Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 32

so I got my new 8900 last night, I updated it to 4.6.1.250 then began ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    paulypaul's Avatar
    paulypaul no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    345

    Q re: 8900 and Wi-fi

    Advertisement



    so I got my new 8900 last night, I updated it to 4.6.1.250 then began to try it out.

    but because I had a 8100 before I have some questions.

    1. when I enable Wi-Fi and connect to my WLAN, I know I have a connection to my wireless router. But how do I validate that my browser and email push is using the wi-fi and not the Edge mobile network.

    2. when you have a wi-fi connection what other services will take advantage of the wi-fi connection? i.e. Facebook, GPS, MSN Live,

    thanks

    P

  2. #2
    Dwaine12's Avatar
    Dwaine12 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Good Try
    Posts
    443
    well my friend all your apps should take avantage of your wifi signal, its like the phone will know its online and thus make everything go online, but might take a few seconds, but everything will be online...and as for making sure your using your wireless carriers svs or you WLAN svs, you have to go to your wireless set up make sure the SSID is set, and i also believe there is a setting to tell the phone "everytime your in range of "YOUR" network switch from the carriers signal to you wireless signal; and again this will take seconds, and you should be good to go...good luck..

  3. #3
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    paulypaul,

    When you are connected via WiFi your signal will change from the EDGE to UMA
    If you are on EDGE you are on the carrier network. If you are on UMA you are on WiFi with full data (uma lower case is similar to edge lower case)
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  4. #4
    paulypaul's Avatar
    paulypaul no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    345
    thanks for the reply.

    but it brings up another point.

    if I go on a trip out of the country and turn DATA SERVICES off. will it still let me enable Wi-Fi ?

    I will disable DATA SERVICES so I don't get hit with Data roaming, but I could I still use Wifi for free everywhere I walk into a wifi cloud
    Last edited by paulypaul; 07-24-2009 at 02:01 PM.

  5. #5
    paulypaul's Avatar
    paulypaul no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    345
    I am sure I stating the obvious but when I am in UMA mode I am still using the carrier network to sms?

  6. #6
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    paulypaul,

    You will need to enable your data services in order to use them on WiFi. When I am in China and want to make sure I am WiFi only I turn the radio off. I use a WiFI connection to call back to the USA with no long distance charges.

    Yes, when you are on UMA you are still accessing the carrier network and minutes, SMS, etc will still count against your plan (unless you have an add on to your plan for unlimited WiFi calls)

    Hope that helps
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  7. #7
    Dwaine12's Avatar
    Dwaine12 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Good Try
    Posts
    443
    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    paulypaul,

    You will need to enable your data services in order to use them on WiFi. When I am in China and want to make sure I am WiFi only I turn the radio off. I use a WiFI connection to call back to the USA with no long distance charges.

    Yes, when you are on UMA you are still accessing the carrier network and minutes, SMS, etc will still count against your plan (unless you have an add on to your plan for unlimited WiFi calls)

    Hope that helps
    Yep I agree, just turn on you data svs..

  8. #8
    paulypaul's Avatar
    paulypaul no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    345
    i have tried a few things and I have a sinking feeling that rogers have locked the 8900 so I can't use it as a wi-fi only device.

    I hope I am wrong

  9. #9
    MStrawder's Avatar
    MStrawder no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    1,825
    Some 3rd party apps, like Facebook, won't work with a Wi-Fi only connection. Go to Options > Mobile Network and make sure your data connection is set to 'Wi-Fi Preferred'. This will make sure your device is using the Wi-Fi signal when available. As far as push capabilities, such as e-mail, you'll need a data connection.
    "Our greatest fear is not that we are inadequate, but that we are powerful beyond measure" ~ Marianne Williamson
    Current OS list by device
    How to upgrade your OS

  10. #10
    paulypaul's Avatar
    paulypaul no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    345
    i talked to Rogers BB support. for Wi-Fi to work the Carrier data services needs to be running as well. when you are in UMA mode you are using wi-fi exclusively, but you can't use it independently.

    what a rip off.

    if I unlock the phone can I clear that up?

  11. #11
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    If Rogers really does require the data services to be running in order for the wi-fi to work too I don't believe that unlocking your phone will help. As long as you use Rogers you will be restricted by their restriction. Unlocking your phone only means that you can use any GSM carriers SIM in your phone.
    BlackBerry8330/4.5.0.160 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/106

  12. #12
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    paulypaul,

    I am not sure that I understand your issue. What services are you trying to use? (you may also want to note your device will NOT automatically connect to every open WiFi signal, this is a manual process)

    This is basically the same info we gave you earlier in the thread, that you needed Data Services Enabled in order to take advantage of them, either on Wifi or Edge. This has nothing to do with Rogers and Unlocking the device will make no difference at all.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  13. #13
    Malluco's Avatar
    Malluco no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    93
    paulypaul

    goes to options > advanced options > browser >

    In default browser configuration, select hotspot browser

    right.. try connect with your all connection normaly enabled, includding wi-fi
    +-----------------------+
    BlackBerry Magazine

    +-----------------------+

  14. #14
    Jaricanese's Avatar
    Jaricanese no está en línea Software Pro
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    902
    Quote Originally Posted by MStrawder View Post
    Some 3rd party apps, like Facebook, won't work with a Wi-Fi only connection. Go to Options > Mobile Network and make sure your data connection is set to 'Wi-Fi Preferred'. This will make sure your device is using the Wi-Fi signal when available. As far as push capabilities, such as e-mail, you'll need a data connection.

    The Facebook App by RIM does use WiFi.

    I have used an 8900 on T-Mobile without a data plan on just WiFi. Everything worked except for BlackBerry Email, BBM, and the IM services like AIM, Yahoo Messenger, etc.

  15. #15
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaricanese View Post
    The Facebook App by RIM does use WiFi.

    I have used an 8900 on T-Mobile without a data plan on just WiFi. Everything worked except for BlackBerry Email, BBM, and the IM services like AIM, Yahoo Messenger, etc.
    When I try to execute FB I get:
    Your rate plan does not support this feature. In order to use this feature you must subscribe to a Blackberry data plan that includes web browsing.

    To upgrade to a Blackberry data plan....
    It's a T-Mobile message and it evidently ISN'T going to work on my 8900. I have lots of other apps (uberTwitter, Slacker, PS reader, Nobex radio, Weatherberry, etc.) that work including my BB Browser, etc., so I'm guessing that my settings are fine. I'm open to ideas but I'm stumped!
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •