Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

I'm new so don't kick me too hard! If I want to rebrand (more or ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    Feign's Avatar
    Feign no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    23

    Rebrand?

    Advertisement



    I'm new so don't kick me too hard!

    If I want to rebrand (more or less) a T-Mobile phone for AT&T so that I have no problems using the phone or services that I am indeed paying for, I need to follow the instructions that you list in RoGro's OS updating thread that I cannot link to.

    My goal is to pick up a T-Mobile BB 8320 and use it on my AT&T voice plan. I do not have a data plan nor want one, but I still want the ability to use the qwerty keyboard for texting and use the phone for voice calls, but also use the wi-fi for internet access instead of the cell network (since I do not have a data plan!). My reasoning is that the Samsung Sync I have is a total turd for cell signal and call quality is horrible, plus I am a little green with envy after my buddy picked up a BB through Verizon.

    What are your thoughts on this? Can I do this or is it not advisable?

    TIA

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Actually all you need to do in order to accomplish your goal is "unlock" the 8320 device (or purchase an unlocked device). Re branding and/or reinstalling the operating system are not necessary.

    You may either purchase an unlocked device, or purchase a locked device and pay a service such as gsmphonesource for the unlock code.

    Questions? We are here to help! Welcome to the Stacks!
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    Feign's Avatar
    Feign no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    23
    Hi Gary, thanks for the quick reply. That is good news.

    What started all of this is that I finally stopped in at a local AT&T store and told them my dilemma with the Sync (remember, it's a turd!). I asked what would happen if I were to use an unlocked device with my AT&T SIM card and he said that some things may not work correctly. Texting and calling would probably be fine but any other "service" that I may use would probably be spotty at best.

    So I was being fed a line? Would I have any problem with my small list of expectations if I go with an 8320?

  4. #4
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    I guess it depends on the "other services" you may use. I mean, that's kind of a loaded question. Are you planning on purchasing a used 8320? If not, AT&T now carries the 8320, so why not just go with one of their devices?

    Otherwise, for the uses you've listed above, I don't think you'll have any problems.

  5. #5
    Mortgage_Man's Avatar
    Mortgage_Man no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    362
    The store sales clerks usually know little to nothing about blackberry devices beyond simple talking points. He was trying to scare you into buying a new phone!

    You will have no issues following Gary's advice.

    P.S. I take it back- you will probably have an infatuation issue with your BB once you get started tinkering. Good luck!
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  6. #6
    Feign's Avatar
    Feign no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    I guess it depends on the "other services" you may use. I mean, that's kind of a loaded question. Are you planning on purchasing a used 8320? If not, AT&T now carries the 8320, so why not just go with one of their devices?

    Otherwise, for the uses you've listed above, I don't think you'll have any problems.
    Well, other services being nothing more than texting with an occasional picture attached to a message, and voice calls. But say at some point if I do decided to go for a data plan, what kind of issues should I expect if any, by using an unlocked phone?

    And I'd rather not pay AT&T prices for a phone or extend my contract another two years to save $100!

    Quote Originally Posted by Mortgage_Man View Post
    The store sales clerks usually know little to nothing about blackberry devices beyond simple talking points. He was trying to scare you into buying a new phone!

    You will have no issues following Gary's advice.

    P.S. I take it back- you will probably have an infatuation issue with your BB once you get started tinkering. Good luck!
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    That's what I figured.

    I really need something that I don't have to take out of my pocket to receive an incoming call. Or not be required to hold by the top lid just to use else my call is dropped for whatever godawful reason. The Sync is terrible and I've read nothing but good things about the signal and call quality of the 8320, hence this thread.

  7. #7
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    I understand, Feign. Wasn't sure if you were going to buy used or otherwise.

    I really don't think you'll have any issues with any of the services you might want to utilize now or in the future.

  8. #8
    Mortgage_Man's Avatar
    Mortgage_Man no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    362
    I am using an unlocked ATT branded 8310 on TMO network and have absolutely zero problems. The only evidence of the phone being ATT is the ATT logo at startup. Your carrier would send service books if you ever decide to have a data plan and this would enable your browser, etc.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  9. #9
    Feign's Avatar
    Feign no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    23
    Excellent. Thank you very much for the quick answers!

  10. #10
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    Keep in mind though, when using the blackberry without the data plan, the only thing you'll be able to achieve over wifi will be browsing... Very few apps will run on just wifi... For example, any im software like msn messenger etc won't work... Just an fyi...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  11. #11
    Mortgage_Man's Avatar
    Mortgage_Man no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    362
    Will the native Gmail app work if someone wants to send/receive email when located in a hot spot?
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  12. #12
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    There are no settings in the app that suggest that it has an option to use wifi... Most likely it will only use either bes or bis... BUT, no settings also means that it may work... not near a hotspot or I'd test if for ya... Maybe someone else can give a definite on this one?
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  13. #13
    Feign's Avatar
    Feign no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by reddrvgon View Post
    Keep in mind though, when using the blackberry without the data plan, the only thing you'll be able to achieve over wifi will be browsing... Very few apps will run on just wifi... For example, any im software like msn messenger etc won't work... Just an fyi...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    Ah...that's kind of a bummer, but not the end of the world. So it wouldn't be advisable to set up my e-mail accounts for that then. I can surf forums if nothing else.

    Do any of the newer models not behave the same way?

  14. #14
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    well as far as emails are concerned, if you can find a 3rd party email client that can ust the Wifi as a terminal rather than the bes or bis portal, then you can set up your emails in there...

    since the purpose of a blackberry is to have BES or BIS on there and possibly an APN, there are few apps (other than data intensive ones) that use anything but those options.

    but you should be able to browse at wifi locations for sure...
    i see RED...

  15. #15
    Feign's Avatar
    Feign no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    23
    Okay, so I have an 8320 charging up right now. I purchased the phone off of eBay with the seller's confirmation that the phone was unlocked, but of course when I put my AT&T SIM card in, it's not locked.

    Do I pay the >$3 from another eBay user to get an unlock code (cheap is good)? What do I ask for? Can I call t-mobile and request it from them?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •