figure out why my new Curve wouldn't format my just purchased Sandisk 4gb micro sdhc card.

    This morning I went around the corner to the new T-Mobile corporate store and the rep seemed familiar with the problem. He said BB's were the only phone that did this in his experience. He also said that if I purchased a card from the store it would work because all their cards come preformatted. He said all phones and accessories are sent to a call center and tested.

    I was skeptical but shelled out $90 for a Kingston 4gb (my Sandisk was $36 from Amazon). I put it in and it did not ask to be formatted, it just showed the available memory. Problem solved. When I got home and mounted it on my Mac a the disc image showed up named "No Name" and a Blackberry folder was inside with subfolders for Pictures, Music, etc.

    I should add that the Kingston is an SD 4gb, not SDHC. Also, when the Sandisk failed to format in the Curve, I tried to put it in an SDHC reader and mount it on my Mac. It wouldn't show up. I surmise that when the BB fails to format the card, it also corrupts it in some way that makes it unreadable on the computer. Just a guess, I'm no expert.

    I realize the card could have been bad to begin with, but I read many posts last night dealing with the same problem, unresolved by trying different cards, cards that worked in other devices.

    I post because in all the threads I read last night, none suggested going to a T-Mobile Store and getting a preformatted card. I don't know if other providers preformat their cards. Hope this helps.

  2. #2
    cliffr39's Avatar
    cliffr39 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    317ASKME
    Posts
    3,064

    Re: SD Card Won't Format? Easy Fix...

    when you connect the SDHC to your Mac I understand it does not mount, since it is not formatted, but it does not show up in Disk Utility either? I just have a hard time believing that Tmobile has working ones but no one else can pull that same stunt.
    ~A BlackBerry without a data plan is just a berry without the crack.~
    Links to common questions.

  3. #3
    galavanter's Avatar
    galavanter no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    113

    Re: SD Card Won't Format? Easy Fix...

    Nope. I tried disk utility. It doesn't appear.

    Like I said, I'm no expert, but a lot of people are experiencing the same problem. I don't have another device to check the Sandisk in, but it didn't appear in disk utility. I tried after I read it on a thread last night. I have always been able to format memory cards in the device itself.
    Not looking for converts, just sharing my experience after a very frustrating evening. Do you know how many times I seated and reseated the card and pulled the battery? You probably have an idea.
    Then this morning I walked over to T-Mobile, explained my problem, a young kid listened and confidently provided me with a solution. My kind of stuntman.

  4. #4
    cyberspastic's Avatar
    cyberspastic no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,247

    Re: SD Card Won't Format? Easy Fix...

    I had no trouble with a regular sandisk 4 gb on my curve. I just formatted it on my phone before using it. maybe you had a bum card? I'm glad you got one that worked.

  5. #5
    cliffr39's Avatar
    cliffr39 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    317ASKME
    Posts
    3,064

    Re: SD Card Won't Format? Easy Fix...

    That's what I was thinking, just a bad card. I would contact Amazon and work out an exchange just for the heck of it since you already paid for it. Then you might have 2 working 4gb cards.
    ~A BlackBerry without a data plan is just a berry without the crack.~
    Links to common questions.

  6. #6
    b00st3d's Avatar
    b00st3d no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    242557E5
    Posts
    21

    Re: SD Card Won't Format? Easy Fix...

    i downloaded the panasonic sd formatter, and that fixed my micro sd after my curve whacked out my card!

    just search for panasonic sd formatter in google.

  7. #7
    TheRiddler's Avatar
    TheRiddler no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,450

    Re: SD Card Won't Format? Easy Fix...

    I don't believe that your BB corrupted the card that way. What I think you experienced is exactly what happened to me...you got a bum card. I also purchased mine via Amazon. It may just be that the reason we got such a cheap price was that it was purchased out of a lower quality level batch of cards....just a guess though.

    Anyhooo, I contacted Sandisk correctly and they walked me testing it via both the phone and the pc reader. I had already done this and told them but I am sure they wanted to have confirmation as to what I was or was not seeing. The end result is that they agreed the card was bad and gave me a prepaid shipping label to send it back to them. They are sending me a new one and I will let you know how it goes when it is received.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •