Results 1 to 10 of 10

I'm sure this has been answered before but I heard you can put 4.5 OS ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    matts5600's Avatar
    matts5600 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3

    Question Putting 4.5 on my Sprint 8330?

    Advertisement



    I'm sure this has been answered before but I heard you can put 4.5 OS from other carriers on your Sprint 8330... Could someone please link me to the best resource for this as far as directions and where to download.. Also will another carriers OS affect my phones features like GPS, I know verizon limits GPS to verizon nav.

    thanks,

    matt

  2. #2
    grymtyrant@msn.'s Avatar
    grymtyrant@msn. no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    320
    I use the Verizon 4.5os and no limitations. GPS, Sprint tv, all that work fine.

    Use this link for instructions. http://forums.pinstack.com/f7/blackb...support-76342/

    And use this link to get the Verizon OS. I think you can just put in your number, it doesn't really matter. http://vzw.smithmicro.com/blackberry...px?ct=personal

  3. #3
    matts5600's Avatar
    matts5600 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3

    ty

    Hey thanks a lot, i appreciate it. This seems like a great site im glad i found it.

  4. #4
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    If you are wanting the latest release for the 8330 that will be the Alltel 4.5.0.89. There are multiple how to's listed here on pinstack and plenty of us to help if you need it. I am sure someone will hook you up with links for all you need I would but I am wap. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #5
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Also if you chose to go with the Verizion one linked above just enter 000-000-0000 for the number.~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #6
    Kedarvis2007's Avatar
    Kedarvis2007 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    3
    I just switched from .89 to .97 with no problems. Some other users mentioned about speaker blast troubles. I've experienced no such problems. I've noticed some menu changes compared to version 4.3, but nothing major. Oh yea, I have a Curve 8330 with Sprint.
    Hit me on my Blackburry!!!

  7. #7
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    I used the .97 beta before the Official .89 was released and never had any issue with it either. Was hoping that would be Alltels official release.~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  8. #8
    rxmaker1's Avatar
    rxmaker1 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    PIN/ID
    Request
    Posts
    71
    I also am preparing to upgrade to the Alltel 4.5.89 OS. I too have the 8330 from Sprint and love it but want to gain the "doc to go". ability. You most likely have seen this in the stacks but I have read in numerous places to have the DTM ver 4.6 installed on your PC (several posts have told of 4.7 problems). I hope this helps. You can PIN me if you like I will be doing the upgrade today. Oh yes, the GPS you have now will still be available in the upgrade (this was a make it or break it issue for me because I am very fond of Sprints GPS app (telnav I believe). Best Wishes!!!

  9. #9
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Thanks for throwing that in rx. You are absolutly correct Desktop manager 4.7 is very issue pron and 4.6 seems much more stable.

  10. #10
    joek71's Avatar
    joek71 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    319CCF42
    Posts
    557
    I also have the Sprint Curve 8330 and updated to 4.5 here is the link to where to download the newest OS.
    http://www.berryreview.com/2008/10/3...-found-online/

    Works great.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •