Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 47

Originally Posted by GaryF Ok...what do you see in the status bar on Desktop Manager? ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #16
    mjb78's Avatar
    mjb78 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    14

    Re: Pretty Sure I Bricked It

    Advertisement



    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    Ok...what do you see in the status bar on Desktop Manager?

    Is this where we are?
    Problem
    When the BlackBerry smartphone is connected to the computer, the BlackBerry Desktop Manager does not detect it, but displays Disabled in the status bar."
    Is displays "Disconnected Online"

    Connection Settings show "USB" and "None". However when you proceed to run the Application Loader, the "Connection" field remains blank. No batt pulls or hard resets have triggered any kind of "USB UNKNOWN" to emerge in that field. The status indicator continues to blink in sequence.

  2. #17
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Pretty Sure I Bricked It

    mjb...

    All of the info I found on the RIM Technical Support Pages on this issue seems to assume the problem is with the software or the ports on the desktop. So far I find nothing that addresses making the device more "detect-able"....if you wish I will post and work with you on the solutions I have found (they are extensive and quite lengthy) including at least a couple of "workarounds". I am trying to make sure we dont skip any steps that might correct this along the way....
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #18
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Pretty Sure I Bricked It

    Here is the link to KB00125. All of the articles refer back to these proceedures first. Lets try these before we go on. You will note at the bottom of this a possible work-around. If any of this does not make sense PLEASE post back here any questions and please post back if any of this helps....
    BlackBerry Desktop Manager cannot detect the BlackBerry smartphone


    Problem
    When the BlackBerry smartphone is connected to the computer, the BlackBerry Desktop Manager does not detect it, but displays Disabled in the status bar.

    http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/searc...200%2081840626
    Last edited by GaryF; 01-22-2008 at 06:59 PM. Reason: post link and shorten post and thread
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  4. #19
    mjb78's Avatar
    mjb78 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    14

    Re: Pretty Sure I Bricked It

    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    mjb...

    All of the info I found on the RIM Technical Support Pages on this issue seems to assume the problem is with the software or the ports on the desktop. So far I find nothing that addresses making the device more "detect-able"....if you wish I will post and work with you on the solutions I have found (they are extensive and quite lengthy) including at least a couple of "workarounds". I am trying to make sure we dont skip any steps that might correct this along the way....
    I noticed that in RIM pages as well - just to ensure I covered off those possibilities - I did try a multitude of different ports, cables and even PCs. I a simply at a loss for any possible reason this thing will NOT be found. The sequence of numbers must mean something. There also must be some relevance to the fact that it happened suddenly after trying to force a wipe through Application Loader by selecting the wrong pass 10 times intentionally. I am willing to try anything at this point. Otherwise it is garbage.

  5. #20
    jeffallen8's Avatar
    jeffallen8 no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    Huh?
    Posts
    1,734

    Re: Pretty Sure I Bricked It

    Quote Originally Posted by mjb78 View Post
    Thanks - followed every word of that (blackberryforums.pinstack.com/5178-how_reinstall_os_when_computer_wont) no good. At no stage will it recognize that I have a blackberry connected to my machine. Tried every port. Tried different cables. Tried two machines.
    -------


    any idea how when I can't get the DM to see the berry?


    pull the battery before you plug it into the dm

  6. #21
    jeffallen8's Avatar
    jeffallen8 no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    Huh?
    Posts
    1,734

    Re: Pretty Sure I Bricked It

    it wont say connected on the bottom of the dm but you should be able to use apploader

  7. #22
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Pretty Sure I Bricked It

    To expedite this thread I am going to post links to 2 other KB articles I found with possible solutions. Unless you did something physically I would be surprised if this was a hardware issue with the device...but so far this is all I have come up with ...keep us updated if ANYTHING seems to help!

    Troubleshoot USB Connections
    http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/searc...200%2087418436
    Windows Device Manager does not detect the BlackBerry device
    http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/searc...200%2087458255
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  8. #23
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Pretty Sure I Bricked It

    Quote Originally Posted by jeffallen8 View Post
    it wont say connected on the bottom of the dm but you should be able to use apploader
    Certainly would try this and see if you can move on with the install....
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  9. #24
    mjb78's Avatar
    mjb78 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    14

    Re: Pretty Sure I Bricked It

    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    Certainly would try this and see if you can move on with the install....
    The only prob with blaming the PC is that my buddy's 8800 recognizes immediately once connected.

  10. #25
    jeffallen8's Avatar
    jeffallen8 no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    Huh?
    Posts
    1,734

    Re: Pretty Sure I Bricked It

    we know its not the pc its the way the dm works when your bb wont connect try it

  11. #26
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Pretty Sure I Bricked It

    Try Jeffs suggestion and see if you can launch and use app loader anyway...
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  12. #27
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Pretty Sure I Bricked It

    Sorry to say otherwise I am stumped. I PM some other stackers and ask them to take a look at this thread this evening so you may want to check back a little later and PLEASE make sure and psot back here if you make any progress or the situation changes!
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  13. #28
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: Pretty Sure I Bricked It

    Have we tried the Desktop Software and Handheld software reinstalls? Then trying the process.

    I see we have one of the ways, but did we try it the old way here? http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...uter_wont.html

  14. #29
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Pretty Sure I Bricked It

    Quote Originally Posted by mjb78 View Post
    Thanks - followed every word of that (blackberryforums.pinstack.com/5178-how_reinstall_os_when_computer_wont) no good. At no stage will it recognize that I have a blackberry connected to my machine. Tried every port. Tried different cables. Tried two machines.
    -------


    any idea how when I can't get the DM to see the berry?

    Red...I believe so....
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  15. #30
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: Pretty Sure I Bricked It

    So then, what I would do is try to start fresh. Uninstall everything from the PC. DM and OS. Then reinstall and try the steps again.

    I have encountered at times my DM will reset some settings and paths if I install or upgrade it. It's really quirky that way. My latest was still trying to trouble shoot the backup not recognizing my Profiles.

    Anyways I downgraded the DM and Upgraded then tried to connect up and all of a sudden it didn't recognize my BB. IT delete all my OS installs.

    SO give that a whirl and let us know what happens.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •